Exercise Hiatus

21 Jul

Morning!

Had another great breakfast today!

008

I just wish it looked more photogenic. :/ Oh well, it was delish and that is all that really matters!

1/2 cup oats + 1/2 cup cooked, diced egg whites + 1/2 scoop Muscle Gauge Nutrition Cake Batter protein powder

Yes…

006

I bought another one. I MUST be stopped!!!!!!

It is pretty dang fabulous though and makes my no-bake brownie protein bars taste amazing!

Yes…

007

I made another batch last night. 🙂

But now lets get to more important things, like the meaning behind my post title. I felt I needed to write this post to fill you guys in on the reason I haven’t talked about my workouts in the last few posts. Unfortunately I am 99.9% percent sure that I have mono. My body is weak and tired. I was running a temp, had the sore throat, et, etc, but now I’m left with the utter exhaustion that comes with mono. I tried to fight it at first, continuing my workouts the best that I could, while undoubtedly making myself worse in the process. I really just LOVE to exercise. Exercise is my sanity. It makes me feel accomplished, happy, and just plain in a good mood. Unfortunately, I am being advised to discontinue working out for a while until my body heals. I really don’t have the energy for it anyways. I go a bit stir-crazy at times though and feel anxious just sitting around all day, but hey, it’s what my body needs right now so I’ve got to do it! Depending on how severe the case is, it could last anywhere from a couple weeks to a couple months.

It just really sucks because I’ve worked hard this Summer, especially on strength training and now I feel like all my good hard work is going to go right down the tube. Boo. Sorry to be such a Negative Nancy but I had to get it off my chest. I *know* I will be just fine, but it still sucks, you know?

So for now I’m focusing more on my making my abs in the kitchen rather than the gym. 🙂 The good news is that my mornings are freed up to blog more now! This may not be half bad…

QUESTION: Have you ever been sick/hurt/unable to exercise for a period of time and wished you could workout but new you shouldn’t? How did you cope?

xoxo kristi

16 Responses to “Exercise Hiatus”

  1. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine July 21, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Oh girl, I’m so sorry to hear about your mono!! I had shingles my freshman year of college (stress-related, go figure) and it stung so badly to move my hip (where they were) that I could barely get off the couch, let alone exercise. Just think of it this way: the more rest you get, the quicker you’ll be better! Get well soon love, sending positive vibes your way!! xoxo

  2. kbwood July 21, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    oh girl- i am soo sorry about your mono!! you GOT TO take it easy. i got it 2 summers ago and then it turned into lime disease and i have that forever now. you will get chronic fatigue if you dont REST UP!! the hardest part of giving up working out is the first week without it- then youll be fine!! and your metabolism is working in OVERDRIVE when u are sick, trying to fight off those toxins! so theres NO NEED to work out!! REST UP!

    PS is that protein powder good? im thinking about ordering that exact kind!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 21, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      Wow that is really scary that yours turned into lime disease. Thanks for the advice.

      YES the protein powder is AWESOME!

  3. lisaou11 July 21, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I am so so sorry. Ive never had mono but its just a horrible thing to have!

    it really sounds like you have a good healthy attitude about it though!

  4. Katie July 21, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    Ick, my friend had mono once. Luckily hers cleared up in a couple of weeks. Just take it easy. If you do that, then you should heal up quickly. And, girl…your muscles are not going to disappear entirely! You might be weak getting back into exercise, but you will pick right back up. And, you’re right. Abs are mostly made in the kitchen…so just keep eating healthy and limit those extra carbs and get some good protein! 🙂

    Love the powder by the way! I am looking it up right now and doing some price checks. Anything cake batter flavored has my heart. 😉

  5. bubblegumgymkat July 21, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Have you tried Vanilla Carmel from the brand..WHOA it is better than the cake batter..trust me AMAZING!

  6. Jess July 21, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    oh, no! i’m so sorry you (might) have mono!! BUMMER! I’ve heard that your weight is determined mostly by what you eat, so i love how you said “i”ll make my abs in the kitchen”–so true! But you need some REST…so rest up, sleep in, blog more. enjoy it! Feel better asap!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  7. Naomi (onefitfoodie) July 21, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    ahh i hope you feel better! i have never had mono, but i totally hear you on the exercise helps you keep your sanity…i am the same way!!

    I have teh MGN ice cream sandwich flavor and WOW so so so good!!!

  8. Sana July 21, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Have you been tested? I had all the symptoms but a neg test. It was mega weird. But give you body the chance to rest and come back strongerrrr!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 22, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      No I have not been tested. I hate getting blood drawn but I probably should just to make sure nothing else is wrong.

  9. CourtandWhit July 21, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Feel better Kristi, and don’t worry you’re a strong girl who will fight it fast! Two Summers ago I had surgery on my nose to get my annoids taken out, and to fix my deviated septum, therefore leaving me at rest for 2 weeks without excercise. I went a little crazy, and had to take a lot of walks to make up for all the stirr-craziness. -Court

  10. highonhealthy July 22, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Oh no! I’m so sorry, hun. I know how awful that must be. 😦

    In the spring I got pretty sick – horrible headaches, no energy, extremely bad cough, couldn’t speak, pink eye, fever.. it was horrible. That kept me from doing ANYTHING for 2 weeks. It felt like an eternity.

    Just keep eating delicious, good food and get plenty of rest so that you’ll be back up and running like new in no time. ❤

  11. Jennifer July 24, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear of this. I know how you feel though, I’ve never had mono, but I got food poisoning twice in the last year and it took so much energy out of me that I could not do anything for weeks. I hated the fact that I was missing out on all of my favorite gym classes. But I knew that I would only be hurting myself by trying to go. Get better soon!

  12. Kelly Olexa July 25, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    UM YEA!! And the worst part is, I had 2 separate weeks in July where I was out of workout-land for 5 days!! The first was after the EVO Conference in Park City- I got a horrible cold, as did many of the lady-blogga friends of mine that were there. (hmmm mountain illness? I don’t know..) Then a little over a week ago I apparently got SALMONELLA poisoning. Good times. All I could eat was bread and muffins. Sounds like a carb lovers dream but I felt FAT AND FLUFFY just like those muffins!! LOL I’m coping by returning to my kick butt workouts with renewed vigor! WOOT! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pancake kinda morning « Sweet Cheeks - July 23, 2010

    […] you all so much for your words of encouragement about my sickness and Exercise Hiatus. You guys seriously made me feel a million times better. I’m just going to keep thinking: “The […]

Leave a Reply

