New Love

22 Mar

Happy Monday!

You would think that I would take advantage of being on Spring Break this week and sleep in this morning…you know, I was thinking that at least 9 o’clock was sounding pretty glorious. But alas, I found myself waking up at 7:30, bright-eyed, bushy-tailed, and ready to go for the day. Thanks internal alarm clock.

I had my mind set on a great breakfast though, so I went ahead and got up and made my way to the kitchen.

I had a half-full container of Oikos plain greek yogurt that I wanted to put to good use:

IMG_0036

IMG_0037

Its fun to eat out of containers. 🙂

The mix:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 T chia seeds
  • 1 tsp spirulina
  • 1/2 scoop of protein powder
  • 1/2 banana

Just plop in your container of choice and you’re good to go! It was creamy and delicious and a perfect way to start off my week.

By the recent content of my blog, it seems as though the only things I eat are out of containers. Case in point: breakfast today and the OIAJ in my last post. However, I have actually been enjoying some pretty tastey items…on plates! 😀 Here are some recent ones I have been enjoying lately:

Chia oats…in a (gasp!) BOWL:

IMG_0033

(1/2 cup oats, 2 tbsp chia seeds, 1 cup water, cinnamon, maca) With banana and Barney Butter on top.

Lunch spreads:

IMG_0022

Rudi’s 14 grain bread (love) with hummus, sprouts, and Cabot white cheddar cheese chunk. along with my other veggie loves: snap peas, grape ‘matoes, and carrots. This is a GREAT sammie combo by the way.

IMG_0023

along with a new kind of apple:

IMG_0026

Pacific Rose! It was pretty good…nice and sweet. But I think I like my Fuji apples more.

Eaten with cinnamon:

IMG_0028 

Another Rudi’s bread combo…sweet instead of savory this time:

IMG_0034

1 tbsp of peanut butter on one. Protein brownie batter on the other. (1/2 scoop protein powder, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, dash of almond milk) Ummm, yeah. You should try this asap…it’s for your own good.

Green Monsters!

IMG_0035

I had no ripe bananas so I improvised and came up with a pretty yummy and refreshing combo: 1 cup frozen mango pieces, 1 cup almond milk, 1/4 avocado, lots of spinach.

I tried the new Dannon greek yogurt:

IMG_0025

Mixed with dark chocolate cocoa powder and stevia, it made the perfect snack. I thought Dannon did a pretty good job with this one. I still have a soft spot for Oikos and Fage, but wouldn’t hesitate to eat this one again. Way to go Dannon!

Baked tofu was had last night:

IMG_0029

Coated with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, parsely, garlic, and pepper. I popped those babies in for 45 minutes at 400 degrees, flipping half way though.

I had them with some kale chips (surprise, surprise) and a microwave-baked sweet potato topped with my NEW love

IMG_0030 

Tahini, where have you been all my life?!?!

IMG_0032

This. stuff. rocks.

IMG_0031

Creamy, dreamy, and most definitely foodgasmic. I think Heather said it best…I want to swim in this stuff. 😀

Nothing has been able to come close to the love I have for sweet potatoes topped with my Kroger natural creamy peanut butter…until now. This will definitely be done again. In fact, I just may have the same exact meal tonight!

I stocked up on greek yogurt this weekend, so it made another appearance for dessert last night:

001

Pacific Rose apple with PB mousse! The mousse was simple: lots of fluffy Oikos greek yogurt mixed with some PB2. (probably about a tablespoon)

But I couldn’t go one day without having my favorite cookie of choice:

DSC02046

Averie’s no bake chocolate chip peanut butter bars!

That picture was taken with my old Sony cybershot camera…look at how much better my other pictures look!! I officially heart Canon.

Today is supposed to be a lovely sunny day with highs in the 60’s. Major excitement, seeing as it was snowy all weekend. Bring on Spring! I’m currently sipping on green tea, contemplating a workout. Yesterday I did a little strength training circuit action, so today would be a cardio day if I did anything. But I’m not sure I’m feeling it today. Rest day perhaps? We shall see.

Non-food related, Jaci had a great birthday weekend. She wanted to show everyone her new birthday bone:

DSC00325

…and scarf. What can I say, she’s a dog with good fashion sense. Wonder where she gets it from?

Alright, time to seize the day. Have a great day everybody!

Kristi

12 Responses to “New Love”

  1. lisaou11 March 22, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    I hope you have an amazing Spring Break! Make sure and relax!
    I’ve never tried a Pacific Rose apple–although, I’d say my top 3 fav apples are: Honeycrisp, Pink Lady, and fujis.

  2. kbwood March 22, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    WOW SO MANY GOOD EATS ON HERE!
    LOVE your OIAC! soo fun eating out of containers, no?
    thanks so much for your SWEET comment! you make me smile!! happy monday!

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine March 22, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    One of the things I love about apples is all the varieties, but I always come back to Fujis and Honeycrisps as well 🙂 Averie’s bars are the bomb, so awesome you made them! Have a great day girl!!

  4. janetha March 22, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    yeah! tahini is so good! loving all your greek yog bowls.

  5. Jenny March 22, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    oh girl you let me know if you ever need tips on how to sleep in 😉 I’m a pro!

    thanks so much for your comment on my blog sweetie. You are wonderful 🙂 hugs!!

  6. Crystal March 22, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    Fuji and Golden Delicious are my go-to apples. Have you tried them with almond butter? 🙂

  7. Gabriela (froyolover) March 23, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    Awww – amazing pics, girl!
    I hate when I wake up early on weekend or free days – so frustrating, right?
    Oh, well.
    But let me tell you – I just fell in love with your eats!
    Cheddar cheese+hummus, baked tofu, PB-filled dishes… HOLY MOLY!
    Hahahahaha 😉
    Have a terrific week, Kristi!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  8. Jennifer March 23, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    The Dannon brand was the first Greek yogurt I had ever tried. I know, I am so out of the loop of all of you Greek yogurt eating bloggers. But thanks for the idea of putting cocoa powder in it. I’ve been putting cocoa in my morning oatmeal and I cannot get enough of it! Love the picture of your dog.

  9. highonhealthy March 23, 2010 at 2:17 am #

    Your green smoothie is gorgeous! Is it the avocado that makes it that shade of green? Mine are always.. murky looking. Well, not murky but not as vibrant and pretty as yours.

    I love the look of the PB and protein mix sandwich! At first I was kind of weirded out but now I think that it looks cool. 😛

  10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) March 23, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    JACI IS SO CUUUUTE! & all your eats do too! love the sprouts on teh sandwich and the chia oats! delicious

    xoxoo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  11. Naomi (onefitfoodie) March 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    YUM so much good food in this post, Kristi! I love eating out of containers too, probably more than i should, but hey its one less dish to deal with, right?

    mmm kale chips i havent made in so long and nede to this week bc they are so darn good! I could eat a whole bunch and not think twice! its better than candy 🙂

Leave a Reply

