Chillin’ in the fridge

31 May

Happy Monday! Hopefully you have today off and are enjoying the day!

I started off my day with a sundae:

IMG_0358

Who ever said you can’t have dessert for breakfast was hugely mistaken.

Overnight oaties: 1/2 cup oats, 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1 tsp dark chocolate cocoa powder, 1 scoop protein powder, 1 tsp chia seeds (key ingredient!)

The chia seeds absorb the almond milk and make it thick and luscious. Love. I then topped it with some plain greek yogurt…which was all stirred up post-picture for even more lusciousness.  Now that’s my kind of cake and ice cream.

Then I got work on my wayyyy past due Spring (err, summer?) cleaning. Better late than never, right? Cleaning and dusting are checked off the list but I still need to weed through a lot of my old clothes because…we are having our annual neighborhood garage sale next Saturday!

Then it was cardio day for me. I decided to look for inspiration in the new Shape issue:

IMG_0373

Kim rocks.

I found a hills workout that caught my attention. Can you believe I haven’t ever done a hills workout?

IMG_0372

It was my very first one…and also may be my last. It KILLED me! Halfway through, I chucked the magazine and did my own version of hills to finish out the workout…which was still challenging and sweaty so I’d call it a success none the less. Working out should be enjoyable, not miserable.

Eventually I did go pick up said chucked magazine and found something else I wanted to try…no, definitely not another crazy workout. This time I veered towards the food section. Muuuuch better. 🙂

Homemade salad dressing it was!

IMG_0370 

IMG_0363

Ahhh, how I lurve my food processor. What am going to do without it in college?

IMG_0364 

The recipe base was cottage cheese, with the addition of red bell pepper, and fresh herbs.

I popped it in some tupperware and was good to go.

IMG_0365

Of course I took a taste test and it was pretty good…very bell peppery, so if that’s your thang, you’ll love it.

And now, per my post title, I thought I’d show you some new foodie items that are chillin’ in my fridge after a grocery run this weekend.

But first, I also picked up my favorite drink!

IMG_0353

I ❤ Kombucha. Tried the citrus flavor. Rocked my mouth.

That puppy never even made it to the fridge, but here are some of the items that did.

The two fruits that have been consumed in mass quantities lately:

IMG_0367

IMG_0354

almond butter stock absolutely NEEDED to be replenished. Glad I got that taken care of because every time I reach for a scoop from my current almond butter jar, it is a sad experience just knowing that it was my last jar. Not so anymore…yahooo!

Coconut Kefir:

IMG_0355

I’m in need of ideas on what exactly to do with this though…help?

MUSCLE milk:

IMG_0356

Yeah, not the *cleanest* stuff ever…but tastes like a creamy vanilla milkshake. Holler to the Naturally More hanging out in the background.

greek yogurt goodness:

IMG_0357

Goat cheese:

IMG_0360

and……

MILLET BREAD!!!!!

IMG_0359

 Fitnessista, you never let me down. this stuff is crack. The pieces are on the small side but they are dense so I actually didn’t mind at all. It kind of has the texture of cornbread…delicious. Actually, I think I’m about to get a piece right now. Once it’s on the brain, there’s no turning back.

After lunch, time to get back to weeding out/cleaning/organizing. Must be productive!

Have a great Memorial Day!

Kristi

17 Responses to “Chillin’ in the fridge”

  1. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife May 31, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    I live and die for my food processor!!! I don’t know how I lived without it really.

    • Sweet Cheeks May 31, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      they’re pretty much life changing, end of story. 🙂

  2. Jennifer May 31, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I love all of your food choices! Especially your breakfast. You’re absolutely right, who says you can’t have dessert for breakfast? And I’ve got that Shape mag, I’ll have to give that workout a try.

  3. tropicaleats May 31, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    i agree Kim has the ultimate bod.. it is crazy.

    That’s neat you made your own salad dressing! It’s good to jazz up salads.. they can get so blah at times. All of those grapes look delish!!!

  4. highonhealthy June 1, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    Kim.. meh. I wish I could like her because she has a rocking body and is gorgeous but she’s so full of herself and it gets tireing to see her constantly talking about her weight. If she could find new interests/obsessions then I think I could grow to like her. 😉

    I want to try millet bread! It seems to be all over the blog world but I can’t find it yet. 😦

    • Sweet Cheeks June 1, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

      Girl you’ve gotta find you some millet…it’s ahhhhmazing!

  5. annie June 1, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    why can’t you bring your stuff with you to school/college?!?
    everything i read on your blog is so informational, love it! i just ordered shape! can’t wait to get my first mag!
    i love your blog and you sweets!! XXOO

  6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) June 1, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    i’ve never tried millet bread – i’m curious, what’s so great about it? haha
    yay for magazines to inspire workouts- i LOVE reading them during cardio & yes, hill workouts are soo hard.
    goat cheese is my favorite cheese!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    • Sweet Cheeks June 1, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      It’s just so yummy! Much tastier than most processed regular store bought breads. Plus its a nutritional superfood! Double whammy! 😉

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine June 1, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Love the coconut kefir and millet bread!! I use coconut kefir to make either super-creamy smoothies or overnight oats- it’s so good!! Hope you have a great week girl!!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 1, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

      thanks for the ideas!! Definitely going to try them out…so stoked!

  8. Jenny June 1, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I am fully in favor of you hauling your food processor to school with you. Gotta do whatcha gotta do for quality foodage!

    hope you’re having a lovely Tuesday, beautiful!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 1, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

      haha, we shall see about the food processor…I can see it now, my roommate would just loooove me for that noisy thing…;)

  9. Katie June 1, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    Loving the stuff you got girl!! Coconut kefir looks good, always see it at the store but never buy it because I dont know what to do with it!

    Your overnight oats combo rocks! xoxo

  10. lindsay June 2, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    You just posted all my favorite foods, hehe! Especially the KOMBUCHA!! YUM! I love muscle light. Its the only protein drink that doesn’t tear up my stomach and its so tasty. I was a little bummed with my millet bread, its kept falling apart. bummer!

  11. CourtandWhit June 2, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    I will most definitely be having that cake for b-fast soon! You have such creative overnight oats 🙂 That magazine work out looks INTENSE, lol I do not blame you for stopping and doing your own thing. I probably would have done the same.
    -Court

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All About Abs « Sweet Cheeks - June 6, 2010

    […] egg white omelet with spinach and cream of tartar, topped with my new goat cheese from this post. […]

Leave a Reply

