Double dessert, double fun

27 Mar

Hey guys!

How is the weekend treating everyone? My body actually allowed me to sleep in until 9:45 this morning. I was shocked when I woke up and looked at the clock!

To start my weekend off right, I made…what else…oats!

IMG_0059

There is just nothing more satisfying than a big bowl of creaminess first thing in the morning, no?

I went with some thick oatbran.

IMG_0060

1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 tsp maca and mesquite, cinnamon, vanilla, 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 banana.

Today I decided to mix in the peanut butter instead of plop it on top like I usually do. Chia seeds + mixed in peanut butter = THICK RICH CREAMY. Foodgasms definitely justified. 😉

Last night after I got off work, I had nothing at all planned for dinner and could not decide on anything that sounded good enough the spend the time making. So I went with the no-fail, quick salad route.

IMG_0074

  • kale
  • spinach
  • sprouts
  • broccoli
  • snap peas
  • zucchini
  • avocado
  • grilled chicken
  • Annie’s Goddess Dressing
  • dollop of Sabra’s hummus (added after pic)

It was quite the nutritional boost. 😀

But after that, I needed dessert!

Again, I reached into the depths of my freezer to this time find an April creation.

I had made her Dark chocolate muffins awhile ago, only in bar form, and stuck half the batch in the freezer. Discovering them last night made me jump for joy, haha! They are quite delicious, especially topped with PB&Co White Chocolate Wonderful:

IMG_0073

But even after that, I still wanted a little somethin’ somethin’ more. Hey, it was Friday night!

Enter: Averie’s bars I keep talking about:

IMG_0067

Already pre-wrapped and ready to eat. So good!

*****

I am declaring this weekend Relaxation Weekend.

Although I’ve been on Spring Break this week, I’ve still been working my little tail off. But now…I don’t have anything going on all weekend, and I couldn’t be more excited about doing NOTHING AT ALL! Sometimes that is exactly what you need. I’m equipped with magazine material, my Dear John book, and lots of Tivo shows to watch. I think I’m set! Anything I’m forgetting?

What is your favorite way to relax? 

Have a great Saturday!

Kristi

15 Responses to “Double dessert, double fun”

  1. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine March 27, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Averie’s bars are so yum, the perfect sweet treat!! My favorite way to relax is to watch TV haha…I don’t too too much of it in my everyday life, so it’s always nice to kick back!!

  2. april March 27, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    I love when I find my baked goodies from the depths of my freezer! LOL. Have a great weekend!

  3. Jess March 27, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Enjoy doing NOTHING!! Sounds awesome. 😀

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  4. highonhealthy March 27, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    My favorite way to relax is to… sleep. Seriously, sleeping is magical and since I don’t get as much as I want, naps and such are extremely nice.

  5. Jennifer March 27, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    You’re like me, I seem to have oats for breakfast every morning. I just can’t find anything more satisfying! Enjoy your weekend! I love catching up on my favorite shows when I have a weekend off, but somehow it always leads me to doing house cleaning. hmm…

    • Sweet Cheeks March 28, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

      haha, no house cleaning allowed this weekend! 😉

  6. Denise March 28, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Definetly taking a bath!!!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 28, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

      I haven’t taken a bath is so long. That sounds SO nice!

  7. Ashlei March 28, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    Oats are my perfect way to start the morning recently too 🙂

    Favorite way to relax? Probably blogging, yoga, or reading 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks March 28, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

      ahh, yes…blogging as a favorite way to relax. Gotta love that!

  8. Tina March 28, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    I LOVE weekends with nothing to do. They are few and far between, so when they come around I cherish them. I love to read a good book on a lowkey weekend.

  9. Gabriela March 28, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Dark chocolate muffins + PB?
    LOOOOVE!
    😀
    Have a great week, Kristi!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  10. Jenna @ Healthy. Happy. Well. March 29, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    I’m loving the salad. I adore kale and sprouts together, it’s a match made in heaven! I have a couple of ways I like to relax. I love to take a bath with lavender oil and a glass of wine, and I love love love a good workout. They are total opposites I know, but they both work!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 29, 2010 at 1:39 am #

      I know I definitely feel better after a good sweat session, too. Love those endorphins!

  11. kbwood March 29, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    i hope you had a well deserved relaxing weekend! LOVE your salad creation sugar pie!! looks great!

Leave a Reply

