Stress be gone

18 Apr

Morning!

How has everyone’s weekend been going? Hopefully wonderful!

Thank you all so much for your supporting and encouraging words on my last post about my college/career direction into nutrition. I am super excited about it and wish that I could start right now! I will keep you all updated on the process.

This morning, per usual, was church morning but before we set out, I made time for an awesome new breakfast:

IMG_0197

Well it looks like a regular bowl of oats? Wrong. Could it be an April creation? Right!

This was based on her Mock French Toast oats. My bowl contained:

  • 1/2 cup oats cooked in 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup egg whites cooked in the microwave, then diced up
  • cinnamon, maca, mesquite
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • spoonful of pb

You cook the oats. You cook the eggs. You combine. Easy peasy. 🙂 And it was super delicious! I especially like this because it packs a punch of protein without using any of my precious protein powder that I have been going through wayyy too quickly, mainly because of this:

IMG_0186

Protein cookie dough…Oh, how I love thee. I feel deprived if I don’t have it EVERY single day.

In case you were wondering, this one contained: 1 scoop plain whey protein powder, sprinkle of stevia, 1 tsp nutritional yeast, 1 tsp peanut butter, and a splash of almond milk. Topped with dark chocolate chips. Foodgasmic.

Church was a great session, also per usual. Our pastor talked about being a giver. And how when you give, you get so much more in return. Very enlightening.

We got home and I changed into my workout clothes for some treadmill action. I did about 30 minutes alternating between running and walking, and felt very refreshed afterwards. Which leads me to my next point…

 

Why do you exercise?

I have been doing some thinking about this a lot recently. Yeah, exercise is great for you physically…but lately I have really been appreciating it for other reasons. I am naturally a person that stresses and worries a lot. I don’t like that fact about me but it is true. And when it comes to exercise, I find that it releases all of that stress, anxiety, fear, and any other negative emotions I may be feeling. It calms my nerves, and makes me feel accomplished and happier. How great is this?!! Can I get an AMEN?

Want to see another thing that has been calming for me lately?

IMG_0196

Natural Calm. This stuff was recommend by Averie and I love her even more now because of it! I have a mug of this stuff every evening now. It is a magnesium supplement that naturally relaxes and calms your body and mind. And it tastes GREAT! Its a keeper in my book.

So now I’m going to go enjoy the rest of my weekend, stress not invited. Who’s with me?

Quote of the day: It’s not giving if you don’t need it. So give what you need and watch the blessings pour upon you.

Kristi

 

22 Responses to “Stress be gone”

  1. april April 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    I love how you make all my meals! Haha! You’ll have to try the egg white with the cream of tartar.. delish!!

    • kristi (sweet cheeks) April 19, 2010 at 3:07 am #

      Well I can’t help that you make such delicious recipes!! I MUST try them all! 😉

  2. Jess April 18, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    I need to make egg whites in my oats!! Goodness, it sounds so creamy and YUM!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  3. lisaou11 April 18, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    Exercise is a huge stress reliever sometimes–I just like it bc its a time to leave everything else at the door and just forget about your problems and just focus on you!

  4. Meg April 18, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    I love church messages so much. And I definitely agree that exercise is amazing for stress relief – HELLOOO pilates 😀

    Love you girl! Eats look amazing as usual!!
    Meg

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine April 18, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    I exercise because of the STRESS RELIEF it brings and ENERGY it brings me. A good workout always makes me feel more positive and happy, and like I’ve accomplished something good for ME! Great topic girl- enjoy your evening!

  6. Jenny April 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    oh I love your spin on egg white oats, I’ll have to try that!

    wishing you tranquility and peace today, sweets 🙂

  7. Lindsay April 19, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Wow, gotta try the tea. Where did you get it? Love the oats, so savory!

  8. CourtandWhit April 19, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    Oh wow, we are with ya sister! we stress a ton, and excercise really helps 🙂 Thanks for the Natural Calm Reccomendation, might have to try it.

  9. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover April 19, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    Lovely post, girl!
    Delicious eats, as usual 🙂
    Have a great night!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  10. kbwood April 19, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    what a great message today at church! i agree w. exercise. ahh what does nutritional yeast taste like in the pro powda? interesting!!

    • kristi (sweet cheeks) April 19, 2010 at 3:09 am #

      the nooch is super good in the protein cookie dough! You’ve gotta try it! It helps make it more like the texture of regular cookie dough. Mmmmm

  11. highonhealthy April 19, 2010 at 3:30 am #

    Exercise is a fantastic stress reliever for me too and after I finish a workout I always feel amazing. What’s not to love? Sure I sometimes don’t feel like doing it but every time I manage to get exercising I feel on top of the world.

  12. Naomi (onefitfoodie) April 20, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    that calm supplement looks very interesting! thanks for posting about it!!
    I exercise becuase it makes me feel powerful and accomplished! it is a HUGE stress reliever as well!!

  13. Jennifer April 21, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    When I exercise, I feel a huge accomplishment. So even if my day does not go exactly as planned and things go wrong, I can remember back to my exercise and appreciate that I did something to benefit my health.

  14. Cassie April 22, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    I mainly just love the feeling I get after working out. I feel like my head is clearer, I’m less stressed and just in a better general mood!

  15. tropicaleats April 24, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    Natural Calm sounds amazinggggg 🙂 i could definitely go for some of that right now. For me, exercise makes me feel like a strong person inside and out. Gotta love it!

  16. tramey1 April 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    MUSTTTTTTTT try that “cookie dough” it looks PHENOMENAL!!! What brand of Protein do you use with it?!

    • Sweet Cheeks April 24, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

      You won’t regret making it! Lately I have been using Jay Robb protein powder but pretty much any will work!

  17. Run Sarah April 26, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    I still haven’t tried egg whites in oats yet, seems like a good wait to add protein though! Amen for your reasons for exercising, too – I completely agree.

Leave a Reply

