Sweet weekend mornings

12 Dec

Good Morning!

This week has been a one that has dragged on for me and been a bit on the stressful side. I am SO ready for Christmas break, but I’ll have to get through one more week of school first. Thank God it’s the weekend though!

It has been a great morning over here so far, seeing as I started it off with what is becoming my new Saturday morning tradition…

DSC01704

Guess what that means?

Yep, Oaties oats in the almond butter jar!

DSC01709

This batch was extra healthful because I added a new ingredient..

MACA powder!

DSC01706

I’ve been seeing this stuff around the blog world lately and after reading Fitnessista rave about it, I finally succumbed and bought some. Maca root has been used in Andean societies as a source of nourishment and healing for thousands of years.

Here are just some of the great nutritional benefits of this stuff:

  • enhances your ability to deal with stress
  • boosts energy
  • rich in calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, B vitamins, etc, etc, ect!
  • promotes hormonal balance
  • natural endurance builder, due to its sterol and saponin content

Along with my oats, I had one of my current favorite teas…

DSC01710 

Mmm, chocolate mint. It’s like a Girl Scout thin mint in a cup. Aka Heaven.

DSC01711

Horrible. 😉

All that went into this mix:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp maca powder

Combine with approximately 1 cup of almond butter (yup). DIG. IN. 😀

Today I need to get going on some Christmas shopping! I seriously cannot believe how close Christmas is. Where has the time gone?!?

And speaking of presents, I have kind of been looking around for a new camera. No, unfortunately not a SLR (just in my dreams!) but my current Sony Cybershot has just been mediocre for me. I was thinking about a Canon?

What camera do you have? Would you recommend it?

Hope you all have a lovely Saturday!

 

Kristi

17 Responses to “Sweet weekend mornings”

  1. kbwood December 12, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    wow so cool about maca powder.. i had no idea!! LOVE OIAJ!! MY FAV BFAST EVAAAAAA!

    i have the Cannon Powershot..and i love it!

  2. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 12, 2009 at 5:14 pm #

    mmm oats in a jar. bliss.
    eh i have a nikon coolpix. its dumb, don’t get it. however i have no idea what you should get. sorry dear.
    hope you have a wonderful weekend. and i agree i cannot wait for this next week to overrr!

  3. VeggieGirl December 12, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    Love the mug 🙂

    I have a Kodak EasyShare 950 – new version.

  4. Jenny December 12, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    I use a sony cybershot — it’s small and pink and so cute 🙂

  5. mary ann December 12, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    So, I’m not one to do the whole tea and oats thing… but that choco mint sounds like a winner were one to cook oats in, no?

    • Sweet Cheeks December 12, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

      I have SO done that before and YES, it was rockin’. 🙂 You’ve gotta try it!

  6. Jenna December 12, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    oats in a jar look great!

  7. Leanne December 13, 2009 at 1:40 am #

    Thanks for the comment ladyyy. That’s my favorite AB!

  8. Jess December 13, 2009 at 4:40 am #

    I had oats in a jar this morning. Twas amazing ❤
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  9. Devan G December 13, 2009 at 5:45 am #

    i saw that tea in the grocery store the other day and totes thought of you! Low and behold, i ran out of my other tea today, so I think its a sign i just read this, and now I need to go buy that tea.
    Yum .. a girl scout cookie in a cup? you had me sold.

  10. april December 13, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    I have the same saturday morning tradition! I love it!

    And girl scout cookie tea?? I want!!

  11. Simply Life December 13, 2009 at 11:35 pm #

    I love that idea of eating the oats out of the jar!

  12. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) December 14, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    I wanna try maca!!

    Good thing I don’t like mint+choc together because I have 2304839048 boxes of tea and I can’t possibly stuff one more in my kitchen cabinets!

  13. janetha December 15, 2009 at 11:23 pm #

    why the crap has your blog not been updating in my reader?! AHHHH i just realized this!

  14. burpexcuzme December 16, 2009 at 12:55 am #

    Oh yeah, I used to have Sony Cybershot, too…it sucks!
    For P-and-S, Canon Powershot is the best, and the SX line is closest to SLR as you can get!

  15. Tara December 19, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    I have that brand of tea! Only I have Jasmine Green Tea, the kind you have looks delicious!
    Love your mug! Congrats Are you done with school now!?!?! Have a veryy Merry Christmass grilly! ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Gym Rat « Sweet Cheeks - December 20, 2009

    […] if you can remember back to my last post (Yeah, it’s been a while..thank goodness it’s Christmas break now though!) I mentioned some […]

Leave a Reply

