Exercise Blues

9 Apr

It is now officially Weekend Time for me! Long weekends are the best!!

Today I had school until 3:30, and then the plan was to come home, have a snack, and hits the streets for a run. Well, that is unfortunately not exactly what happened. I did, of course, have my snack…but the running part was not a success. I was feeling worn out and just not focused on what was important or what I “needed” to do. I hate when I lose focus like that because I always regret it later.

But, today is history and tomorrow is a brand new start and the perfect opportunity to get back on track with my training schedule for this week. I WILL get my run in tomorrow morning and I know I will feel much better. I really love exercise, running especially…but sometimes it is just hard to work up the energy to do it after a long day. This is something I want to work on. I am making a new goal to make exercise a more important priority in my life (while not letting it consume my life at the same time!).

For breakfast this morning, I had a bangin’ bowl of blueberry coconut oats:

DSC00585

DSC00586

This mixture contained:

  • 1/2 cup oatbran
  • 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup skim milk
  • a couple scoops of cottage cheese
  • tbsp flax
  • a huge handful of frozen blueberries
  • pinch of salt, lots of cinnamon
  • topped with a sprinkle of unsweetened shredded coconut

Lunch was at the school cafeteria, where I had a sandwich with turkey, cheese, tomato, pickles, and mustard. I also had celery with peanut butter, and a carton of 1% milk

And then here was my afternoon snack:

DSC00588

A cracker platter (Triscuit thin crisps and Kashi original 7 grain) with a tbsp of Kroger natural peanut butter

Dinner was pretty simple..and I was actually not feeling very hungry, which resulted in this:

DSC00486

Baked tofu and cheesy steamed broccoli

It was simple and delish.

I also found this little guy:

DSC00513

A ricotta chocolate chip cookie! The perfect way to finish off a meal. 🙂

So thinking back to my new exercise goal, here is a question for you:

How do you motivate yourself to exercise?

4 Responses to “Exercise Blues”

  1. dailydulcie April 9, 2009 at 4:17 am #

    Blueberry coconut oats sound DELISH!!I'm glad you decided to listen to your body and take a break from running. Tomorrow morning is a new day like you said and you can start the day with a nice run.I try to motivate myself by remind myself that I always feel AMAZING after I work out. It's just the starting part that's difficult.xoxo,dulcie<3

  2. gina (fitnessista) April 9, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    those blueberry oats look incredible!sometimes it’s definitely hard to be motivated, but i remind myself how good i’ll feel when it’s over!enjoy your day

  3. thecleanveggie April 9, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    awesome oats!!!im glad you listened to your body – I always feel like crap anyways when I work out and know I should not have. LOVE the broccoli. best veggie ever

  4. Meg April 9, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    Aw I’m sorry your body isn’t being very cooperative right now! But it definitely needs to rest sometimes, so it’s good you paid attention to it 🙂 as for motivation – when I walk on the treadmill I like to bring a magazine to read…I dunno I just LOVE reading magazines so that motivates me…kinda weird, I know. Love, Meg!p.s. SO jealous of those oats – they look divine!

Leave a Reply

