This $h*t is Bananas…B-A-N-A-N-A-S

11 Nov

Gwen Stefani, Hollaback Girl, anyone? 🙂

Is anyone else off for Veteran’s Day today?!? I AM!

From work, anyways…I also did not have school though because it is finals week and I don’t have any to take today. Holla! I am officially 1/3 of the way through the school year. Craziness!

So what did I do with my day off? Make banana bread, of course!

Thanks to my girl, April, for the fabulous banana bread recipe I used!

I will post the recipe, but you can also find it on April’s site, HERE.

 

April’s Best Ever Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole-wheat white flour
  • 1/4 cup soy protein powder
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran
  • 2 ripe, mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup egg substitute or egg whites
  • 1/2 cup no sugar added applesauce
  • 1/4 cup NuStevia Baking Blend
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 5 x 9  (or any loaf pan) with nonstick baking spray.
  2. Mix the egg substitute, applesauce, stevia (or sweetener of your choice), and mashed bananas.
  3. Add remaining ingredients; Mix well.
  4. Pour the mixture into the loaf pan.
  5. Bake for about 40 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Easy peasy!

Into the oven it goes:

DSC01565

 

And the final product:

DSC01562

I immediately tried a piece:

DSC01567

Smeared with Better ‘N’ Peanut Butter on half and pumpkin butter on the other half…because, well, I’m indecisive like that. 😉

MMMMhmmm, and the kitchen smells soooo good now.

I definitely recommend this recipe! It came out great. Thanks April!

 

Now that I am properly fueled and considering it IS finals week, I probably better stop my procrastinating and get some studying done. Boooo. And you better believe I will have a mug of tea with me. 😉

Have a great day everyone!

 

 

Kristi

14 Responses to “This $h*t is Bananas…B-A-N-A-N-A-S”

  1. april November 11, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Yay I’m so glad you liked it!! It looks amazing! Now I need to make more.. haha!

  2. Jenny November 11, 2009 at 11:57 pm #

    Gwen Stefani was definitely talking about that bread when she wrote that song. that sh!t really is bananas!

  3. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 12, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    jealous, i totally had classes today.
    mmm the bread looks delish!!

  4. maggie November 12, 2009 at 12:54 am #

    Mmmm love those bananas! Your blog is lovely 🙂

    Maggie

  5. jaime November 12, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    love the new blog mama!! ahhh banana bread is sooo good and that looks just divineeee

  6. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 12, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    mmm looks soo good kristi! thanks for posting!

    I had a quiick question…I think a while back I won a case of zevia and I haven’t recieved it? I was just wondering if i should still expect it! thanks darling xo

  7. burpexcuzme November 12, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Ah, I want a bite of that! I’m suddenly craving good banana bread and I’m blaming you!! 😉

  8. Peanut Butter Bliss November 12, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    you are just one fabulous baker my dear !! i really need to buy a bread pan to make some asap!

    have a lovely day and good luck studying!

  9. kasondra November 13, 2009 at 12:27 am #

    there is nothing like warm banana bread!! like a huge hug in your tummy!

  10. Chrysta November 13, 2009 at 1:45 am #

    Hey! Thanks so much for visiting and posting on my blog. You rock!! I recently discovered NuNaturals baking stevia and your bread looks AWESOME. Im definently going to have to make that soon. And totally loving Gwen Stefani! =) Love your site btw!

  11. Emily November 13, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    AHHHHH gimme some of that goodness!

    I should probably join you in the whole….stop procrastinating…thing! hhaha

  12. onehealthyapple November 15, 2009 at 6:16 am #

    Wow! That banana bread looks amazing! I am in grad school and still the worst procrastinator ever! It doesn’t ever get better. Good luck studying!

  13. Sweet and Fit November 16, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    you crack me up! =)

    this looks ammmmmmazing!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. packing woes « Sweet Cheeks - November 25, 2009

    […] piece of crumbled banana bread on top of Jello brand chocolate […]

Leave a Reply

