All About Abs

6 Jun

Morning!

Thanks for all the sweet comments on my last post about the progress I’ve made on toning up for Summer. I guess I never really mentioned that goal on the blog. Basically I’ve kept things pretty simple though, just upping my strength training and protein intake a bit. And I feel that it has given me great results so far! I can see those muscles popping through, especially on my stomach. So I thought I would do a post about abs.

First off, I like to switch things up frequently to keep my body guessing and continually working hard. Don’t get stuck doing the same thing over and over again!

Not only do I like switching up the moves that I do, but I also switch up HOW I do them. Sometimes it will be circuit style, other times I’ll do multiple mini circuits, do 3 sets per exercise before moving on to the next, or just do a free-for-all method.

My Top 10 Ab Moves

Leg Lifts

Frog Crunches

Oblique V-ups

Ankle Wiggles

 

Belly Blaster

Reverse Crunch

Russian Twist

russian twist east bay

Weighted Crunch on Ball

abs abdominals exercises photos

Reverse Crunch Scissor Kicks

Bicycle

Hopefully I showed some you guys haven’t seen before!

Now lets get to the food, shall we?

IMG_0408

overnight oats are becoming the norm as of late. Can’t say I mind one bit.

I stuck with mixture in the fridge last night:

IMG_0405

(1/2 cup oats, 3/4 cup almond milk, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, cinnamon, 1/2 cup blueberries)

Then just add banana in the morning!

IMG_0406

Say it with me now…Mmmmmmm.

A few of yesterday’s eats included:

egg white omelet with spinach and cream of tartar, topped with my new goat cheese from this post.

IMG_0376

More Turkey Veg Balls with cold sweet potato fries (made with coconut oil!)

IMG_0344

A Green Monster, per project GLOW:

IMG_0064

(1 banana, 2 cups spinach, 1 cup almond milk, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder)

Some pretty amazing Bean Burgers were made, too!

IMG_0416

Definitely recommend trying that recipe!!!!! The spices made it is SO flavorful and delicious!

I had one along with my current favorite veggie side:

IMG_0417

Zucchini coins sautéed in 1 tsp coconut oil and a dash of garlic salt. Fab.

What a great summer meal:

IMG_0418

of course there was a pickle to go with that burger!

peanut butter banana soft serve following soon after:

IMG_0419

1 frozen banana and 1 tbsp peanut butter in the food processor. Check out those pb chunks!!!! This was good, but next time I think I will try adding in some PB2 powder to see if I can intensify the pb flavor.

And don’t forget my evening cookie dough snack!

016

protein powder, pb, almond milk, nooch, and reeses pb pieces. A pinch of Nutritional yeast gives a more cookie dough-like texture, FYI. Try it!

Q’s of the day:  What is your favorite ab exercise?

                         What is your favorite protein snack?

Have a great Sunday!

Kristi

21 Responses to “All About Abs”

  1. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine June 6, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    I’ve never heard of the ankle wiggles, definitely trying that!! My favorite protein snack is probably straight PB, or Kashi GoLean…I’m not a big protein girl, so the easier the better for me!!

    • sweet cheeks June 6, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

      ankle wiggles are my newest addition. They are fun..well, to me. 😉

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) June 6, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    i want to try that protein cookie dough!! ive been seeing it absolutely everywhere but have yet to try it 😦 boo.. its so simple, i just never think of it!
    & thanks for the ab info- ive been wondering what ab exercises to do bc im bored of my typical stuff- im going to try soem of these

    xoxoxoo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    • sweet cheeks June 6, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

      protein cookie dough ROCKS! I feel deprived if I don’t have it EVERY day, hehe.

  3. Jess June 7, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    Ok, you pretty much just outlined by ab routine. Well not really, but I do like 8/10 of them every time I do an ab workout!! LOVE THEM!
    Have you tried ab ripper X? Well, do you have p90x? That’s what I meant to ask, haa!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks June 7, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      Jess, No I have not tried p90x….would love to though!

  4. CourtandWhit June 7, 2010 at 2:54 am #

    Yum Goat cheese omlets are the best! I agree that you need to change up your work out routine everyday to see results. I recently found an awesome ab video is Jackie Warner’s Power Circuit Video. It is on demand for free, or at Target. You’ve gotta try it! Your abs will be sore for days.

    • Sweet Cheeks June 7, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      I have completely forgotten about On Demand…I used to do those workouts on there all the time!!!!

  5. katie June 7, 2010 at 3:49 am #

    girl LOVING your eats! LOVE Those omelets and the desserts!! your night dessert is awesome! those are GREAT ab routines!! i love planks 🙂

  6. Katie June 7, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Love the protein cookie dough combo!! Got to try that! Do you use plain protein powder for it?

    Love all the ab moves, the wiggle one is new to me!!

    xoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks June 7, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      Katie: I use a stevia sweetened vanilla protein powder for it but you could use plain if you wanted and then just add in a dash of sweetener!

      • Katie June 7, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

        Thanks for letting me know love!!!

  7. Meg June 7, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I loooove planks and anything on a stability ball – I think they’re just so fun 😀 haha! Your abs are ROCKIN girlfran!! So is that burger – and everything else you create 😀

    LOVE Reeses Pieces – remind me of childhood 🙂

  8. lisaou11 June 7, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    frog crunches look good! 🙂 might try some of those this week!

  9. Naomi (onefitfoodie) June 8, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    girl you are looking great from your last post!! love theprotein packed meals…those balls look amazeee (twss)

    favorite protein meal is a protein shake post workout!!

    favorite ab exercise is plank and high plank, at the same time crossing my legs underneath! i also love the bosu! i do hate crunches though and my body doesnt respond to well to them, so any cardio moves that work my abs at the same time (Ahem—INSANITY—ahem) is great with me! i also got turbo jam just for fun!!

  10. Jenna June 8, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Dessert looks yum!

  11. jqlee June 9, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    I love the weighted tea kettle. I can really SEE and FEEL my abs going to town!

  12. highonhealthy June 9, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Ooo, I love doing the ankle wriggles! They would probably have to be one of my favorites along with bicycle crunches. As for my favorite protein snack… protein bars. I love bars with a passion.

  13. Run Sarah June 10, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    Great moves! I have to try the weighted crunches and frog crunches, they look awesome. I am also trying to tone up my abs for the summer.

  14. Jennifer June 12, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    Awesome post! Every ab exercise that you listed are the exact same ones that we do in the ab class that my gym offers. We change it up every time using various moves and they all work really good. I would say my favorite is a plank (belly buster) because my neck tends to hurt after doing a lot of the other ones.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No Procrastination Packing Day « Sweet Cheeks - June 13, 2010

    […] and digesting, I did a lovely circuit workout make by yours truly. I even sneaked in some of my favorite ab moves. P.S. thanks for all the positive feedback on that post! Here’s what went down in the […]

Leave a Reply

