We’ve got a winner

18 Aug

Good Morning!

So lately I’ve been in the kitchen a lot more than usual…

thanks to my new favorite kitchen appliance:

003 

NUWAVE!!!

It came with a slew of recipe cards and a book which included more recipes and tips on using the Nuwave, etc.

002

It can basically do anything. ANYTHING!

Yesterday I made hard boiled eggs in it:

021

Just plop them on the rack, set the dial for 10 minutes, and press start. No water or anything!

I roasted some cut okra as well:

022

and did veggie packs…

023

I also made a burger out of ground turkey and I have to say it came out BETTER and juicier than any other cooking method I’ve used before!

I crumbled it on top of a salad:

012

all completely successful!

Here are some of the benefits of using the Nuwave over other cooking methods:

  • cooks faster
  • clean up is super easy
  • pulls out the fat while locking in flavor and moistness
  • uses less energy than a big oven, therefore also saving you money

You can even BAKE in this thing! I have not tried it yet but plan on doing it very soon.  I’m in love with it. Definitely the best infomercial ever!

I did however put aside my Nuwave infatuation for a while and made an old favorite from this book:

005

Confetti Casserole!004

before:

006

after:

011

quinoa, chickpeas, veg…how can one go wrong?

other eats as of late:

016

oaties with cinnamon and blueberries. This was yesterday’s breakfast along with another HUGE protein green monster. I’m loving the oat + shake combo for breakfast and have been having it every day…I can’t get enough!

Had this snack after 30 minutes of walking intervals on the treadmill followed by some pushups and lunges.

013

1 cup almond milk + 1 scoop Sun Warrior vanilla protein. Sliced banana and bloobs!

I’m getting stronger and it feels SO GOOD!

Egg pizza:

017

I stuck 1/2 cup egg whites in the microwave and then topped it with tomato paste, nutritional yeast, and mushrooms. Delish…I love mushrooms!

Dinner plates:

001

tater with cinnamon and peanut butter, grilled turkey burger, and kale chips. This was all slathered in ketchup and mustard post-picture. I have a problem.

I have a new desert addiction…

020

024

protein cakes ala April!

  • 1/2 scoop Muscle Gauge Nutrition cake batter protein powder
  • 1 tbsp applesauce
  • 3 tbsp egg whites
  • 1 tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

microwave for 1 minute and top with deliciousness! in the first picture, I mixed 1 tbsp cream cheese with  1/2 tbsp peanut butter. The second picture is just good ol’ pb. Both ways are awesome!

****

I go back to school in less than a week! Ack! Things are about to get a little crazy but I am so ready for it! I still have a list of things to get/do before the end of the week…not to mention my 18th birthday is this Saturday! These are my last few days as a “kid” I’m growing up so fast! 😉

I’m off to try and be productive!

Question!

Does anybody know of a good Casein protein powder?

I want to buy some to start using at night before bed. Gotta feed those muscles!

kristi

17 Responses to “We’ve got a winner”

  1. lisaou11 August 18, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    nuwave looks magic! im always tempted to get one of those when I see them on tv!

  2. Elvislurvy August 18, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    Try Gold Standard 100% Casein. They have a few different flavors, but plain ole vanilla is my fave!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 19, 2010 at 1:28 am #

      thanks for the rec! I have it added to my bodybuilding.com shopping cart!

  3. Jess August 19, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    SO jealous of your nuwave!! Looks GREAT!!

  4. Katie August 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Love that the Nuwave is a hit!!!!

    Loving the pizza you made with eggs, so creative!

    Aprils Protein Cupcakes are AMAZING! Love making those, so easy!

    Casein Protein I would say Optimum Nutrition, they have really good tasting Casein Powders!!!!

    love u!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Meg August 19, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I’m so glad you LOVE your new kitchen toodle – I want one! Christmas, maybe 😉 hehe! I don’t know of any good Casien protein powders 😦 sorry! But if you find a good one let us know!

    Love you girl!!!

  6. Naomi(oneFF) August 19, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    oh yum! your food looks good! i love everything! as for casein…I know Optimum nutrition and dymatize make some good casein’s…I believe BSN’s syntha 6 is part casein too

    the eggwhite pizza is a FABULOUS idea!

  7. CourtandWhit August 19, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Dude the NUWAVE and the Protein cakes look awesome. You can make so much with that thing. You should tell us how the dehydration part of it works.

    It’s good to hear that you are getting strong again. Every little bit helps 🙂

  8. Katie August 20, 2010 at 1:51 am #

    so glad you ordered it! love u!

  9. Run Sarah August 20, 2010 at 4:14 am #

    That looks awesome – love the kale and steamed veggie packs. Your egg white pizza looks great, too!

  10. katie August 20, 2010 at 5:08 am #

    hey girl!! I use gold standard casein!!

    Ive tried chocolate, vanilla, and blueberry

    THEY ARE DISGUSTING EXCEPT THE CHOCOLATE!!! chocolate is the BEST by far!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 22, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

      haha, well….I already ordered the vanilla so hopefully if I add cocoa powder it will still taste good!

  11. highonhealthy August 22, 2010 at 3:47 am #

    It’s Saturday! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! I hope you had an amazing time celebrating today. 🙂

    I kind of want to buy that Nuwave thinger now.. it looks so nifty! Speaking of the word nifty.. does anyone even use that anymore? Did anyone EVER use that word?

    • Sweet Cheeks August 22, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

      thank you love!! i totally use the word nifty and don’t care if i annoy people by saying it, hehehe!

Leave a Reply

