Rest

29 Aug

Hello my beautiful friends!

It’s been too long. But man, have things been a tad bit crazy over here. School is now back in full swing and I am definitely feeling the effects. Trying to juggle school, work, family, friends, events/activities, exercise, etc, etc can be difficult at times. I’m sure most of my schoolmates can relate but I am having a hard time adjusting into this new routine. I know it will get easier with time but patience is just not my strong point.

Needless to say, I was ecstatic when Friday rolled around and it was weekend time! I was so ready to have a break and RELAX. No schedule, no agenda…just living. I now have a renewed love for the glory that is known as “the weekend.” Can I get an Amen?!

Despite the craziness, I have still managed to eat my daily quota of delicious food. With my new schedule, I am eating a lot more frequent slightly smaller meals throughout the day. This is just what is working out to be easiest for me right now. Some of the recent eats look a little something like this…

first and foremost…

024

My coffee savior!!!!

Lots of tupperware salads:

001

That one had chickpeas, hard boiled egg whites, 2 tbsp Sabra’s hummus, mustard, spring mix, yellow squash, mushrooms, and feta cheese.

fruit bowls!

002

strawberries, blueberries, and papaya.

003

Eat Drink Be Vegan confetti casserole with a chicken sausage.

004

protein ice cream in the peanut butter jar. mmm.

just look at all that peanut butter goodness:

005

I got a new protein powder:

Optimum Nutrition vanilla Casein Protein Powder.

Verdict? I LOVE IT! The vanilla is very vanilla-y (duh?) and sweet. I have been having it as part of my evening snack to preserve my muscles throughout the night. Here is what I’ve been doing with it most nights:

010

I use my Magic Bullet to blend a cup of almond milk, 1 scoop casein protein, and 8 ice cubes. Then I spread 1 tbsp nut butter around in a bowl. Dump shake into bowl and you’ve got an amazing treat!

011

I also scored another awesome product…

015

Garlic Gold Nuggets!!! Fitnessista would be proud. 😉

014

I am addicted this! I cook up some egg whites in the microwave and then top it with nutritional yeast, laughing cow cheese, and Garlic Gold Nuggets. A combo straight from Heaven I tell ya.

Snack plates have been consumed:

006

peach, carrots, mushrooms, spaghetti squash with marinara, and a turkey burger.

Love:

007

Smoked salmon…it makes me very happy. 😀 I first tried smoked salmon this Summer at the resort we stayed at in Mexico and have been dying to get some here ever since. Wish granted, thanks to Sam’s Club!

made some awesome eggplant fries:

016

For the sauce mixture, I just mix together a bit of ketchup, liquid smoke, Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (or soy sauce), garlic powder, and parsley. Then coat the cut up eggplant and stick under the broiler until its the way I like it! Usually I will flip them once for even browning.

017

I had some along with steamed broccoli, sweet potato with cinnamon and peanut butter, and salmon.

Snacks on the go:

013

apple slices and a Babybel cheese! I like to eat apple slices rather than just biting into an apple, so I cut them up in advance and squeeze lemon juice on them. No browning at all!

019

Oikos with Amazing Grass mixed in and a protein muffin on top.

Last night was pizzzzzzza night!!!

026

I made April’s Personal Pie Pizza and it did NOT disappoint! Can’t wait to make it again!

In workout news, I pre-ordered Jillian’s new DVD!

You can pre-order on Amazon HERE.

I’ve already bought a Kettlebell, so I’m good to go!

Looks like so much fun! (am I crazy?)

I am now anxiously awaiting the September 7th release date.

Will you be trying out her new DVD?

Yesterday I dug into my workout DVD collection and did Jillian’s 30 Day Shred, Level 1. It kicked my booty. In a very good way. 😉 Then this morning I hit up the gym for some ellipticalling while watching E News. Good times, good times.

Now I’ve got plans to enjoy every single minute left in the weekend. Who’s with me?!

Quote from church today:

"Be full of gratitude. Take all that happens as My Planning. I have prepared all in My Love for you."

xoxo kristi

12 Responses to “Rest”

  1. april August 29, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    Your pizza came out great!! It looks better than mine! Very impressed. haha!

    And I love that casein! Although once I got towards the end of it the sweetness started grossing me out.. I think I just got tired of it! You gotta make protein cookie dough with it..comes out so fluffy!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 29, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      I forgot about protein cookie dough!!! I will be trying it out tonight…so pumped now, haha!

  2. highonhealthy August 29, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    I’ve ordered the new Jillian dvd too!! I can’t wait, Jillian’s workouts are awesome. 😀

    It’s weird but I’m the same way with apples. I mean, I love apples no matter how I eat them but there’s just something BETTER about eating them cut up.

  3. janetha August 29, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    i love kettlebells. i wish they werent so pricey! your eats lately look great, i LOVE protein ice cream!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 29, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

      yea, they are pricey…but I couldn’t resist!

  4. CourtandWhit August 29, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    LOL, Court and I did Jillian and Insanity all week! And heck yes, we are going to do her new DVD, we already pre-ordered it as well. The first week is tough, huh! Especially still trying to work. Today there was no motivation for work at all. lol. Have a great Sunday and week #2 starts tomorrow.

  5. lindsay August 30, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    wow, those are some amazing eats. I thought I was the only one that puts amazing grass in my yogurt. Glad you have that same obession, haha.
    Favorite thing on the blog, the church quote. Spoke right to the heart.
    Thanks!

  6. Brianna August 30, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    eats looks so delish.!!! Yum.

    What kettlebell lbs did you buy?

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine August 30, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    My BF swears by his kettlebells, so I’m excited to hear what you think of the DVD! Glad you’re enjoying school…I’m sad summer is over, but the new school year is always so exciting 🙂

  8. Sweet and Fit August 30, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    I heard kettleball workouts are amazing! you are definitely not crazy for giving them a try

  9. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) August 30, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Those eggplant fries look awesome, and the sauce sounds delish!

    The vanilla shake you make sounds really good! Question – I’ve tried making smoothies with ice cubes in the Magic Bullet, but it doesn’t seem to crush the ice that well! And I’ve tried it using half-size ice cubes! How do you get the Magic Bullet to crush the ice cubes so well?

    I like to eat smoked salmon on bagels – spread a little bit of cream cheese on the bagel, then put layer a bit of smoked salmon on top. Smoked salmon also tastes really good with roasted potatoes!

    That personal pizza pie looks really good! I need to make one!

  10. Katie August 31, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    oh yay! glad you love the casien powder! I got the chocolate and love it! will have to get vanilla next!!

    Hope you have a great week beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

