Pancake kinda morning

23 Jul

TGIF!

Thank you all so much for your words of encouragement about my sickness and Exercise Hiatus. You guys seriously made me feel a million times better. I’m just going to keep thinking: “The more I rest, the faster I will heal.” I WILL get through this!

I really should still be sleeping but unfortunately that is just not an option right now as there are currently men right on the other side of my bedroom wall scraping (read: LOUDLY scraping) our house and prepping for paint. Awesome. So I’m sitting out in the kitchen drinking a cup of joe…because ya’ll already know I’m a bit obsessed. 😉

Since I had plenty of time to spare, I decided it needed to be a pancake kind of morning.

DSC01832

Those beauts made life better. First off, I made a batch of Jenna’s oatmeal egg white pancakes. (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg-whites, cinnamon, mesquite, baking powder.) Then I whipped up a sauce consisting of cottage cheese, greek yogurt, peanut butter, and stevia all blended up in the Magic Bullet. Plus half a bananer.

Like I mentioned in my Exercise Hiatus post, I’m focusing on “making my abs in the kitchen.” I am actually really enjoying putting the focus solely on nutrition. It’s kind of like an experiment to see what I can accomplish with super clean eats but no exercise. Of course I can’t wait to get back to exercising, but that simply is not what my body needs right now. So I’m trying to make the best of things!

Eats have been simple as of late, mostly because I just don’t have enough energy to make anything too creative or time consuming. Note that the following pictures are just some of my eats. Although I am cleaning up my diet, I am still definitely getting enough fuel! 🙂

Fruit bowls:

005 

Veg bowls:

DSC02055

Smoothies:

 013

veg with humnut sauce (hummus + nooch + water):

DSC01915

Yogurt bowls with bloobs and almond butta:

022

OIAJ..overnight oats, that is:

027

brown rice cereal with almond milk:

015

Raw Rev bars:

DSC01743

greens in the form of Amazing Grass:

DSC01927

New (to me) product!

DSC02015

DSC02016

Lurvvvve these! They are amazing with hummus and hot sauce.

protein ice cream:

DSC01917

Article of the Day:  8 Tension Taming Foods

Deal of the Day:  Think Thin Healthy bars on Amazon awesome deal!!!

Question of the Day:  Favorite healthy dessert?

Mine is definitely protein brownie batter, a la April. It tastes so rich and decadent and cures my sweet tooth like nothing else! 

Today is work, then tomorrow I have possible plans for shopping, if I feel up to it. We shall see! Hope everybody has a wonderful Friday!!!

kristi

22 Responses to “Pancake kinda morning”

  1. bubblegumgymkat July 23, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    oh yes abs are def made it the kitchen..I just wrote a blog about that 🙂 My favorite healthy dessert is protein ice cream mmmmm

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine July 23, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    I’m really interested to hear about your “abs in the kitchen” project! I’ve heard so many people say that that’s the most important part of a flat stomach. Favorite healthy dessert is super dark chocolate. Lots of antioxidants, not much sugar, and so decadent!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 24, 2010 at 1:26 am #

      def can’t go wrong with dark chocolate. 😉

  3. Jess July 23, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Sounds like you are enjoying some DELISH eats! I hope you have enough energy to go shopping! I suggest crate & barrel–obsessed with that store!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  4. kbwood July 23, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    SO glad you are resting girl!! im loving your eats. LOVE the pcakes! perfect to start off the wknd with!! PLEASE keep eating well while u are sick.. too many ppl lose tons of weight with mono and end up looking awful! and you DONT need to lose any. (thats just the mother side coming out in me.. id do this w. anybody!) love you!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 24, 2010 at 1:28 am #

      Thank you momma Katie! I will definitely keep myself nourished to the max…you KNOW I love my food! AND YOU! 😀

  5. Erika July 23, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Thanks for the comment! IAs for my favorite healthy dessert: I am really loving the banana soft serve right now! Yum! 🙂

  6. lindsay July 24, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    I love brussel sprouts with humnut sauce. Just had it tonight as well! And I agree with Erika, I’m on a banana soft serve kick, with a little chocolate protein powder in there.
    Happy laundry time!

  7. therabbitrunner July 24, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    im just catching up on your old post and im so sorry to hear that your still sick :[ boo. But like the others said – if you rest now your body will recover faster so you can get right back on track!! don’t fret 🙂

    mm so that pancake = epicly (is that even a word? haha) delicious!

  8. Katie July 24, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    U are so right about abs being made in the kitchen girl! I exercise now alot more than I ever did, pretty much because I just love the high I get off of it, I dont really exercise to keep thin, because I eat very clean, but the days I dont here and there I def exercise a little more, but I must say a couple years ago, I just ate really healthy, and clean no exercise, and I looked great! It really is all about the diet when it comes down to it!

    LOVE those pancakes, I need to try that recipe!!!!! Love it! U always have amazing stuff on your blog! xoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks July 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

      thanks for the reassurance Katie! you rock!

  9. Katie July 24, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    oh and get better soon : ) xoxo

  10. christine July 24, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Now this is one of a kind pancake. If you wont mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your post. Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post so it will appear in the Foodista pages and it’s all set, Thanks!

  11. tramey1 July 24, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Protein Ice Cream?!?!?! Come again??!

    And let that injury heal, sister! You will be right back at it in no time!

  12. CourtandWhit July 25, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    Your PB cottage cheese sauce sounds awesome, we’ll have to give it ago. Today we used your suggestion of blending up the cottage cheese to get rid of the chunks, and it was much better. Also, the cake batter protein powder you had a post or two ago looked awesome, so I looked for a bunch of awesome flavors online, and found a Toffee one. EEE! So excited about it 🙂 My favorite healthy dessert is a yogurt mess loaded with a crumbled vita-top, kashi golean crunch, and PB. MMM.

  13. highonhealthy July 25, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    I’m glad that you’re taking it easy! I know that you’ll be healthy again in no time. 🙂

    Your eats are looking delicious and I’m loving the protein ice cream. I love making my own – so amazing.

  14. Run Sarah July 25, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    I love the humnut and veg dish, so yummy! I am a total protein ice cream addict as of late, too.

  15. Christine July 25, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Love the fruit bowl!

  16. elaine @ Om Sweet Om July 26, 2010 at 4:19 am #

    I love the protein brownie batter too! I sometimes just water it down a bit more to make a sauce to drizzle on pancakes, etc. Yum! Oh, and your cottage cheese+yogurt+PB sauce looks fantastic!

  17. Kelly Olexa August 3, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    I’m so sorry you are sick! ;-( I had two separate weeks of being sick in July and it was a major bummer. Not only to be sick, but to KNOW that I had to not workout, and just veg out and rest to get better. It is tough, but I do believe that rest will heal you more quickly and sometimes….it’s like a sign when we get sick that our bodies NEED a break, you know? 😉 Feel better!!

  18. pursuitofhealthfulness August 6, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    I would say those pancakes look amazing, but who am I kidding? What pancakes DON’T look amazing? (:
    I really like my no-bake apple crisp for an easy, go-to and healthful dessert.

Leave a Reply

