Spiralized Shenanigans

20 Nov

Hi bloggies!

How has your Thursday been treating you? Good, I hope!

Yesterday, I decided to have celebrate Indian Food Day a la Fitnessista with a fabulous meal, recipe courtesy of the lovely miss Jenna.

Homemade Dal!

DSC01595

With whole grain naan

DSC01596 

all together now:

DSC01597 

Ahhhh, how I love thee. Indian Food Day rocks. my. face. off. I just wish I knew of a good Indian restaurant around here…ohhh, the misfortunes of being a small-town girl. 😉

The recipe was super duper easy and can be found HERE.

This was my first time having naan, and it was pretty much AMAZING. Talk about delicious carby goodness. I was just expecting it to taste like regular ol’ pita, but instead, it was thick, fluffy, buttery amazing-ness. I MUST get more soon!

 

Guess what?

…..

I got my SPIRALIZER!!! *insert huge smiley face*

DSC01593

I immediately knew what I wanted to make for dinner tonight. PASTA!

DSC01599

I stuck a yellow squash on there and got to windin’ and before I knew it, I had an entire bowl full.

DSC01601

This was actually a pretty small squash but it produced a large amount of volume. I was impressed!

I also spiralized a few mini cucumbers:

DSC01602 

Then I got to work on my topping.

I went with one of my favorites, Marinutta:

DSC01603

  • 2 tbsp flax
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce

combine and microwave for 1 minute. Voila!

Very unfortunately, my camera ate my picture of the final product. 😦 Bad camera! I can assure you it was a tastey (and pretty!) combo though!

To make up for that lack of picture, I do have one of an awesome desert that I wanted to show…you know, just in case any of you are big dessert fans. 😉

DSC01560

Cha-cha-cha-chia! pudding:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • cinnamon
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder

topped with Better ‘n’ Peanut Butter. Mmmm. Lip smackin’ good.

 

Sorry my posting has been so sporadic. This week I started the 2nd trimester of the school year and things have been..well, stressful. I’ve got a lot on my plate right now with a brand new, FULL, schedule and lots of hard classes. I’ve been hitting the books hard and trying to get comfortable with everything, which I know will happen eventually, but right now I just feel mentally strained.

I like my “schedules” and my “routines” and once I get used to it, it’s hard to want to break it. It has made me feel very anxious this week, but I know that this will be GOOD for me. I need to be more comfortable with change and be able to embrace it. It will just take some time.

The good news is that next week is Thanksgiving Break. Wahooo! I have school and work on Monday and Tuesday and then I’m off for the rest of the week. I will actually be making a little road trip to visit family on Wednesday, then will be back home for the weekend.

Anyways, bare with me and know that I miss you all when I can’t fit in blogging. Hopefully things will settle down very soon!

So, question for today:

What have you found to be the best way to deal with stress?

I could definitely use some ideas to try out this weekend! I have found that a quick morning and evening yoga/deep breathing session has been helping me stay calm, cool, and collected.

Have a good night!

Kristi

14 Responses to “Spiralized Shenanigans”

  1. Jenny November 20, 2009 at 1:54 am #

    Dal and naan… I think it’s safe to say the people of India love their one-syllable foods 🙂 sounds great!

  2. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 20, 2009 at 2:17 am #

    so i always look at naan and whole foods and think, naan vs. pita same thing? i am picking up the naan next time 🙂
    as for stress, i just had one of the most stressful weeks and all i can say is that telling myself “i’m okay” was about all i could do, well that and breathing, a lot of breathing
    hang in there 🙂

  3. april November 20, 2009 at 2:49 am #

    I’ve never had dal before.. it looks delicious!

    I just try to do deep breathing exercises.. oh and epsom salt baths help too!

  4. kbwood November 20, 2009 at 4:19 am #

    home made indian food! you are my hero! im dying to have a spiralizer!!

    stress= yoga, run, coffee with a friend, make a great dinner 🙂

  5. Megan November 20, 2009 at 4:31 am #

    SO jealous of the spiralizer!!! I want one now 🙂

  6. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 20, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    muy jealouso of your spirilizer! I know what I want for hanukah this year!!!

    to relax, I always workout it calms me down…nothing like ahard workout to sweat it out!!

  7. VeggieGirl November 20, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Deal with stress = chill with my family and BREATHE.

    Hang in there, girl!! **hugs**

  8. Jenna November 21, 2009 at 1:23 am #

    aww thats too bad because i really wanted to see how the pasta turned out!
    jenna

  9. burpexcuzme November 21, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    I need to try that naan! I’ve seen it around but never tried it.

    And wow! Cool spiralizer! Can you spiral carrots in that thing too?

  10. Jess November 22, 2009 at 12:50 am #

    Majorrrrly jealous of your spiralizer!! I NEED one. Yess, need 😉

    Great indian food!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  11. Lele November 22, 2009 at 2:10 am #

    I luuuuuuuuurve throwing together Indian food. Almost anytime I have extra veggies with nothing to do with (especially cauliflower or potatoes and/or chickpeas) I make curry!

  12. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope November 22, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    That Indian dinner sounds so fun! I’ve never tried Naan before, but you definitely make it sound delicious! 🙂

    For stress, yoga is always a huge help. Try going for a quick walk, calling a friend, reading a magazine, watching your favorite TV series… just simple things to help relax and keep your mind off stress. I’m sure you’ll do great this semester!

    Hooray for the Spiralizer!!!! That thing looks like so much fun!

    xxoo
    Heather

  13. Devan G Newman November 23, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    YUM!! your homemade daal looks AWESOME 😀
    its one of my favorite things!

    i write , paint, or do yoga, to deal with stress. or soak in a really hot bath! ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twihards? Count me in. « Sweet Cheeks - November 22, 2009

    […] wanted to thank all of you for the support about my school work on my last post. Things are slowly starting to come together…I just need to work on my patience. It is something […]

Leave a Reply

