The chips to my heart

13 Mar

Happy Saturday!

Luckily, I did not have to work at the bank on this fine Saturday morning. Instead, I got to luxuriously sleep in and wake up on my own without the help of my lovely (read: highly annoying) alarm clock…which ended up being around 7:45 a.m. Oh early school mornings, what have you done to me?! It still felt good though and I woke up feeling nice and rested.

A leisurely breakfast was definitely on the agenda.

DSC02068

PB&J Oats!

DSC02069

Gah, this combo is amazing! Naturally, I couldn’t decide on just one flavor of jam, so I went with two. One scoop of Polaner blueberry and one scoop of raspberry.

The whole sha-bang:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • vanilla
  • cinnamon, maca, mesquite
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 egg whites (stirred in at the end)
  • 1 tbsp Kroger natural creamy PB
  • the jams

Along with a little beach-y goodness:

DSC02048

Green tea in my Daytona Beach mug. I pretended I was there while I drank.

Speaking of beaches…my mom, sister, and I are in the process of planning a girls trip for this summer!  I have been on Priceline and Expedia like nobody’s business. However, I feel overwhelmed by the TON of options, places, hotels, etc. I need help! Basically we want to stay on a beach and are open to places in the US or out of the country like Mexico, etc. We would love to stay at an all-inclusive resort, but I just don’t know how to choose one!! Anybody want to offer some help or ideas?

Okay, continuing on…after my breakfast digested (and after a few episodes of Thats So Raven on ABC kids…don’t hate) my legs were kicking for some good ol’ physical exercise. I dusted off an old favorite…

Jillian knows whats up.

I did level 1 and it kicked my boot-ay. I can always rely on Jillian to make me feel like a million bucks. No lie, I’m on top of the world after that! That girl is motivation like no other…am I right?

Now I’m about to get refuel my muscles with some Amazing Grass + protein powder + almond milk.

DSC02049

I ❤ Grass. hehe.

So I’m sure you all are wondering…what exactly are the chips to my heart?

I won’t even keep you in suspense, because they are just too good to even wait.

DSC02067

Kale Chips!!! I have been eating them non-stop lately. They have been present pretty much daily this entire week. I’m obsessed. In the above picture, I had them with some salmon and a sweet potato with goat cheese.

DSC02045

Here, I enjoyed them with some spicy tilapia and a yellow sweet potato (which is dressed with 1 tsp coconut oil, cinnamon, and ginger)

And here is last night’s feasty feast:

DSC02071

Pictures just don’t do it justice…this would be an Amy’s tamale. Yes, out of a box. Yes, purely foodgasmic. 😉

Who said you needed tortilla chips to have a bangin’ mexican dinner night? These just might be better!

Another reason why I am obsessed with kale chips is because they are easy. I can easily make a FAST weeknight dinner with them when I get home from work. Here is my method:

Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray. Then rip up some kale leaves and remove the ribs. Place on baking sheet and give them a spray of cooking spray. Top with some fresh cracked (or not) garlic and sea salt. Put in the oven under the broiler for 2-4 minutes, depending on how crispy you like them. WATCH CAREFULLY because it doesn’t take very long for them become completely black little crispies…that end up in the trashcan. 😉

I got this cool garlic and sea salt grinder at Gormans last weekend:

DSC02074

When you open the lid, it has a dial that you can set to a finer grind or a courser grind. So cool!

And it was a steal at $2.99.

DSC02075 

I love me some fun kitchen gadgets.

I am already loving this weekend because I have zero plans, zero obligations. I am definitely due for some TLC and doing whatever I feel like! I’ve already got some things in mind for what to do today

  • make some more of Averie’s No-Bake Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Protein bars. These things are the shiz. Make some, you won’t regret it.
  • Blog read. Duh.
  • Catch up on shows. Mainly Biggest Loser. (obsessed)
  • reading my new book: Dear John.  I know some people hated the movie, but I actually totally loved it. Yea, the ending could have been better, but I was perfectly content and happy to stare at the beautiful Channing Tatum the whole hour and a half. 🙂

You’re welcome.

  • and last but not least…make pizza!!!! Homemade pizza, none the less. Stay tuned for that deliciousness.

I will leave you with a few Q’s:

What is your description of the ‘perfect’ pizza?

What do you do when you have a free day to do whatever you want?

What vacation advice can you offer me? Had to slip that one in there..as I said above, I need HELP!

Have a great day everyone!

P.S., here is a fun article. Is hoola hooping the new exercise fad?

 

Kristi

17 Responses to “The chips to my heart”

  1. highonhealthy March 13, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Hula hooping is tons of fun! My friend got me into it and when you get really good you can do so many cool tricks and stuff. I’m not very good but that’s because I’ve let my hoop collect dust. 😛

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

      I can only keep it going for a couple seconds…then down to my ankles it goes. I definitely need some practice!

  2. Jenna March 13, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    your making me crave sweet potatoes!!!
    Jenna

  3. lindsayruns March 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    Hi Kristi! I have only made kale chips once, and I think they were burnt because they left a horrible taste in my mouth. I prefer my kale in a massaged salad! Have a good rest of your day!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

      Lindsay, thats why I make sure and watch the kale chips VERY carefully and usually they only end up being under the broiler for 2 minutes, so they are only slightly crunchy. perfect! I also love massaged kale salads though. 🙂

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine March 13, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    I’ve been waking up super early recently too! So annoying 😦 If your sisters are both 18 too, definitely look into Club Med’s Turkoise resort in Turks and Caicos. It’s gorgeous, less flashy than most chain resorts, and adults-only, so the pool/beach/dining areas are super relaxing without little kids running around (as much as I love them)! I went there last year with my family, and you can get incredible deals on packages that include airfare online. Have a great weekend!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

      Gabriela! Thank you so much for the suggestion! I am going to check it out right NOW! How is the weather there? Is it very humid?

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) March 13, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    omg that is like my fav dinner!! sweet potato with a good piece of fish 🙂 i dont get kale chips! they sound good, but how r they made?!? haha. ideal pizza..hmm i think goat cheese on a pizza would be fabulous ❤
    have a great weekend

    xoxoox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

      Shelley, the paragraph in this post that is green explains how I make the kale chips!

  6. kbwood March 13, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    oh my gahhh HE IS SOO HOT!! mmm break me off a peice of DAT!!!
    i LOVE KALE CHIPS!!
    what does maca taste like?! hmm!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

      Maca has a very unique flavor that is hard to describe. It’s one of a kind. It’s not sweet, it’s just very natural and earthy tasting. I didn’t like it at first but it has really grown on me. I guess it would be an acquired taste. I love it for the health benefits!

  7. Lindsay March 14, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    Nice eats. Love all the greens! And amazing grass, its yummt stuff. We love making pizza crust from cauliflower. Its awesome!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 14, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

      I have tried a cauliflower crust before…it was awesome!!! Thanks for the reminder, I will definitely have to give it a try again SOON!

  8. Run Sarah March 14, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    I love kale chips! So tasty. Jillian Michaels always kick my butt too, I am a sweaty mess after shredding.

  9. janetha March 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    i need to get that polaner jam. everyone talks about it! and i have stayed at iberostar (all inclusive) in playa del carmen, mexico as well as montego bay, jamaica. both were FANTASTIC. let me know if you want to know anything. id be happy to help. xoox

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pizza Belly « Sweet Cheeks - March 14, 2010

    […] as I mentioned in my last post, I’m still up for any vacation suggestions if anybody wants to help a sister […]

  2. Say Cheese! « Sweet Cheeks - March 17, 2010

    […] so much Jillian in my life lately, I was kicking for some cardio this morning. I jumped out of bed and got my Turbo Jam […]

Leave a Reply

