Almond Joy Oats

22 Dec

Good Morning!

Hope everyone is enjoying their day so far; hopefully you are relaxing like me!

This morning I made probably the best bowl of oats I’ve had in a long time. I should have photographed the process better but I was in too much of a rush to eat it! Therefore I just have this one picture to show you…

 

Almond Joy Oats

DSC01725

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tbsp pure cocoa powder
  • 1 packet stevia (or sweetener of choice)
  • scoop of Amazing Meal protein powder (optional but good!)
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tbsp shredded coconut (some to mix in and some to top with)

I mixed everything together in a saucepan and cooked on medium heat. This was seriously the CREAMIEST bowl of oats ever! It was way to good for words. While eating this, I thought of brownies, chocolate cookies, and then of course my beloved Almond Joys came to mind. It was a match made in heaven.

I kept this bowl very simple but you can obviously get more creative with toppings. I just didn’t want anything to interfere with that creamy chocolately coconutty goodness. 😉

Yesterday I hit up my new gym and split up my time between the Stair Master and the Elliptical, in which I did next to some random gym hottie. I didn’t hate it. I did around 15-20 glorious minutes of each. I’m still working working up the courage to pump some iron with the big guys. 😉

Then I got ready and made my way to work at the bank. You could just smell the pure holiday craze in the air. The place was insanely busy all day. I was so glad to home and promptly collapse.

A few of yesterday’s picture worthy eats yesterday were:

DSC01716

After noon snack mix of 1/2 cup oatmeal squares, 1/2 cup Kashi heart to heart, a few cinnamon puffins, and a handful of almonds. So snackie and perfect.

Dinner was quick and easy after a busy day:

DSC01719

leftover bean and veggie chili (I’ll post the recipe tomorrow!)

 DSC01720

baked sweet tater with Kroger natural creamy peanut buttter

All together now:

DSC01722 

And then somehow, even after all the craziness of the day, I felt like baking. I’ve had my eye on a recipe and decided to go for it.

I bought this new-to-me item and it had a recipe of the back of the package:

DSC01721

I’ve seen April use Wheat bran in recipes time and time again, and knowing that girl can make some seriously delish things in the kitch, I decided to roll with it.

Just look at the great stats:

DSC01729

Per serving, 30 cals and 6 grams of fiber. Awesome.

Recipe Time…I adapted the recipe on the back of the package a bit. Here is what I came up with:

Moist Bran Muffins

DSC01724

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup wheat bran
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup milk ( I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar (or honey or molasses)
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl. Combine wet ingredients in another bowl. Then combine both bowls and evenly distribute into muffin tins. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

Enjoy!

In other news, I can now eat my weight in chia seeds:

DSC01728

Thanks Fitnessista!!! 😀 (I won her awesome chia-licous giveaway)

What is your favorite way to use chia seeds?

I think I’m about to do some yoga and then it’s off to work for another crazy day. After work I’m going to a Zumba class with a friend! Can’t wait. 🙂

Have a great day!

 

Kristi

12 Responses to “Almond Joy Oats”

  1. Jenny December 22, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    Trust story: I’ve never had an Almond Joy (I was always a snickers kinda gal) but if they taste anything like that bowl of oats, they have the potential to be my new fav. candy bar 🙂 yum!!!

  2. kbwood December 22, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    ooo girl i love the looks of those oats!! i have YET to have shredded coconut on mine.. i see it everywhere!

  3. devan December 22, 2009 at 6:53 pm #

    YUM! Kristi ! Everything looks so so good!

  4. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) December 22, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    Oh wow, that sounds like such an amazing bowl of oats!

  5. Peanut Butter Bliss December 22, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    I totally just bookmarked your almond joy oaties 🙂
    glad to hear your enjoying your gym membership my dear!

  6. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 22, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    mmm those oats look great! i just discovered that i like coconut, can’t want to try these!
    & those muffins, girl you rock!!
    happy tuesday!
    xoxo

  7. april December 22, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    Those oats look awesome! My newest obsession is cocoa powder.. it makes everything delicious!!

    And don’t you just love wheatbran?? It adds so much fiber to everything!

  8. daintyvegan December 23, 2009 at 12:36 am #

    The food looks fantastic! Unfortunately I don’t like chia seeds. I shall attempt to use them again, one day, but right now they are on my “I don’t like you” list.

  9. Jenna December 23, 2009 at 4:02 am #

    oats look great kristi!

  10. Tara December 23, 2009 at 5:07 am #

    The oats look really good!
    And I have been searching for wheat bran and recipes! Thanks for posting a recipe that incorporates it!! Have a great day! ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas ‘09 « Sweet Cheeks - December 26, 2009

    […] (my homemade blueberry bran muffins) […]

  2. Snow Day « Sweet Cheeks - January 29, 2010

    […] some warm chocolatey, snow covered Almond Joy Oats, of […]

Leave a Reply

