Life Lesson

4 Nov

Happy Tuesday!

I was a good food blogger today and have a full day’s worth of eats to show for it!

Here’s the good stuff…

DSC01535

stovetop oatbran with a sliced banana and 1 tbsp of Sunbutter sunflower seed nut butter (love!)

I have fallen in love with sunflower seed butter. My jar has been getting lower and lower…I need to restock! I definitely suggest it if you haven’t tried it.

I also had some tea:

DSC01541

in my Tweety mug, no less. Stylish.

I got to work at my schoolwork and then came home and whipped up some lunchie:

DSC01539

this would be a sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit, no McDonalds needed.

I microwaved two egg whites, heated up a Morningstar soysauge, and layered it up on a whole wheat bagel with a slice of pepper jack cheese. Topped with red pepper flakes for substantial spicy action.

I have an abundance of spinach, so I also made a simple salad to go along with it. 

DSC01537

Strawberries:

DSC01540

I tried my next flavor of Zevia, too!

DSC01534

I ❤ Zevia!!!

This flavor might be my favorite so far…very good!

Afternoon snack while at work:

DSC01525

 

I got my boot-ay right home and made up a fabulous dinner:

One with layers…

DSC01518

DSC01519

an eggstada (1 egg, 2 egg whites) topped with salsa, nutritional yeast “cheese”, spinach leaves, onions, mushrooms, avocado, sea salt, and black pepper.

DSC01520

I also had some leftover butternut squash fries. Mmmm.

And now I’m thinking there is dark chocolate in my near future…;)

 

****

I wanted to share something that happened today because it was something that put life in perspective for me. Today, my older sister Jessica, got in a car wreck. She missed a stop sign and got crushed by another car. Very luckily, the car hit on the passenger side and she and the other guy are fine. But I came as soon as I got out of school and it was not a very good sight to see. The whole passenger side of her car was crushed in. We just found out that BOTH of the cars are totaled.  My sister was very upset and mad at herself. I hated seeing her like that and not being able to do anything about it.

But it was realized that the only thing that mattered was that she was okay. In the blink of an eye, this wreck happened. It could have very well been a worse outcome. Thank God it wasn’t.

My point is,  tell your loved ones that you love them. Cherish the time you spend with them and don’t take it for granted. You never know what will happen tomorrow.

night! 🙂

Kristi

10 Responses to “Life Lesson”

  1. VeggieGirl November 4, 2009 at 1:30 am #

    Very important message, for sure. None of us are guaranteed tomorrow, so we MUST appreciate life and our loved ones.

  2. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 4, 2009 at 1:52 am #

    i seem to be seeing/hearing this a lot today. i completely agree we have to live in the now & express our love for those around us!
    loving the new layout dear!
    && that fact that you microwaved eggs, maybe one day i will take the leap and buy some for my little dorm room 🙂

  3. psychoj1 November 4, 2009 at 2:11 am #

    That’s so scary! I’m so glad she is okay!!! Great life lesson their 🙂

    Great day of eats!!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  4. annie November 4, 2009 at 2:17 am #

    oh my gosh, that is so scary hun! i’m so glad your sis and the other guy are okay. i’m sure she will be shook up for a while.

    i hope you keep posting more good foodie stuff…you inspire me to eat healthier. i’ve been so bad lately. eating greasy chips straight out of the bag….a huge bag….blah!!

  5. april November 4, 2009 at 2:24 am #

    Your meals look fabulous! I love sunflower butter.. you’ve got to try it with prunes! 😀

    I agree 100%! I try to never go to bed mad at any of my loved ones.. you never know what could happen!

  6. Devan G Newman November 4, 2009 at 6:18 am #

    wow. that is so scary what happned to your sister 😦
    You never do know what can happen.. so important to share your love every day!

    i got my zevia today!! I AM SO EXCITED 😀

    xox

  7. tropicaleats November 5, 2009 at 1:38 am #

    Oh gosh girl. I’m so sorry about that.. that is VERY scary. Hope everything is ok!!!

    On a lighter note, I LOVE your new site 🙂 And like Devan, I got my Zevia and they rockkkkkkkk, Totally obsessed with them now.

    Updating you on my blogroll!

  8. Peanut Butter Bliss November 6, 2009 at 1:40 am #

    hope all is well and your sister is feeling better 😀

  9. Kris | iheartwellness.com November 6, 2009 at 6:22 am #

    I am so sorry to read this….i hope your sister is ok?

    Your bfast looks really good – i have never had oat bran….I might need to purchase! And your mug is super cute doll!

    Have a great evening!

  10. Haylee November 7, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    sunflower seed nut butter? yum! i’ve never heard of such a thing!
    How was the pumpkin pie TLC bar? i’ve been wanting to try that kind.
    i’m glad that your sisters ok, gosh what a relief.
    Have an amazing weekend:)

Leave a Reply

