Here at last

14 Jul

Helllloo! It’s been a while hasn’t it? I didn’t mean to abandon the bloggie but like I said in the last post, things have been HECTIC.  I just needed a break, and I’m sure you all can understand!

My work schedule is back to normal now after the caotic full time business I was doing last week. I’ve gotta say though…I’m pretty pumped for my paycheck tomorrow. It’s going to be saawwweet! Cha-ching.

I just gobbled down this awesome new breakfast:

040

It contained a new-to-me product:

039

SUN WARRIOR!!! Shout out to the lovely Fitnessista because this stuff rocks my face off. 😉

For the breakfast, I cooked up 1/2 cup oats with 1 cup water, cinammon, and vanilla. Meanwhile, in the microwave I cooked 1/2 cup egg whites then chopped them up really good using two knifes. Once the oats were done cooking, I mixed in 1/2 scoop vanillla Sun Warrior protein and folded in the egg whites. Topped with Naturally Moore peanut butter and I was in business!

041

Try this combo!! It has so much volume and it sooo tastey!

Other eats as of late have been along the lines of this:

pre-chia:

023

post-chia:

026

The ugliest yet most delicious breakfast ever:

030

hahahha, I am sorry you all had to see that. In case anyone is still reading after that pic, that would be a spirulina overnight oats bowl topped with an almond butter mountain.

Edamamme salad!

027

New protein shake:

034

Nature’s plus chocolate protein powder. This stuff has been sitting in my kitchen for forever and I’m so glad I finally decided to use it! It is very chocolatey and combines three proteins: soy, pea, and rice. It also has a bunch of added nutrients and superfoods and greens. But I couldn’t taste any of it, woo hoo! You can get this stuff on Amazon or Vitacost.

snobby joes!!! On romaine hearts, no less:

035

I used this recipe:

Ingredients
1 cup uncooked lentils
4 cups water
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced small
1 green pepper, diced small
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 Tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoons oregano
1 teaspoon salt
8 oz can tomato sauce
1/4 cup tomato paste
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1 tablespoon yellow mustard (wet mustard)

Put the lentils in a small sauce pot and pour in 4 cups water. Cover and bring to a boil. Once boiling, lower heat and simmer for about 20 minutes, until lentils are soft. Drain and set aside.
About 10 minutes before the lentils are done boiling, preheat a medium soup pot over medium heat. Saute the onion and pepper in the oil for about 7 minutes, until softened. Add the garlic and saute a minute more.
Add the cooked lentils, the chili powder, oregano and salt and mix. Add the tomato sauce and tomato paste. Cook for about 10 minutes. Add the maple syrup and mustard and heat through.
Turn the heat off and let sit for about 10 minutes, so that the flavors can meld, or go ahead and eat immediately if you can’t wait. I like to serve these open faced, with a scoop of snobby joe on each slice of the bun.

Lunch plate with more snobby joes…and a BLT!

042

I uses turkey bacon and it was delish!

043

A classic Sweet Cheeks dinner:

004

cheetahs, brussels, tilapia. perfect meal in my eyes. 🙂

Banana soft serve with 1/2 scoop vanilla Sun Warrior protein, plus chocolate chips:

038

new favorite dessert right there!

I’ve also been eating lots of my brownie protein bars, which are now on my recipe page under “desserts.” check it out! They are so chewy and fudgey!

007

And I’ve got a great workout to share with you guys! I got this idea from Shape Magazine. It basically combines some treadmill action with jump rope, but I did jumping jacks since I don’t own a jump rope. Here is what went down:

Mix It Up Treadmill Workout

  • minutes 1-5: warm up walk, intensity 3-4 (out of 10)
  • 5-7: jumping jacks
  • 7-9: brisk walk, intensity 6-7
  • 9-10: moderate walk, intensity 5
  • 10-13: jumping jacks
  • 13-14: moderate walk, intensity 5
  • 14-16: brisk walk, intensity 6-7
  • 16-17: moderate walk, intensity 5
  • 17-19: jumping jacks
  • 19-25: repeat minutes 13-19
  • 25-30: cool down walk

And you can sub in running for the walking if you want to make it even harder. I loved this workout and it went by so fast because you were constantly switching it up. Let me know if you try it!

It’s time for me to get ready for the day. Hope you all have a great one!

xoxo kristi

9 Responses to “Here at last”

  1. lisaou11 July 14, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Glad you are back! 🙂

    and yes, your overnight oats look digusting–but only bc the thought of overnight oats makes me a little sick! haha 🙂

  2. Meg July 14, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    Hello 😀 Ahh I am totally checking out your recipe page RIGHT after I’m done writing this 😉 Your classic Sweet Cheeks dinner looks perfect, I love it, and may have to recreate it soon…especially the sweet p fries. I really wanna try that protein powder, but I’d have to order it online…pricey pricey…so we shall see. But seems like it’s worth it…that bowl of oats looks ridiculously good.

    Happy hump day girly!
    Meg 🙂

  3. Jenny July 14, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    girlfriend you are doing WORK with the protein as of late. Those abs of yours must be ROCKIN!!!!!

  4. CourtandWhit July 14, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Yay! I was so happy when I saw that you posted. I LOVE reading your blog 🙂 It always makes my day. I am so going to try that egg white bowl of oats you made. It sounds like it has TONS of protein and will definitely keep me full! Also thanks for the workout idea. This one sounds like fun! I always do get bored on the Treadmill so this will give me a break in between.

    -Court

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) July 15, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    love the workout- something different from a typical straight-up run! & those bars you made sound so good,i was just looking at the recipe on your last post- i want to make them! i might 🙂 & yes, sometimes the ugliest foods are the most delicious

  6. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover July 15, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Loved your new breakfast!
    Even your messes do look delicious 🙂
    Wish you a great day, Kristi!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  7. highonhealthy July 15, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Those overnight oats definitely look disgusting but it’s totally okay because I’ve been planning to make some green oats too! Except that instead of spirulina I would be using chlorella.

    Glad to have you back!

Leave a Reply

