Eat your grains

8 May

Happy Saturday!!!!

Has has everyone’s day been going? I am incredibly happy that it is the weekend. School has been a bit on the stressful side, trying to get everything finished up for the year and also working on my schedule for my senior year. Craziness! Deep breath, Kristi, deep breath.

This morning I woke up around 8 a.m. and started my weekend off with, what else, a leisurely bowl of oats:

IMG_0233

1/2 cup oats, 1 cup almond milk, 1 scoop protein powder, cinnamon, banana, pb

Surprisingly, that was my first bowl of oats all week! And now you all are thinking WHAT?!? Well, I’ve fallen in love all over again with one of April’s creations…

what I like to call The Dough Bowl, for it’s creamy goodness, but what April calls Overnight Cottage Cheese Muelsi. 

(using her picture because mine turned out blurry!)

Hot oats where perfect for winter, but with the weather getting warmer, I’m not craving hot oats very much and am ready for a change of pace. This lovely bowl is perfect!! Definitely check out the recipe if you haven’t. Its the bomb.

After reading blogs and letting my breakfast digest, it was time for some strength training. I threw together a circuit that went down like this:

 

Strength Circuit:

reps: 12

sets: 3

cardio in between sets: high knees/butt kicks

Twas wonderful. I refueled with a snack of a banana and a Babybel light cheese:

IMG_0234

Then I got ready and went out to pick up some goods with my mom. Look what I scored:

IMG_0235

GRAINS!!! And lots of ‘em.

Lets see here, we’ve got steel cut oats, barley, whole wheat couscous, millet (!!!!), quinoa, organic spelt flakes, and puffed brown rice. CHA-ching!

There is an awesome bulk food store on the outside of town that carries lots of gluten-free/foodie friendly items and I just LOVE it. Obviously, what is not to love? I have been wanting to try some different grains so I think I am definitely set on that!

In other news, I got a cute Stonyfield present in the mail yesterday:

IMG_0230IMG_0231IMG_0232  

A re-useable container for yogurt, or anything really. It says: “You Are What You Eat.”  Isn’t that cute? There are also some coupons in there that will be put to good use. Yippee!

Other eats as of late:

IMG_0229

Gettin’ my veg on, as usual.

IMG_0173

Oat in a mini almond butter jar!

IMG_0132

My favorite coconut water EVER…with MANGO in it. I get these from Vitacost, FYI.

IMG_0058

protein shakage. I’ve recently been adding in a scoop of chocolate Amazing Grass and it has been delish.

IMG_0176

I made my own veggie burgers!! P.S. I LOVE my new food processor. I can’t even believe I have gone this long without one.

IMG_0177

It was a pretty simple mix of black beans, veggies (spinach, carrot, broc, onion, snap peas), a dash of chia seeds, and a dash of whole wheat flour. They came out pretty yummy! I can’t wait to try more variations. The chia seeds were definitely a great addition though!

And of course there have been bars consumed while at school, work, etc:

DSC01741

DSC01743

I really don’t have anything planned for the rest of the day. And I am so HAPPY about that! Sometimes it’s just nice to do nothing and not have a schedule or a plan. I’ll admit it, I am a planning FREAK. I’m sure some of you can relate. I’m trying to let go a bit on the weekends though at least. We’ll see how that goes… 😉

Hope you all have a lovely day, friends!

P.S. once school is out, blogging shall become more frequent. HOLLA!

Question of the Day: What is your favorite grain?

Right now, I’m all about that couscous…and I have plans to try it sweet instead of savory very soon. Mmmmm!

See ya  later!

Kristi

13 Responses to “Eat your grains”

  1. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover May 8, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    YUUM – such delicious eats, girl!
    Loved the overnight cottage cheese idea – can´t wait to try it on my own!
    Have a wonderful weekend 🙂
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

    • Sweet Cheeks May 9, 2010 at 2:14 am #

      You will love it! April makes some pretty delicious concoctions in the kitchen. Let me know if you try it out!

  2. Jenny May 8, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    ah carbs, sweet beautiful carbs. I loveeeeeee!

    Those veggie burgers look great! I’ve always wanted to make my own but prepacked ones are soooo much easier. I wish I had your culinary ambition!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 9, 2010 at 2:13 am #

      haha, it’s pretty easy and fast with the help of a food processor!

  3. kbwood May 9, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    hey beautiful!!AHH your own veggie burgers?!?! yumm! you are so creative.. love the OIAJ action 😉

  4. devan May 10, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    your oats looks so yummmmy! they always do ❤

  5. Jennifer May 10, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    Wow that’s a lot of grains! You got some amazing stuff! Great to see your blogging back in action.

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? May 13, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    banana and cheese? I’ve never heard of that combo!

  7. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries May 13, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    I agree- warmer weather calls for overnight oats! And I love the “you are what you eat” container 🙂

  8. therabbitrunner May 15, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    just like you I love waking up on the weekends and making a special, time consuming breakfast 🙂 looks great girlie!

  9. Naomi (onefitfoodie) May 19, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    girl! you need to post the recipe for those burgers! they look awesome!

    HOLY GRAINS!!!! lvoe them! i go through phases with them! right now its millet, oatmeal (well always oatmeal) and quinoa!

  10. jqlee May 25, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    omg that is a ridiculous amount of grains 🙂 never a bad thing though!

Leave a Reply

