new kicks

11 Aug

Hey guys!

Things have been busy as usual over here…even more so with school literally right around the corner. Seriously, where did Summer go? It zoomed by in the blink of an eye. This year will be my senior year…my last year of high school. Then comes a whole new chapter of my life. Moving away from home, new people, independence. A whole new start. I’m so excited for what is to come! But I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself now. I want to enjoy THIS year! It could be the last time I’ll get to see many of my classmates, after we all go our separate ways and start our lives. So I want to live it up with them and not miss out on anything. Last year, I wasn’t as involved as I would have liked to be, and I do regret that. I want to make up for that this year and live with no regrets…no “wish I would have done this” kind of thing…this is my goal.

Anyways, I did my first “workout” since getting sick with mono…It’s been a whole month! I made sure to go easy and decided to just hop on the treadmill and walk while I listened to some Itunes jams. It felt so good to move again!!! This workout was even more special because I was wearing these:

010

fresh new kicks! 😀

Picked these lovelies up at Shoe Carnival during their buy one get one sale! I got a pair of black wedges as my other pair and will have to snap a pic of those for my next post. Love ‘em!

I did about 20 minutes on the treadmill, stretched it out real good, and called it quits. I just wanted to test the waters and see how my body would react. While I felt really good during the workout, I did feel a bit drained afterwards. So looks like I won’t be jumping back into my regular workout routine anytime real soon…I will just have to take it very slowly. That is okay with me though because I want to do what is best for my body!

refuel:

004

protein brownie bar of bliss.  Also showing is my new OPI nail polish…a lovely cotton candy blue. I ❤ it.

Speaking of bars, I tried a new-to-me bar a few days ago…

Vega chocolate bar. Loved it!

005

chock full of great healthful ingredients, which I tried to capture…but it was a bit of a camera fail:

008 

dates, hemp protein, almond butter, flax, wheatgrass…you get the gist.

lunch time was a happy time (per usual) for me today! Here’s what went down:

appetizer of a ‘mater and fuji:

001

April’s new combo that I am in love with:

002

1 cup cooked egg whites with cream of tartar (diced). 2 cups steamed broccoli/cabbage slaw, cinnamon, ginger, sunflower nut butter on top. I skipped the stevia this time to see what it tasted like…still fabulous! I feel like I use sweetener in everything lately and am trying to cut back a little.

had this pretty bowl for a snack recently:

023

greek yog, oats, and berries. Natural perfection!

overnight oats in a container!

027

along with proper hydration:

028

that would be my favorite coconut water EVER. It has mango in it and is fabulous. I order mine from Amazon.

snackie:

DSC01800

mini whole wheat bagel with almond butter and banana

and dinner last night:

DSC02104

grilled turkey burger with tomater and avocado along with sweet potato fries. I cover my sweet potato fries in coconut oil and bake them at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes. They never fail me, I tell ya.

DSC02106

yum.

Well friends, guess who’s ready for bed at 9 o’clock? I’m not ashamed!!! hehe, night ya’ll!

xoxo kristi

7 Responses to “new kicks”

  1. Katie August 11, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    I need to try the coconut oil on sweet potato fries!

    Wow! I didn’t know that you were still in high school! You look wayyyy older than me. Ha

    Embrace your senior year with all that you have. For me, my senior year was a year of stress and I lost a lot of my friends. But, they weren’t really true friends anyway, so nothing was technically lost. I had a blast though with my new best friend (and boyfriend), Brad. He made up for it all. Have fun, girly!

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine August 11, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I love those Vega bars!! As traitorous as I feel saying this, they’re even better than Laras. I can’t believe this summer is already almost over…where did it go?!

  3. Katie August 11, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Missed you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So glad you are back! I missed your posts and your yummy eats!!!!

    I have never seen those bars before, looks really good!

    LOVE the new kicks! Oh my shoe carnival, there is one right near me where I live now, will have to go there! My son got some sweet new Nike kicks yesterday : )

    Love you girl and glad you are feeling better, your being smart too by taking things slow! xoxo

    • kristi August 11, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

      oh man a shoe carnival rigt by your house?! That would be dangerous for me!!!

  4. CourtandWhit August 12, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    I love your shoes Krisi!!! Dude I almost bought those in pink and black the other day. lol. I can’t believe it is senior year already either. Time Flies!

    We are glad to hear that you are feeling better. You should get back into your workout routine with Turbo Fire 🙂

  5. Jess August 12, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    YAY for senior year! I’m going to be a sophomore. I didn’t realize we were only two years apart!!

    LOVIN’ the new kicks 🙂

  6. activeash August 13, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    Great job on getting back to your workout. After stopping for a long time due to whatever reason can be hard to jump back on that wagon. So congrats (even if it wasnt what you are used to) Anything is better than nothing! And sweet kicks!

Leave a Reply

