Rump Shaking

3 Mar

Hey lovely girls! (and guys!) 

Well, I am very happy to say that I made it through the brutal, stressful second trimester of the school year. (!!!!) It was a tough one that wore on me mentally and physically…but I am done and I finished out with straight A’s!! Thats what a ton of hard work will get ya. I am proud of myself but so completely happy that it is behind me now. The new trimester started this Monday and it has been glorious. My classes are MUCHO easier and much more enjoyable. I am so excited to take it easy and finish the year out happily and STRESS FREE!

So it’s been a while since I’ve done a full post of the my day’s shenanigans and eats. Let take a look shall we?

Alarm clock goes off at precisely 6:00 a.m. Once I get my booty out of bed, I geared up for some ab work. 15 minutes of it to wake me up and get me going. I will have to look up the names of the moves I did, because really, I couldn’t tell ya. Stay tuned on that. 😉

 

DSC02026

hot oats made with: 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, 1/4 cup egg sub, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 tsp maca, 1/2 sliced naner, 1 tbsp natural pb. Glorious.

Although for many school mornings, I have been making this the night before for on-the-go breakfasts:

DSC02030

April’s overnight muslei!!! Or as I like to call them…dough bowls.

DSC02033 

yes I am classy and eat it out of tubberware. It’s the cool thing to do, trust me.

I dubbed them dough bowls because they are so thick, and creamy due to the greek yogurt and so doughy because of the oats. Fabulousness in a bowl, I tell you.

I make them with:

  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup uncooked oats
  • 1 tsp chia seeds

Then depending on what I am in the mood for,  I will add blueberries, banana slices, nut butters, cinnamon, stevia, maca, dark chocolate cocoa powder or amazing grass powder. The top picture is just a plain bowl and the bottom picture has 1/2 cup blueberries + 1 tbsp cocoa powder + 1 scoop chocolate Amazing Meal. Tonight I’m putting together a chocolate covered strawberry dough bowl. Definitely going to be blog-worthy.

So yummmmmy!

Today’s lunch plate:

DSC02032

Rudi’s organic 14 grain bread (found this loaf on the clearance rack for 99 cents…score) with sprouts, spinach, Sabra’s hummus, and a hunk of cheese. plus more hummus and crackers and veggies.  I also ate an orange.

Lately I have been obsessed with oranges. They are so refreshing! Mmmm.

For snack, I made some fabulous chia puddin’

DSC02028

I got this idea from Fitnessista. I simply combined 2 tbsp chia seeds, 1/4 cup greek yogurt, 1 scoop protein powder, and a dash of almond milk. I stirred and let it sit for about 10 ten minutes. Then I devoured it in .2 seconds flat. It was that good. So thick!

A little while later, I headed to ZUMBA for some rump shaking. Gina would be so proud. 😉 It was glorious and I felt like a million bucks afterwards. To treat myself, I came home and whipped up a wonderful, NEW dinner…thanks again to Fitnessista. Sheesh, stalker much?

DSC02035

Mung bean pasta!

DSC02036

20 grams of protein!!! Definitely a keeper.

DSC02037

tossed with a simple mixture of nooch, sea salt, and fresh cracked pepper.

Along with some brussels:

DSC02038

I roasted these babies at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. They were tossed in 1/2 TBSP of coconut oil and garlic salt.

It was a pretty lip smackin’ good dinner.

DSC01941

But of course I had room for little somethin’ somethin’ after that. April’s lowcarb sweet bread plus reduced fat strawberry cream cheese. Usually I’m all about slathering these things (or anything, for that matter) in nut butter, but the cream cheese was a nice change.

Now I’m just hanging with the family, watching Biggest Loser. I am so glad it is back on now that the Olympics are over. I missed it! I love me some Bob and Jillian.

So I’ll leave you with a question of the day…because I need some help.

What is your favorite protein powder?

I’m getting low and it’s time to shake things up and try something new! Feel free to tell more than one favorite!! Thanks!

Catch ya later!

Kristi

7 Responses to “Rump Shaking”

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce March 3, 2010 at 4:23 am #

    i need to find a protein powder too! lemme know if you get a good one :). yum your eats look fab! i’ve never had muesli, let alone OVERNIGHT muesli! love the post title too lol

  2. kbwood March 3, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    WOW those noodles look aweesome! whered you find those ? LOVE me some roasted brussels 🙂
    i love the biochem flavor! and i wana try muscle gauge in cake batter 🙂
    CONGRATS on school girl!

  3. daintyvegan March 3, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    I don’t have a favorite protein powder but I REALLY want to try the Vega brand. The bars are delish (although not for everyone) and I’m thinking about picking up some of the powder.

    20g of protein in those noodles?! I want some!

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine March 3, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    I love hemp protein, and I’ve heard great things about Joy Robb and Sunwarrior! I stalk Gina too 🙂 Where did you find that pasta?!

  5. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 3, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    whoa those noodles look awsome?? where are they from? have you tried carba nada noodles> they look the same and have very similar stats but loaded with fiber too!!

    fav protien powder? I love sun warrior and BSN cinnamon roll (use tha tmostly for baking!) theya re great in aprils protein bars!

  6. april March 4, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    Somehow you manage to make my creations look even better!! I haven’t tried it in that chocolate version but now I’m dying to!!

    And that pasta looks awesome! Wher’d ya find them at?

    My favorite proteins are biochem 100% whey and muscle gauge- both aren’t too expensive and are sweetened with stevia!

  7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) March 4, 2010 at 5:14 am #

    honestly all of your etas look awesome and so filling! those brussel sprouts for some reason look so appealing to me 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

