Here’s to the good stuff

18 Jul

Morning!

I’m so glad you guys are liking the my no-bake brownie protein bar recipe. I’m pretty fond of it. 😉 Some of you were asking about the stats of the bars..I cut mine into 8 bars and with the chocolate chips, I calculated around 170 cals per chocolatey blissful bar. I will calculate more stats and post them on the recipe page later. 😀

Today I wanted to dedicate a post to a new lover in my life…no, not the one I mentioned in my Mexico Recap…that one’s for another day, another time. 😉 I’m such a tease, I know.

But first…breakfast!

004

A lovely bfast cookie made with: 1/2 cup oats, 1 tbsp Sun Warrior protein, 1/3 cup applesauce, cinnamon, and vanilla. Topped with 1 tbsp grape jelly and 1/2 cup Oikos plain. Strawbs on the side.

Now, who is this lover you ask? Well it is no new health fad or anything crazy at all. In fact I’ll bet it is already a staple in many of your diets right now. But I recently rediscovered my love for it while working that hectic full time work schedule a week ago when I needed a boost in the energy department…

 

COFFEE

Mug of love right there.

Benefits of coffee: (source)

  • increases metabolism- your morning cup of Joe can speed up metabolism by 10%
  • rich source of antioxidants- both caffeinated and de
  • caffeinated provide around the same amount
  • improve short term memory- caffeine is a cognitive stimulant that actually boosts brain functioning. Furthermore, coffee reduces levels of beta amyloid, a protein in the brain that is responsible for Alzheimer’s disease
  • lowers risk of certain cancers- drink 2 cups a day and slash your risk of colon cancer by 25%. Other studies have shown positive cancer prevention benefits from coffee for liver disease, skin, and breast cancer.
  • reduces risk for type 2 diabetes- coffee contains chemicals that lower blood sugar making coffee drinkers half as likely to get diabetes than non-drinkers.
  • good for your teeth (!!!)-  Roasted coffee beans have antibacterial effects against microorganisms like Streptococcus, which play a hand in causing tooth decay. Drink coffee, prevent cavities. Perfect!
  • headache prevention-  WebMD explains that blood vessels increase in size during a migraine– caffeine works to decrease the size of blood vessels before they can affect nerves in the brain. So, drinking coffee in the early stages of a headache can help minimize the severity later on.

006 

So cheers…and drink up!

Plans for today:

  • laundry
  • paint nails
  • walk the pup
  • grilling out for dinner!

Have a great relaxing Sunday!

Coming up soon: A review on Culturelle probiotics.

xoxo kristi

11 Responses to “Here’s to the good stuff”

  1. Meg July 18, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I adore coffee, I’m not sure how I’d function on a daily basis without it 😉

  2. april July 18, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I drink coffee every now and then- can’t drink too much because of IBS but I love it’s benefits!

    Sounds like a lovely day you have planned! Have a great one!

  3. highonhealthy July 19, 2010 at 1:38 am #

    Coffee looks like a pretty nice love but you need to spill the deets on the other love! Seriously girl, you’re killing me here. 😉

  4. CourtandWhit July 19, 2010 at 2:37 am #

    We love all your b-fast creations, this morning we actually made the combo you made last week with an egg white and protein powder mixed in. So good! Omg, and coffee, we are addicts. lol. Have to agree with HIghonhealthy, tell us about the other love.

  5. kbwood July 19, 2010 at 2:57 am #

    HEY BEAUTIFUL!!
    i LOVE me some coffee!! Glad to hear all the benefits of it! whoo!

  6. devan July 19, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    yay! this post made my day
    i am a coffee addict.

  7. bubblegumgymkat July 19, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    mmm I def need to make one of those cookies..everyone has been doing it.just not me!! And mmm I love plain coffee with ice.

  8. Nicole July 19, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    I’ve been trying to break up with coffee for years! 🙂

  9. Jess July 20, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    I almost wish I liked coffee. But chai tea latte lover right hereee!
    ❤ jess

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mcdonalds ain’t got nothin’ on me « Sweet Cheeks - July 20, 2010

    […] to have a cup of iced coffee then get ready for […]

  2. Pancake kinda morning « Sweet Cheeks - July 23, 2010

    […] I really should still be sleeping right now but unfortunately that is just not an option right now as there are currently men right on the other side of my bedroom wall scraping (read: LOUDLY scraping) our house and prepping for paint. Awesome. So I’m sitting out in the kitchen drinking a cup of joe…because ya’ll already know I’m a bit obsessed. […]

Leave a Reply

