Shred it up and giveaway winner!

18 Sep

Happy Saturday Afternoon!

Well, here we are, another week down! The days are flying by and that is fine by me. The weekends could slow down a bit but otherwise I can’t complain. 😉

One thing I look forward to on weekends is time to blog!!! You all are great friends and I really appreciate each one of you!

On the food front, I’ve got a new breakfast love…

004

Steel cut oats!

I am in love with their amazing chew factor and have been having a bowl EVERY day lately. I was always scared off by them because of the long cooking time but I found a way around that and it’s super easy! Every Sunday I make a big batch of them in the crockpot and store them in tupperware containers in the fridge for the week! Follow this lovely lady’s directions on how to make steel cut oats in the crockpot.

Back to the oat bowl above, I combined 1 scoop Sun Warrior vanilla brown rice protein powder, cinnamon and vanilla. Then topped it with ground flaxseed and blueberries. It is blueberry pie for breakfast!

Steel cut oats also make a great snack, paired with greek yogurt and shredded coconut:

002

Makes for a happy tummy. 😀

Oh wait, I actually have TWO new breakfast loves now…

019

French press coffee!

I am the only coffee drinker at my house so we have never owned a coffee maker. I decided to buy some of the Folgers instant coffee a few months ago and since then, coffee has had me wrapped around it’s yummy finger. Last week we finally took our relationship to the next level when I bought this french press on Amazon. At 11 bucks it was a steal! Works perfectly, super easy to clean, and is the perfect size as well.

I have been in need of some portable snacks for school/work so I whipped up a batch of protein bars, recipe found HERE.

020

For the protein, I used Muscle Gauge Nutrition cake batter and for the sweetener I used sugar free Caramel syrup. Amazing combo!

P.S. if anybody else freaked out about bodybuilding.com discontinuing MGN protein powder…not to fear: Naomi pointed me to this new-to-me site that sells them at a great price! I loooooove MGN! However I did notice that the pure whey isolate now contains splenda, when it was previously sweetened with stevia. :/ I’m not really a big fan of that as I try to minimize my use of artificial sweeteners. Interestingly enough, the whey blend protein is still sweetened with just stevia. Weird!

What is your favorite naturally-sweetened protein powder?

I made pizzzzzzzzzza!

018

I made a homemade crust that was based off of Jenna’s pizza dough recipe. Instead of whole wheat flour, I used a combo of oatbran, wheat bran, and ground flaxseed. It came out super grainy, chewy, and delicious. I topped my pizza with tomato sauce, nutritional yeast, black beans, oregano, basil, and a sautéed veggie combo of portabella mushrooms, red bell pepper, and onion. It was phenomenal. The best part is, I froze half of the dough so I get to have it all over again SOON!

I found smoked salmon at Sam’s Club one day and made an awesome lunch with it:

016

Smoked salmon and an egg white puff wrapped in a Joseph’s whole wheat flax wrap. Along with some kale, massaged with avocado, lemon juice, salt, and pepper. And a juicy apple on the side.

017

This was gooooooood. I love anything that has to do with salmon so I knew it would be a winner.

Been having this for dessert a lot:

012

Casein protein vanilla ice-cream topped with almond butter = best way to end dinner. 😉 I use Optimum Nutrition’s Casein protein powder and just recently ordered the chocolate peanut butter flavor…SO PUMPED to try it!

Workouts have revolved around my new DVD:

014

Jillian Michaels new Shred it with Kettlebells. I love it!!! The DVD includes two workouts: Level One and Level Two. I have only done level one but so far it has been great! Definitely got my heart rate up and made me feel like jello when I was done. Just the way I like it. I am so glad I bought a kettlebell and this DVD.  It has been a great way to change things up with my strength training. Lately I have felt like I’ve been in a rut with my workouts. It is so important to change things up so that 1. You don’t get bored and 2. You keep you body guessing and constantly adapting to new things. Our bodies LIKE to be challenged…and we’ve got to give them what they want!

What have you done to change things up with your workouts recently?

*****

So who won that dang Zevia giveaway already?!? I’m going to go ahead and post the winner today since I don’t know if I’ll make it back tomorrow to post.

With the help of the Random Number Generator, I’d like to announce that comment #19, Boe, from Boe’s Veggie Adventures is the chosen one!!!

Please send your shipping info to me so you can get your Zevia deliciousness! 😀 (sweetcheeks131@gmail.com)

*****

I’m off to spend some time with my family and savor every valuable minute of the weekend! Hope everybody enjoys theirs as well!

xoxo kristi

7 Responses to “Shred it up and giveaway winner!”

  1. CourtandWhit September 18, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    That workout does rock! Court and I have been doing it a lot lately! It is so crazy to me that you are the only coffee drinker in your house, because we ALL are in our house. lol 🙂 You should post your casien protein vanilla ice-cream recipe.
    Have a lovely weekend!

    • Sweet Cheeks September 18, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      my protein vanilla ice cream is just a scoop of protein powder, 1 cup almond milk, and a dash of xanthan and guar gum!

  2. Meg September 18, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    Yay Boe! 😀 Oh my gosh Kristi, your steel cut oats look like baked beans in that one picture haha 😛 love it! Steel cut oats are amazing, I agree. I think they keep me fuller for longer as well. Oh and protein ice cream + almond butta = perfection in a bowl 😉

    SO glad you had time to blog, I miss you girl!! 🙂
    M eg

    • Sweet Cheeks September 19, 2010 at 12:13 am #

      I just went and looked back at the oat pic…it totally does look like baked beans. hahaha. Tasted delish though! I miss you TONS Meg! xoxo

  3. VeggieGirl September 20, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    To change up workouts = not up to me. It’s all up to my dance partner since we’re preparing for a competition next month. We dance 2 hours a day, 4 days a week.

  4. kbwood September 21, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    hey love!! you will HAVE to let me know how that PB choc flava is!! i have the cookies and cream.. love that! chocolate is my FAV tho!! so glad to see a post from you!!!

  5. rebeccieisberry October 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    Hi,
    Will follow you 🙂 Keep on posting.
    xox

Leave a Reply

