Weekly Sunday Preparations

26 Jul

Good Morning! It’s a brand new week!

Started mine of pretty wonderfully with some overnight oats!

007

(1/2 cup oats, 3/4 cup almond milk, 1 serving cake batter protein, 1 tsp chia seeds, cinnamon, mesquite)

Tasted like a dream! I am in LOVE with this protein powder guys! It definitely is my new favorite. Only thing is that now I want to try all the other flavors…but that wouldn’t make my bank account very happy so I will just enjoy this one. For now, that is. 😉

Dinna!

004

There was some leftover enchilada chicken that was calling my name, so chicken it was.

006

Served on a bed of spinach, with sides of sweet potato + laughing cow, carrots, and steamed broccoli with nutritional yeast.

I followed that wonderful meal up with this gasmic treat:

032

1 serving of…guess, just guess…CAKE BATTER! mixed with water and topped with 1 tsp peanut butter. I want to eat this all day every day. That is all.

snackage consumed yesterday:

009

A crispy Fuji and a cute little babybel

010

Oikos mixed with cocoa powder and stevia and topped with a crumbled maple peanut butter protein bar.

So like I said before, due to my lack of energy, meals/snacks have been kept pretty simple. But yesterday I got a major itch for some kitchen loving…and decided to put it to good use. Usually, every Sunday I try and make up some things in advance for the week ahead because by the time I get off work and get home, I am ready to eat. I don’t want to have to wait an hour to get things made…I just want to sit down, eat, and relax! So Sunday preparations come in VERY handy! Does anyone else do this, too?

I saw some Cheesy Spinach Bars on this amazing girl’s blog and knew I had to try them.

019

Oh man, these are SO GOOD! Yeah, I know I say that all the time. But really. So simple, so delish. This batch is almost gone. Note to self: make double (or triple) batch next time!

  • 6 cups frozen defrosted spinach, squeeze out excess water
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • no sodium seasoning (I used garlic powder, oregano, and Mrs Dash) The oregano is a must!

Mix and bake at 375 for 40 minutes. (Mine took 50 minutes)

I had some spinach left over because I used a huge family pack so I decided to get a little creative and make a spinach bean dip/spread of sorts.

021

018

It came out fantastic, too! I will post the recipe probably tomorrow!

Next up on my list of cooking was marinated tilapia:

028 

OK everyone. You have a new mission. Go out and buy Annie’s Island Marinade. Now…right now!!

030

Look at those babies! I marinated them overnight in about 1/4 cup of the sauce and man were they flavorful and FANTASTIC! I stuck them under the broiler for about 11 minutes.

And last but certainly not least, I cooked up some brussel sprouts for a quick veggie side to a meal this week:

025

topped with garlic salt and olive oil spray. Bake them at 425 for around 45 minutes.

And that ended my cooking adventures of yesterday. I’d say I was pretty productive! The rest of my day included vegging out, napping, blog reading, and watching a movie: When In Rome. It was an adorable movie and I definitely recommend it!

I am feeling slightly better today energy-wise, but I am by no means healed yet. I know I need to keep resting as much as possible, even though it is hard for me! I am SOOOO looking forward to exercising again. I miss it so much. But it will come with time! Patience is key.

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday!

xoxo kristi

32 Responses to “Weekly Sunday Preparations”

  1. the new beefcake april July 26, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    You have been very productive!! And getting in a lot of nutritious foods to heal you up quickly!

    • Katie July 27, 2010 at 12:28 am #

      hey beefcake : ) lol! love u girl!!!

  2. april July 26, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    Oops.. please ignore that name LOL!!

  3. CourtandWhit July 26, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I want to try that Protein powder so BAD! And we love Tilapia too. The Cheesy Spinach bars look really simple and delish. Also, that movie is awesome 🙂

  4. Meg July 26, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Busy in the kitch! I LOVE it! That spinach bake looks amazing, and I cannot wait til you post the recipe for the dip 😀

    Love you girl! Hope you’re feeling ok 🙂

  5. Tina July 26, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    I am dying for some Brussels sprouts but our store always has crap ones during summer. I’m ready for them to be in season again so badly.

    I never would have thought to put laughing cow on sweet potato. That is a great idea!

    Love your blog. 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks July 26, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

      You should def try LC on a sweet tater…its so delish!

  6. glutenfreemuse July 26, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    What is this cake batter protein powder you are talking about!!?? Where can I find this!?!

    ~Alyssa

    • Sweet Cheeks July 26, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

      bodybuilding.com!!! I think they are on backorder right now but go ahead and put your order in. IT ROCKS!!!!!!!

  7. kbwood July 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    what an amazing post of GOOD EATS!!!
    I LOVE your dinner w. the sweet tater!! do you eat em savory or sweet? and i NEED to make those spinach bars! I am so jealous of your cake batter pro powder.. its all on backorder now!! AHHHH! LOVE YOU GIRL! so glad you are feeling better.. keep resting love!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 26, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

      I usually go for savory with sweet taters but after seeing how you eat them with protein cookie dough, I NEED to try that asap!

  8. Katie July 27, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    I always am loving your healthy eats!!!

    I had tilapia for dinner tonight, but it was the frozen kind! Yours looks better!!!!

    Love the yummy eats as always and I see your clean eating , abs in the kitchen meals are going great!!

    xoxo

  9. Jess July 27, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    You’re so smart to prepare your meals in advance!! I wish I did that 😀 But I guess in the summer I have the time for the most part…

    How are you feeling?

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks July 27, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

      I’m feeling a *tad* bit better…still get very exhausted after doing ANYTHING. But I’m hopefully headed in the right direction at least. Thanks for asking love!

  10. Run Sarah July 27, 2010 at 4:44 am #

    I love when I make the effort to do some meal prep – so much easier for the rest of the week. The spinach bar recipe looks great, awesome nutrient packed dish – I need to buy frozen spinach to try it out!

  11. Katie July 27, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    Well ditto to the sweet comment on my blog ! Im glad we found eachothers blogs girl! Love yours as well!! I hope your day is wonderful and you are feeling good! xoxo

  12. therabbitrunner July 27, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    even thought I don’t do anything during the week I still do all my meal prep on sunday too!! it just saves stime when I come home late and don’t want to cook.

    okay cake batter protein powder!!? they make that flavor!? I need to get my hands on that.

    im glad your feeling a little better 🙂

  13. sweetsbyalli July 27, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Kristi!! LOVE the eats girl…especially the sweet tater + LC…never thought to try that! And I’ve only tried vanilla and chocolate protein powders, so the cake batter sounds amazing to try next! Have a wonderful day! xoxox!

  14. Amanda (The Nutritionist Reviews) July 28, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    Cheesy spinach bars sound so good!

    I’m a new reader. Feel free to check out my blog too The Nutritionist Reviews!
    I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  15. Katie July 28, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Hey love!

    I get the walden farms at my local grocery store here, I know you can order online as well! xoxo

  16. edenseats July 28, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    I have the exact same casserole dish u baked the spinach bars in! very old school.
    glad youre feeling better!

  17. nigel July 29, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Great food always tastes better when cooked in locally made cookware!

  18. highonhealthy July 29, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    Your eats look fantastic! Are you noticing any difference so far with all the clean eating? I’ve been thinking about trying it but I want to see how it goes with you first. 😛

  19. Kelly Olexa August 1, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    YUM! I love the Annie’s products and I’m so adding that one to my list!! And you encouraged me to break out that tilapia too!~ I love that fish, it is sooo adaptable to different flavors! 😉

  20. Naomi(oneFF) August 2, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    mmm cake batter sounds great! is it MGN?!?! the ice cream sandwich is amazing too!!! i am in looooveeeee

    your meals are ROCKIN girl! I love how healthy and fresh everything looks! i never tried a LC wedge in a sweet potato! I need to give that a shot!! great idea 🙂

  21. tropicaleats August 3, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    bookmarking this page right now! that is SUCH a neat recipe for those cheesy spinach bars

  22. Megan August 5, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Your overnight oats look so yummy! What is the cake batter recipe?! Or is it from April’s website? I must try it asap!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 6, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      the cake batter is Muscle Gauge Nutrition protein powder that I bought from bodybuliding.com. It is fabulous!

  23. Katie August 5, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Hey love! def get some coconut flour!!! I dont know if it tastes different necessarily! Its just real great nutrition stats!!!!!

    http://www.bobsredmill.com/organic-coconut-flour-mtx6135.html

    check out the link above! muah!

Leave a Reply

