Say it with me: “Ommm”

9 Oct

Happpppy Weekend! Hope you all are having beautiful days!

First off, have guys heard about Kirstie Alley’s recent weight loss? She has a new weight loss system called Organic Liason. Go Kirstie!!! Hopefully she can keep it up!

I am always stoked about the weekend, but this one I was especially looking forward to. I had a special appointment that I could not stop thinking about all week! There I would be, sitting in class, appearing on the outside to be completely focused on Mr. Miller’s Chemistry lesson or my research paper that is due next week in English, while really I was dreaming of this:

 

Massage Massage Massage!

Massages have got to be one of my favorite things in the world. I am the type of person that is constantly going in 100 different directions all at the same time. To be able to have an hour of complete relaxation and silence (with the exception of the ultra-calming music) is pure bliss for me. I walked out a new woman!

Another great stress reliever? My October Goal of doing 5 minutes of meditation daily. It is only October 9th and I already feel like I such a better grip on the daily stresses in my life. Anybody can make time for just 5 minutes. And really, that small amount of time is all it takes to regain clarity and feel completely refreshed. Sure, a nice half-hour or hour worth of yoga would be great, but I’m a busy girl! Between juggling school, work, and a social life, you’ve got to do what works for YOU. There is no need to take on more than you can handle!

Food wise, I haven’t been the best at taking pictures lately. But I’ve also just been throwing random things/eating the same thing repeatedly so you really haven’t missed too much. But here are a few pictures I have managed to take:

012

Stir-fry containing tofu, zucchini, bell pepper, onion, garlic, and shirataki noodles with a sauce of: soy sauce, garlic powder, rice vinegar, sesame seed oil, and peanut butter.

008

leftover Cheesy Turkey Ziti with pan-grilled zucchini (with coconut oil and garlic salt)

014

Do-it-yourself Chipotle! Black beans, sauteed bell pepper and onion, spinach, sprouts, barley, and homemade gauc (x2).

003 (3)

massaged spinach = my favorite way to to eat greens lately! Just take a hunk of avocado, lemon juice, salt, and pepper and get to rubbin’!

018 

Spaghetti squash topped with marinara sauce and a turkey burger.

002 (2)

quinoa + crumbled black bean burger + tomato paste + Italian seasonings. Loved!

005 (2)

broiled tilapia, roasted cauliflower, and a sweet potato with peanut butter. Easy weeknight meals!

008

Dijon rubbed salmon, zucchini circles, and steamed broc with nooch. (nutritional yeast). I spy a Flintstone’s Multi-Vitamin, too. Please tell me I’m not the only one.

009

The best bread in the world: Great Harvest.

010

This is dakota bread, which is amazingly seedy and delish. The other hunk is pumpkin chocolate chip bread, which is more like a dessert bread…and it rocked my world. Of course my topping of choice was peanut butter!

023

Post workout meal of a protein shake (1 scoop whey protein, 1 cup almond milk, 2 cups spinach, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, ice) and fresh fruit.

019

and a protein rich dessert, courtesy of Alison! Protein cookie with protein ice cream. Definitely a great choice on a tough weight lifting day!

 

We are having my grandpa over for dinner and a movie tonight. I want to spend as much time as possible with him, especially since he is by himself in his house now. I love my Grandpa. 🙂

What are YOU doing tonight?

Have a great evening!

xoxo kristi

12 Responses to “Say it with me: “Ommm””

  1. emily October 10, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    i love the hidden flinestone vitamin! awesome!

    i spent the night with my family to celebrate my dad’s 48th birthday!!!
    it was great!

  2. Meg October 10, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    I want a massage SO bad 😀 haha! I love all of your eats – everything looks so gourmet, as usual 😉 So glad you’re spending time with your Grandfather, family is so beautiful.

    Love you girl!
    Meg

  3. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover October 10, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    Wow – delicious-looking and super creative dishes, as always 🙂
    Gotta love your creations!

  4. kbwood October 10, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    Hey girl!! WOW do you cook for a restaurant or something?? come cook FOR ME! I ❤ all of those meals! especially the black bean/quinoa meal.. how creative! does tomato paste taste just like..tomatoes? haha prob a dumb question. i DID get your email- thank you so much for it! I am going to have to try that casein out! I heard of another brand that supposedly tastes WAY better than the brand we use- ill let u know the deets when i find out more about it! Have so much fun w. your gpa, you are so sweet!! Love you!

    • Sweet Cheeks October 10, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

      Tomato paste is so so good! It is THICK and has a lot of flavor. I use it straight up sometimes as a dip for crackers, chips, or veggies. You have to try it! And definitely let me know about the casein! I have heard there are some other good brands, too but I’ve been too scared to try one!

  5. Lisa October 10, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    All that food looks delicious! Thats great that you allot 5 minutes to mediate. I really need to do that. I think it would be SO beneficial! =) Have a good rest of the weekend girlie!

  6. Kat October 10, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    LOVE your blog!! I am so jealous of your massage too. Maybe Ill get one for xmas 😉

    • Sweet Cheeks October 10, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

      thanks, Kat! Massages make great Christmas gifts…I know I’ll be asking for one!

  7. Jess October 11, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    LOVE all your meals you’ve been enjoying. They look so healthy and freshhhh!

  8. sophia October 11, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    Yay Great Harvest!!! I have yet to find a bread that rivals theirs! Sad that I don’t live next to a Great Harvest anymore…

    I need to start meditating more too. For me, that would be prayer.

  9. lisaou11 October 12, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    I feel the same way about massages. I have been getting them once every 3 weeks or so. Heavenly, and I need them!

  10. CourtandWhit October 12, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Kristi girl you really know your recipes! lol Court and I tried your Quinoa Cottage cheese recipe the other night, and it was AMAZING 🙂 Next up we gotta try Spagetti Squash.

Leave a Reply

