Sweet thangs

31 Jan

Hey guys! Happy Sunday!

Hope you all are enjoying the last of the weekend. Why, oh why must they always go by so fast?!?

Rewinding back to this morning, I woke up at my favorite time ever: 9:00. Do you guys have a certain time that you like to wake up at that is just right? 9 is definitely mine. Any later than that, and I just feel sleepy the rest of the day.

I made my way into the kitchen and grabbed my pre-made breakfast…my favorite April combo…Overnight Muelsi!

DSC01905

I have seriously been eating this for breakfast most mornings lately. It is SO GOOD! Very thick and creamy. (insert TWSS joke)

Combined the night before:

  • 3/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 cup “raw” oats
  • 1/2 packet stevia
  • cinnamon and maca

Once I finished off that deliciousness, I threw together quite possibly the easiest meal EVER, for dinner tonight:

DSC01931

That would be Salsa Chicken. This is my first time trying it, but I have heard great things…I’ll keep ya’ll posted.

Ok, here is the recipe…wait for it…

Ingredients:

  • Chicken
  • Salsa

Directions:

  • Combine in crockpot and cook on low 6-8 hours.

The end.

HAHA, love it!!! That is my kind of recipe right there. And I’ve got to say, my kitchen is smelling pretty darn good right about now. I’m also going to roast up an acorn squash and make some kale chips to have along with it. And since there will be leftovers, I’m thinking this would make for a nice do-it-yourself Chipotle bowl, no?

After I took 1 minute to throw that together slaved away in the kitch, I made my way to the gym for some cardio. Yesterday was a strength training day and I woke up SORE. I figured a little cardio + Polly’s yoga video would be a good way to work out my muscles. I hit up the elliptical for 30 breezy minutes, flirted up some gym hotties, then headed home to do said yoga video. And i’m happy to report that the remedy did help to alleviate some of the soreness…for the time being, at least.

Lunchie was supa simple:

DSC01932 

Spelt english muffin with peanut butter and mesquite on one and Polaner blueberry preserves on the other, yellow carrots, and a key lime pie yogurt.

I told you all that I would keep you updated on my new superfood products I ordered from nutsonline.com…well, I finally got around to using Mesquite!

DSC01930

Benefits:

  • has been used as a staple food for centuries by Native Americans as a daily staple
  • balance blood sugar levels
  • good source of fiber
  • good source of protein, calcium, magnesium, potassium, iron and zinc
  • studies have shown mesquite keeps hunger at bay

It is sweet…literally! It has a deep, sweet, smoky flavor that is wonderful. It was great on my english muffin with peanut butter. I can’t wait to try it in oats…I’m sure that would be a winner as well.

Two thumbs up in my book!

 

This afernoon I got to work on some homework:

U.S. History test coming up on Monday, due to the Snow Day we had on Friday.

All that studying makes a girl hungry! So eventually I broke for a snack:

DSC01935

(1/2 scoop protein powder, cocoa powder, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 sliced naner, cinnamon, mesquite)

A little mixture I made by grabbing whatever I saw and mixing them together, hehe.

I also had yet another April creation:

DSC01936

Low carb sweet bread topped with Barney Butter. It was yummy…not like I would expect anything less from my girl, April. She  is one baking genius!

And now I’m just hanging out…probably going to catch up on my shows that I missed last week. I watch them on the internet since I don’t have a DVR…I’m green with envy to everyone who has one! Birthday present maybe? 😀 Real World, One Tree Hill, Biggest Loser, and Ugly Betty are on the to-do list. Man, I think that is my favorite to-do list that I’ve posted on here yet.

What are your favorite T.V. shows at the moment?

I’ve been lovin’ me some Bachelor, Biggest Loser, Grey’s, and Private Practice. (okay, so really my list is longer than that but I don’t want to look like a total t.v. junkie. shhhhh)

Have a wonderful day bloggies!

 

Kristi

18 Responses to “Sweet thangs”

  1. april January 31, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    Do you want to be best friends??? haha 😀 Seriously.. your my new best friend for making all my recipes! LOL. I love that cottage cheese muesli.. I’ve been eating it for breakfast and snacks. I just can’t stop! I don’t know what it is about it but it’s like doughy or something? haha.

    And good job for being sore! I love it when I’m sore.. it means I worked hard! hehe.

    And that recipe sounds like my kind of recipe! Salsa and chicken.. two of my favorite things ever!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 31, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

      YES I will be your best friend!! I will as long as you keep posting those awesome recipes…hahah, just kidding. 😀 And yes, that muesli is definitely doughy! In fact, I was calling it the ‘dough bowl” before you named it muesli, hehehe.

  2. traynharder23 January 31, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    love your salsa chicken recipe. i need simple simple recipes like that! =D

    hmmmmm. muesli!?? sounds intriguing!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) January 31, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    omg all your eatse look amazing! esp the overnight muesli 🙂 my fav shows- desperate housewives and the bachelor! (real world dc too hehehe )

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. kbwood January 31, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    GIRL all your eats look amazingggggg!!
    love it!!
    fav shows-desp housewives.. cant wait for tonights episode! and the bachelor..and jersey shore which is OVER.. so sad!

  5. Jenny January 31, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    ah I love your TV lineup — very similar to my own. Enjoy!

  6. fittingbackin February 1, 2010 at 2:07 am #

    Yum! I love slowcooker recipes – especially easy ones with two ingredients!!! I’m obsessed with TV… I’m loving Modern Family, Cougar Town, Ugly Betty, Grey’s, Bros & Sisters, Desperate Housewives, Vampire Diaries, ANTM, Melrose, Gossip girl, 90210… the list goes on!

    • Sweet Cheeks February 1, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

      ahhh yes!!! I love your tv list, you make me feel not so bad about mine, hehehe. 😉

  7. psychoj1 February 1, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    April IS a genius!! She can make anything that is delicious and delicious.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  8. daintyvegan February 1, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    My favorite, makes-me-happy wake up time would be 7:30-8:00. Any later and I feel like I’m wasting too much time sleeping. =P

    Your randomly created snack looks soooo amazingly good! Then again, I usually think that anything chocolatey looking is delicious.

    I don’t currently have a tv lineup of shows. :/

  9. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine February 1, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    I love spelt bread! I’ve yet to try maca, though…so dang expensive! My fave TV show is definitely Gossip Girl, though it won’t be back till March 😦 Have a great week girl!

  10. melonshot. February 1, 2010 at 4:27 am #

    April is pretty genius with her creations, eh!? I SO wish I could have dairy ! Cottage cheese used to be a STAPLE in my diet!
    That mesquite sounds so great! i would love to get some for myself 🙂
    ahahha dang girl. I dont think that dinner recipe could be any harder;) xoxoxo

  11. funfashionista February 1, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    all your eats look so delishhh!! i just joined a gym, cant wait to flirt up some big juiced gym rats lol
    amy<3

  12. The Foodie Diaries February 2, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    So glad I just found your blog! I love!

  13. Naomi (onefitfoodie) February 2, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    BACHELOR, BIGGEST LOSER, AMERICAN IDOL! those are my favorite shows, I know they are all guilty pleasures but thast ok! oh and lovin cougar town! courtney cox is awesome in it!! your meals look so great, yellow carrots?!?! are those diff from orange ones? they look so interesting!

  14. Kay February 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    YELLOW CARROTS!!! oh my gosh those are my favorite!! they taste so sweet and good 🙂 love ’em!
    mm that cottage cheese mix sounds fantastic!

  15. Haleigh February 3, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I used to be an avid Grey’s Anatomy fan but lately it’s been boring me but I LOVE private practice!

  16. Kristin Pizzi February 7, 2010 at 5:25 am #

    wow, I have never heard of yellow carrots before!

Leave a Reply

