Pizza Belly

14 Mar

Hello!

I’m happy to report that last night’s pizza night was a success! I have always followed Jenna’s Best Pizza Dough recipe, only using all whole wheat flour. However this time I was in the mood for some experimenting. Her recipe calls for 3 1/2 cups total of flour, so I used the following:

  • 2 cups oat flour (I ground some oats in my magic bullet)
  • 1 cup wheat bran
  • 1/2 cup flaxmeal

Then I followed her directions to a tee as usual.

I kneaded the dough by hand and then put in a bowl to rise for an hour:

 DSC02087

Then I split the dough in half and put one of the halves in the freezer for another time.

I spread the rest of the dough out on some foil and a pizza sheet:

DSC02089

Then I brought out my toppings: tomato sauce and Italian seasonings

DSC02090

NOOCH!!!

DSC02091

Cheesey goodness:

DSC02092

I roasted some broccoli, red and yellow pepper, and onion beforehand at 425 degrees for around 30 minutes. Here it is right before I popped it in the oven:

DSC02093

I baked it at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

DSC02095

I had this plate x’s 2.5:

DSC02097

Along with a Zevia!

DSC02094

The pizza was delish! If you make my dough substitutions, I would recommend baking the pizza dough for 5-10 minutes prior to putting on the toppings and baking, especially if you like a crispier crust. That is what I am going to do next time because this dough, although delicious, was on the softer side…and I like crispiness!

Mom and sis gave it two thumbs up, too…and they aren’t the easiest people to please with healthy variations of food. Yay!

Desert was one of Averie’s chocolate chip peanut butter protein bars that I made earlier in the afternoon:

DSC02098

So. Good.

To change things up a bit, I used prunes as my dried fruit.

The dough:

DSC02076

Turned into one BIG cookie!

DSC02079

Then I cut into 12 bars:

DSC02084

and packaged them up so I can eat them anywhere.

DSC02085

Mmmm, healthy and delicious. Just how I like my food. 🙂

I definitely enjoyed my “do nothing” day yesterday. I had a great walk with Jaci and it felt so good to be outside! I can’t wait to get out more as the weather gets nicer. Makes me happy! I also did some reading out of Dear John and watched the latest episode of Life Unexpected on the internet. Anybody been watching this new show? I am loving it!!! Today I will get caught up with Biggest Loser.

This morning for breakfast I grabbed a quick “dough bowl” that I made last night:

DSC02099

It’s actually April’s overnight muesli but I have dubbed them dough bowls because of their doughy deliciousness.

Mine contained: 3/4 cup cottage cheese, 1/4 cup yogurt, 1/2 cup blueberries, 1/4 cup oats, 1 tsp chia seeds, 1 tsp bee pollen, and 1 tsp mesquite.

Then it was off to church with my sister! It has actually been a while since I have gone to church. I kept making excuses…I’ve got a lot going on right now, I need my sleep, etc, etc. Then I would feel guilty because I missed yet another service. Today I decided to put an end to that and I am SO glad that I went! It felt so good and so right to be there this morning and was such a positive way to start my day. It was exactly what I needed. 🙂

Then we came home and I grabbed an early lunch:

salad with leftover salmon and olive oil + lemon for dressing:

DSC02082

apple and Rudi’s organic 14 grain bread with April’s protein brownie batter:

DSC02083

Now I’m about to hop on the treadmill for a 2 mile run. Lately I have been focusing a lot more on strength training, which I am loving! But with the weather getting nicer, and the spring race season about to start, I’m going to start running more again. Last year, I ran my very first race, The Easter Sun Run. Here is my recap. This weekend I started to see advertisements for this year’s race!! Sign-ups have not started yet, but when they do, you bet your booty I’m going to be in line. I’M SO EXCITED!!!

And as I mentioned in my last post, I’m still up for any vacation suggestions if anybody wants to help a sister out!

Have a great Sunday!

"Recognize My Work in your daily life. Gradually a feeling of wonder, certainty, gratitude then joy will follow."

 

Kristi

14 Responses to “Pizza Belly”

  1. april March 14, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    Mmm I think I’m going to have a dough bowl for breakfast tomorrow!! It’s been wayyy too long!!

    Enjoy your Sunday!!

  2. kbwood March 14, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    totally BALLIN crust girl!! i want some pizza now!

  3. Jenny March 14, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I have always wanted to make my own pizza crust but for some reason the recipes totally intidimate me — this one sounds simply enough, though for some reason I have a feeling i’ll find some way to mess it up 😉 suppose I’ll just live vicariously through you! looks greaaaaaat, chica!

  4. Jess March 15, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    I LOVE homemade pizza crust. I make my own whole wheat dough and it is fabulous–I’m SURE Jenna’s is awesome too. I’ll have to try it!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  5. Danielle March 15, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    That crust looks amazing! Go you 🙂

  6. Run Sarah March 15, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    Your pizza looks awesome! I love homemade crust – I have to try using oat flour and wheat bran for mine next time.

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine March 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Ughh, it’s been way too long since I’ve been to church too 😦 I need to get that back on my priority list! Your pizza looks great. Nooch is always a great addition to homemade pizza! Have a great Monday!

  8. Naomi (onefitfoodie) March 15, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    YUM crust, I want to make that this week for SURE!!! your pizza is packed with veggies and I LOVE that 🙂

    i also love making protein bars and freezing for a healthy, quick treat!

  9. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) March 15, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    your positivity shines throughout your post 🙂 just sayin! & the eats..yumm. that pizza looks delicious & so does the dough bowl!! glad you enjoyed your church service.

    xoxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  10. janetha March 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    SUPER impressed with your cooking skills in this post!

  11. Simply Life March 16, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    YUM! Everything looks amazing!

  12. Leanne March 16, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    look at you baking up a storm in the kitchen! everything looks fabulous girl! let me know how your decision-making is going on what we talked about:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Double dessert, double fun « Sweet Cheeks - March 27, 2010

    […] Enter: Averie’s bars I keep talking about: […]

  2. On your mark… « Sweet Cheeks - April 2, 2010

    […] used the other half of my dough from last time that I stuck in the […]

Leave a Reply

