No Procrastination Packing Day

13 Jun

Hi guys! Wow, it’s been a week since my last post. Where has this week gone?!? Things have been pretty busy over here. Working my booty off at work and getting things ready to leave for Mexico on Friday morning!!!!!!

The countdown is on! Extremely happy does not even begin to come close to how I feel about this trip. Bottom line: I need a break. I need to get out of town. Get away from work. Get away from everyday life…and HAVE FUN.

So In hopes of preventing my usual procrastination shenanigans, I have declared today Packing Day. I won’t pack my bathroom/hair/makeup stuff yet but if I can at least get my clothes and other random things packed, I will be in good shape!

Now…how bout some breakfast?

IMG_0448

‘bout time I brought back the OIAJ. You have been missed.

IMG_0449

Overnight oats were in order to combat the summer heat. Oats, cottage cheese, greek yogurt, cinnamon, and mesquite were all combined last night in the almond butter jar. That was my last Trader Joes almond butter jar. tear.

Then after some blog reading and digesting, I did a lovely circuit workout make by yours truly. I even sneaked in some of my favorite ab moves. P.S. thanks for all the positive feedback on that post! 😀 Here’s what went down in the circuit:

Circuit Workout

 

walking lunges

tricep dips

calf raises

leg ups

bicep curls

“frog” butt toner

oblique V ups

shoulder press

weighted crunch on ball

Felt goooood! I then followed it up with a light walk on the treadmill because I wanted to listen to the rest of my new playlist…which may or may not have included a ton of GLEE. Ok, it definitely did.

Then I refueled with some lunch action:

IMG_0459

Leftover chicken from the grill (mmmm!) pasta salad, and a tomater!

IMG_0460

I whipped up that pasta salad on a whim a few days ago and it turned out to be light, refreshing, and perfect for Summer! I still want to tweek it a bit but I shall post the recipe eventually. 😉

I also finished up some cherries:

IMG_0462

Has anybody else been eating their weight in fruit lately? I just can’t get enough of it. Everything is in season and delicious. I don’t mind it one bit.

Last night I made a delicious recipe that I found via Naomi, which was a recipe that she got from Mama Pea!

Protein Packed Falafels with Vegan Tzatziki:

 IMG_0451

IMG_0453 

IMG_0454

IMG_0456

These were rockin’. I made a salad beast with them:

IMG_0469

They’re hiding!

IMG_0470

I also made some Maple Peanut Butter Protein Bars because I saw them on this lovely girl’s blog and knew I had to try them.

IMG_0475

Crack. Go make these, they are so good! And the nutritional stats are awesome as well! Makes 12 bars at 150 cals, 5 grams carbs, 15 grams of protein, and 3 grams of fiber. Woohoo!

Speaking of crack…

IMG_0472

Look what’s back. My stock had to replenished. Can this be my one vice? Darn you Muscle Milk for containing artificial sweeteners. (istillloveyouthough) I got the chocolate instead of my beloved vanilla creme. It was definitely delish, but I still like the vanilla creme best!

Okay…MUST start packing!!!!!!

I do already have one thing ready to go. The Snack Bag, obviously. So food blogger-ish of me.

pumpkin seeds, pistachios, almonds, protein powder:

IMG_0444

bars, nut butter packets, and more nuts:

IMG_0445

Now THAT packing was fun. On to the no-so-fun packing items…wish me luck!

What is your favorite travel snack?

I love bringing along pre-portioned nut baggies. My purses ALWAYS have an almond stash in them. 😀

Have a great Sunday!

Kristi

22 Responses to “No Procrastination Packing Day”

  1. Katie June 13, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Hahahah.. Love it..They really are dangerously good..but I love that you called them crack!!! 🙂

    Thanks for the fabulous comments! 🙂

    Have fun on the trip! I also love packing my own snacks! Yours look great!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 14, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

      thank YOU for coming up with the awesome recipe! You rock!

  2. katie June 13, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Hey beautfiul!! CANNOT WAIT TILL THE PASTA SALAD RECIPE!! yummmmmmmmm with the PROTEIN BARS!! what kind of protein powder did you use? that makes SUCH A BIG DIFFERENCE on the consistency for some reason!!! have fun on your trip!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 14, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      I used optimum nutrition vanilla whey protein powder! What did you use?

  3. highonhealthy June 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    Haha.. I love that the only thing you’ve packed is the food. That’s definitely something I think most of us foodie bloggers would do. 😛

    You’re going to have so much fun in Mexico!

  4. Jess June 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    You are quite the planner 😀 I’m impressed. Bloggers would def. pack food–and i’m no exception!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  5. lindsay June 14, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    oh gosh, I’m addicted to chocolate muscle milk light. Its the only dairy that I can handle and it tastes so good! I always pack justins nut butter, muscle milk, trail mix, and veggie when I travel too!
    P.S.
    Vegan protein falafel….awesome!!

  6. Kris | iheartwellness.com June 14, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    This pasta salad looks so tasty!

    I could finish every meal with a bowl of cherries, they are hands down my fave summer fruit!

    XXOO

  7. CourtandWhit June 14, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    I just gotta say out of all the teen blogs, yours is my(Whit) favorite! You pasta salad looks fabulous. And we we’re gonna make those maple protein bars too. lol Mexico is going to be a great getaway and time to relax. With that huge school year and workload all on your back, believe me vacation feels so stress Free. Hope you have fun!
    XOXO-Whit

    • Sweet Cheeks June 14, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      your comment just made my day. I adore your blog as well and am so glad I found it!! Thanks, love! 😀

  8. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine June 14, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Haha oh my gosh, you pack like me!! I always bring a TON of food when I go places. My favorite travel snacks are probably bars and apples…easy to transport and easy to eat on the go! Have a wonderful trip love!

  9. Naomi (onefitfoodie) June 14, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    OMG kristy! I feel ilke we are TWINS!! first of all I LOVED those falafels, how good were they…second of all, I JUST printed the recipe for katies bars and I am making them today! that is topoooo funny!!

    when I go away, I pack all the bars, nut butter packets, nuts etc too!!!

    ahh so jealous!!

  10. Jennifer June 14, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Have a blast on your trip! My husband and I went to Cozumel Mexico in May. We went jet skiing on Paradise Beach. It was awesome!

  11. Emily June 14, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    CEREAL!! Have fun!

    I love your heart plate, btw!

  12. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover June 15, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    You´re so organized, Kristi!
    I wish I was more like you 🙂
    Those falafel balls looked delicious – I bet they tasted lovely!
    Wish you a great week – the countdown in on, girl!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  13. elaine @ Om Sweet Om June 15, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    I’m addicted to those cocoa-roasted almonds. I also like to pack my own trail mixes that include pretzel sticks, choc chips, nuts, seeds, raisins, etc.

  14. Kris | iheartwellness.com June 15, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    I totally just re-read this post and fell in love with this vegan tzatziki…..yum!

    XXOO

  15. Kelsey @ CleanTeenKelsey June 15, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Hey girl! I just was looking through your blog and I LOVE it! Thank you so much for the kind things you said about my blog. You are super pretty and I love your meals! I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  16. shannon (The Daily Balance) June 16, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    love these eats! snack bag is KEY!

  17. Run Sarah June 17, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    I need to try both the falafel and protein bar recipes, yum! Your travel snacks look awesome – I love fruit, Clif Z-Bars, Vitamin water and instant oatmeal packets!!

Leave a Reply

