Speedy 5-move strength circuit

14 Apr

Hello! Happy Tuesday to ya!

Today has been going pretty well over here. School…pretty easy today. Work…pretty slow today. Two very good things. 🙂

I got up at 6 o’clock this morning to get my day started with a nice strength training circuit. I made this one up to do specifically on school mornings, when I don’t have a whole lot of time to devote to a workout. Here is what went down:

 

Speedy 5-move Strength Circuit:

cardio blast: 50 jumping jacks (done each time after the 5 moves)

perform circuit 3 times through.

What an awesome start to my day! It was the perfect sweaty, speedy workout. I then refueled with this:

IMG_0139

IMG_0140

An awesome post-workout mix consisting of:

  • 1/2 cup oatbran
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 scoop chocolate Amazing Grass
  • cinnamon, vanilla
  • toppings: 1/2 sliced banana, 1 tbps Kroger natural creamy peanut butter

I am falling in love with oatbran all over again. I go back and forth between old fashioned oats and oatbran on deciding which one is my favorite. Right now, I’ve been on an oatbran frenzie. I love that it packs 15% iron in a 1/2 cup serving. Gotta get that iron in! It also beats oats in the fiber and protein department. Two thumbs up!

Today at school, I spent a good chunk of time in the counselor’s office getting registered for a college visit to a university a few hours away.  It will be in a couple of weeks and I am so excited! I don’t think I have talked about it much on the blog, but I am certain that I want to pursue a career in something nutrition/health/wellness related. Could you be looking at a future Dietician? Quite possibly. 😀 I actually can’t wait to finish up high school and get on to college and learn about things that will correspond with a nutrition career. Stay tuned!!

Lunch time came before I knew it and I whipped out something easy:

IMG_0158

hummus, sprouts, spinach sandwich on Great Harvest flax oatbran bread with a hunk of white reduced fat cheddar cheese. Pink lady accompanied it…as well as this drink:

IMG_0094

Jasmine green tea. Me like, a lot! I picked this up at a Dillons/Kroger store last week because they were on sale. Now I wish I would have bought more. Ah well, ya win some, ya lose some. Right, Janetha? 😉

Then I got my boot-ay to work where I promptly spent the afternoon reading my source of internet gossip aka Wonder Wall, blog reading, and snacking. I have it rough.

Snackage that occurred:

IMG_0057

April’s lowcarb protein bread with White Chocolate Wonderfull pb.

IMG_0127

prunage. Weird looks from co-workers while eating these babies = good times.

Soon enough it was time to clock out and head home for some dinner.

IMG_0182

The salmon was leftover from last night, thanks to Mama Sweet Cheeks. She seasoned it very simply with Mrs. Dash, sea salt, and lemon juice. Mmmm.

Then I cooked up some couscous and mixed in some steamed broccoli. I topped it with fresh cracked black pepper, garlic salt, and a dash of Bragg’s liquid aminos. Carrots plus pb on the side…because you all know I can’t go one single meal without my nut butter. It is pretty much impossible.

And dessert is about to be eaten, which is this absolute deliciousness:

IMG_0178

Protein Cookie Dough!!!!! Another thing I can’t seem to get enough of lately. This lover contained: 1 scoop plain whey protein powder, dash of stevia, 2 tbsp cocoa powder, 1 tsp nutritional yeast, 1 tsp peanut butter, a splash of almond milk. Mmmmmm.

Tonight Biggest Loser is on! Speaking of which, it is about to start…so I gotta jet. Love you all!!!

Have a great night!

Kristi

14 Responses to “Speedy 5-move strength circuit”

  1. Jenny April 14, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    I know how important my RD has been to me I think you would make a phenomenal dietician, girl! that’s such a wonderful field to work in — you can change lives!!

    Enjoy TBL 🙂

  2. lisaou11 April 14, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    i never realized you were in high school–you are so on top of it, i love it! this is one thing i love about the blogs—so many people of all different ages and we can learn from every single one of them!

  3. Meg April 14, 2010 at 2:17 am #

    Girlfraannn you gotta try oatbran AND oatmeal together 😉 that’s my solution when I can’t decide on one haha 😀

    Love ya!!

  4. lindsay April 14, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    I love prunes too! Call me grandma but they are tasty.

  5. CourtandWhit April 14, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    Yum, good looking eats! I gotta try the Great Harvest bread, and your protien cookie dough 🙂

    -Whit♥

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine April 14, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I often wish I’d thought of being an RD earlier in my college career, because I think I’d really love it!! Good luck with the visit and have a great hump day girl!!

  7. tropicaleats April 14, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    can u believe ive never tried chia seeds? i gotta get on that. im excited to hear about your career plans! i think the health/food industry is the best one out there.

  8. Effie April 14, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Nice food!

    I am a dietician. It’s an amazing field, I definitely recommend it!

  9. janetha April 14, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    that low carb bread looks awesome. yum 🙂 april has some great recipes. i had couscous with broccoli last night! YUM!

  10. Naomi (onefitfoodie) April 14, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    loooove oat bran! I am so on the oat bran train right now but it is so good MIXED with oatmeal!1 half and half…phenom you will be in love all over again!!

    thats great you know what you want to study already so many people go into college not knowing a THING…good for you!!

  11. highonhealthy April 14, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Nice workout! I think I might try that tomorrow.. or tonight if I’m feeling like I need a little more.

    A dietician sounds like it would be a fantastic career and I’ve been considering it too! Once I get around to going to school and such.. the only thing I don’t like is that the only school in BC that offers the course for it, is a school I don’t want to go to. That means I either suck it up and go anyways or leave my beautiful BC and head to another province.

  12. Jess April 15, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    The future is looking bright–I hope you enjoy the trip!! I can totally see you being a RD!

    Great workout!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  13. Gabriela April 15, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    Yuuuuum!
    Definetely food heaven 🙂
    It’s great to know you want to follow a nutrition-based career… You’ve got the talent, girl!
    Have a nice day!
    Brazilian XOXO’s,
    Gabriela

  14. Jennifer April 15, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I’m excited about you “future” career! I think that you would make an excellent dietician. And I love your strength circuit!

Leave a Reply

