Let the love in

5 Mar

Hey guys!

What is this?? A mid week post from me? I know I know, craziness. 😀 I’ve just really missed blogging more often and since I’ve got all my hard classes out of the way with now (and all the homework that comes with them) I think I should have more time to blog. This makes me so happy!

So last night I put together  a little strength circuit to do this morning before school. I have been loving making my own workouts lately. It is so great because then you can customize your workouts to your exact needs and preferences. I just google search for ideas for certain body parts and get a ton of new ideas every time.

here is this morning’s 6 a.m. circuit:

I repeated once, with a cardio blast in between consisting of jumping jacks, butt kicks, and high knees. Loved it!!!

And then I may or may not have had a little dance party…to um, round out the workout. 😉

For breakfast, I felt like something refreshing, so I went with the most refreshing thing I know of…my beloved GM’s. (green monsters)

DSC01943

This one contained:

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 3 big handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1 tsp maca
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • a squeeze of lemon
  • ice

Delish. Don’t fear the green!!!

For lunch, I made some of Heather’s Vegetable Salmon Dip

DSC02024

and toasted up a Joseph’s lavish with some garlic salt (put it under the broiler for about 5 minutes or less)

DSC02025

also had an Oikos with blackberries

DSC01875

I pretended it was summertime while I ate it. Fresh fruit, especially berries, always makes me think of summer. I. CANT. WAIT. Ahhh!

What is your favorite thing about Summer?

I love not being cold! And I’m a million times more motivated in the Summer than I am in the winter/in cold weather. It also makes me a much happier person!

Afernoon snack:

DSC01899

1/2 cup egg beaters, 1/2 cup black beans, salsa.

Usually I’m all about sweet in the afternoon, but today I went the savory route.  It was good!

Dinner was a yummy classic…and one that I have been turning to a lot lately for dinner in a jiffy.

DSC01955

sweet potato (with kroger natural peanut butter, sea salt, and pepper) and kale chips (lightly sprayed with cooking spray, garlic salt, and red pepper flakes, stuck under the broiler for 3-4 minutes)

Simple. Perfect.

And I’m about to dive into this:

DSC01981

defrosted mangos, cherries, and blueberries topped with thick, creamy canned coconut milk. Try this combo asap!!! You won’t regret it. Promise.

***

Last Tuesday at Zumba, the instructor always ends with a nice slow cool-down song. She has us open our arms out wide and tells us to “let the love in.” I absolutely love the way she teaches. She is so motivating and encouraging the entire time, but I just love the ending. It makes me feel good. So I have decided that is going to be my new mantra. Whenever I am feeling down or blah, I’m going to stretch my arms out wide, take a deep breath, and let the love in. Give it a try. I bet you will feel good, too. 🙂

Tonight is Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice! Have a great night!

PS:

The mung bean pasta from my last post if from a local health food store, but I would guess that many other health food places carry it! It’s good stuff. 😉

Kristi

14 Responses to “Let the love in”

  1. Jenny March 5, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    ah two posts in one week! a girl could get used to this 😉

    ah isn’t Zumba the best?!?! one of my favorite workouts ever.

    time for Grey’s! *muah!*

  2. lindsayruns March 5, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    Those frozen mangos are the best. Now that the price of fresh has gone up, I need to get my hands on some.

    How you feeling about your maca purchase? Do you like it? Worth it?

    Have a great night!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 5, 2010 at 3:45 am #

      I’m really liking the maca powder! The flavor is an aquired taste and took some getting used to at first, but now I lke the flavor a lot. The jury is still out on whether is makes a noticeable difference in my energy levels, like it is supposed to do. I will have to keep on working with it!

  3. Susan March 5, 2010 at 3:23 am #

    I miss summer too! I think it’s hardest this time of year because winter has been going on so long. But the weather is gonna turn soon – I can feel it!

  4. Jenna March 5, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Great dinn!!

  5. highonhealthy March 5, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    My favorite thing about summer is everything! The longer days, the beautiful heat, wearing skirts, dresses and shorts, more fun to be outside, etc. etc. etc. Loooooooooove. ❤

  6. Jess March 6, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Delicious eats! So summery! I’m looking forward to the WARMTH.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  7. Shannon, Tropical Eats March 7, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Ohh I love the sun and sand part of summertime 🙂 Wooot it’s so close! Target has some awesome swimsuits out i need to hit up asap ❤

  8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) March 8, 2010 at 4:47 am #

    i like your new mantra 🙂 i think a change in attitude and a deep breath can really go a long way. and man, you have me craving summer ❤ ijust love laying outside in the warmth and of course all the fresh berries too!!

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. Tina March 8, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    I normally LOVE doing my own workouts too. Yours looked like a good one 🙂

    And that is a really cool way that she ends the class. I love that.

  10. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) March 9, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    The mixed fruit and coconut milk combo looks awesome!

    Great mantra!

  11. Megan March 10, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    Hey! That veggie salmon dip looks great! Definetely going to be trying that someday soon! Thanks for sharing!

  12. GurlOnA"Diet" March 10, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    wow love ur blog! just found it 😀

    r u a jr or sr in hs? just curious- i wasn’t sure if ur “about” page was made when u first made the blog! it’s nice to find fellow hs students!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      I am junior in hs! Nice to “meet” you!!

Leave a Reply

