Mcdonalds ain’t got nothin’ on me

20 Jul

Good Morning!

It’s been a successful morning in the house of Sweet Cheeks. I tried out a new recipe from this awesome girl. German Chocolate Protein Pie Oatmeal it was!

The add ins:

006

This baby came in the mail yesterday and I almost jumped for joy. Okay, I did jump for joy.

005

I’ve been wanted to try this protein powder out for a while now and I’m finally decided to go for it. Great decision on my end because this breakfast rocked!

007

I used 1/2 cup oatbran, 1/2 cup cottage cheese, and 1 serving of said chocolate protein powder. Creamy, thick, chocolately…how can one go wrong?

Dinner was night wasn’t half bad either:

001

I made some chicken fingas by coating some chicken in a mixture of flaxmeal and wheat germ plus a dash of egg whites to make it stick. Then I stuck them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. Mcdonalds ain’t got nothin’ on me. You can definitely add any seasonings you want but I honestly loved them plain! Plus I’m *trying* to cut back on sodium a bit.

Along with the chicken I had some navy beans and kale chips. Navy beans are my new favorite bean! They are so soft and velvety.

Dessert was cake and ice cream:

002

Well…that is what it tasted like to me anyways. 🙂 Oikos plain greek yogurt with a crumbled Maple Peanut Butter Protein Bar. Eaten out of the Oikos container for optimal class, obviously.

After breakfast this morning, I got to work preparing dinner for tonight.

008

I heart crockpots. They make life oh so easy! As does this recipe! Simply add in some chicken and some enchilada sauce and turn the heat on.

011 

I LOVE this sauce!!!!

009

It will make your house smell amazing.

Could that recipe be any easier?!?! I think not. Can’t wait to devour it tonight!

So I was lucky to be able to try out one of Culturelle’s probiotic products and have been taking one in the mornings for a while now.

010

I was using one that I bought from Vitacost.com and was having great results with. But that definitely didn’t stop me from trying out a new one! This one from Culturelle gets my stamp of approval. It worked just as good, if not better, than my old one…and this one is DAIRY FREE. Great job Culturelle, and thanks for letting me try it out!

Time to have a cup of iced coffee then get ready for work!

xoxo kristi

11 Responses to “Mcdonalds ain’t got nothin’ on me”

  1. lisaou11 July 20, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    I love crockpoats too! so easy–its nice to put it in the morning and it’s done when you come home! can’t ask for more!

  2. Jess July 20, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Mmm, those oats look AMAZING! Must try, fo’ sure.

  3. april July 20, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Mmm everything looks fabulous!! Haha, we use the same protein and CC!

  4. CourtandWhit July 20, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Woah, the Chicken Finger idea sounds so yummy and healthy. Gonna have to give it a try. And after seeing Culturelle on your blog, court and I have talked about trying their products. Have a great day at work, don’t work too hard. lol

  5. Katie July 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    I love April’s recipes and can’t wait to try that oat one! 🙂 That chicken sounds yummy…so do you just cook it like that and eat it? Do you shred it or do anything else with it?

    Wow…just looked at that protein bar recipe and I am definitely making those soon! 15g of protein and only 5 carbs! Heck yes!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 20, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

      I usually just eat the chicken straight up! But it ends up being very tender so it pretty much shreds on it own.

  6. Katie July 20, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    I love those ‘bars’ in greek yogurt too 🙂 I put my g.yog in my ice cream maker now to make real ‘ice cream’ out of it! 🙂 sooo good!

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine July 21, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    I’ve always been amused by the fact that navy beans aren’t navy. I’m so mature 🙂 Love them though, and the kale chips!

  8. kbwood July 21, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    SUCH a good idea to put that chicken in ur crockpot like that !! LOVE IT! doesnt that protein powder ROCK!?!!? I love it too!!! I have that same kind!

Leave a Reply

