Say Cheese

24 Oct

Morning!

I started today off right with what else but a big bowl of oats! Is there really any better way to start the day?

019

The Combo:

  • 1/2 cup oatbran
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla stevia drops
  • 1/4 cup egg whites (added towards end of cooking)
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese (added towards end of cooking)
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin (added towards end of cooking)
  • topping: a big dollop of peanut butta

Coffee was had on the side. I love drinking coffee on a leisurely weekend mornings. Especially during the fall and winter!

After letting breakfast digest, I threw my workout gear on and headed to the gym for a Fitnessista workout! I decided to participate in her newest “challenge”…

Bridal Bootcamp 2010!

It is a superset strength training workout with cardio blasts snuck in. I have actually never done supersets before so I thought this would be a great way to switch things up, as I’ve been getting stuck in a rut with weights lately. Here is the workout from Gina’s website:

-Warm up 5 min cardio of choice

Superset 1: Bicep curl and tricep dip (15 of each, repeat 3 times)

Superset 2: Step-ups on the right (10), on the left (10), sumo squat and crunch (10), left (10)– repeat 2 times

Cardio blast: 5 min. Start at an easy jog or walking pace with 5-6% incline. Add 1% incline every minute until you have reached 5 min (if you need to take it down before then, do it)

Superset 3: Pushups (12- start in full plank and drop to your knees to finish if you need to), bent-over wide row (15)- repeat 3 times

Superset 4: Stability ball back extension (12-15) and Stability ball crunch (hold a weight at the ends with both hands,keeping your arms close to your ears to make it more challenging- 15)- repeat 3 times

Cardio blast: 5 min sprints. Go for 1 min at an easy pace, 30 seconds at a very challenging pace, alternating for 5 minutes total.

Bent over fly and dumbbell front raise (15 of each)- repeat 3 times

-Cool down (5 minutes), stretch.

Be sure to check out her page because she gives extra tips and details about the bootcamp. Good stuff!

I really enjoyed this workout and I was right; it was the perfect way to change things up in the weights department. I feel so accomplished right now! 🙂

I just refueled with a little post-workout snackage:

022

greek yogurt with hot oats and jam on top. Love this combo!

Yesterday, I finally made an appointment that I’ve been meaning to make since last Summer. Yes, I have a procrastination problem. Anyways, I booked a photography session for my senior pictures! For the past week, I’ve been doing research on different photographers and making phone calls to check pricing and availability. Nothing was really working out exactly how I wanted, until yesterday. I *think* I’ve found the perfect photographer for my needs and she isn’t ridiculously expensive. Yay! Next Saturday is the tentative date so I’ve been working all weekend on putting my outfits together. This is no easy task! You are forever going to have these pictures to look back on and I want them to be perfect! I know, I know, perfection is not everything…that’s something I have a hard time with. But hey, I’ve got a right to want to like my pictures, right?! I’ve got a list of accessories that I need to hunt for today so I will be heading out to the mall a little later. Shoes are definitely on the list. Wish me luck!

Other eats as of late:

002

cabbage bowl containing: sauteed cabbage with shiritaki (sp?) noodles, boiled chicken, avocado, nuts, soy sauce, mustard.

017 

Easy Taco Soup! I just posted the recipe on my recipe page, click here!

008

shredded cabbage mix (bought at Sam’s) topped with Galeo’s miso ginger wasabi dressing (aka my new love) and balsamic vinegar. Seriously try that dressing! They are ALL so good!

001

Tempeh sticks with a veggie sautee. Plus k&m. For the tempeh stick, I just slice ‘em, squirt ‘em with some Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, and put them under the broiler for about 5-10 minutes.

009

I was recently contacted by the people from Vega and they graciously offered to send me some packets of their Shake and Go Smoothie mixes. I have been wanting to try these for forever! They have awesome stats: just 100 cals per serving and have lots of nutrients packed in. I have not tried them yet but am planning on having one today!

012

A cottage cheese, greek yogurt, oats, blueberry mixture for an afternoon snack.

On the baking front, I made some delicious high protein pumpkin bread, courtesy of April!

013

015

016

This. was. so. good.

I followed the recipe exactly, except I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of oat flour. This came out so decadent and luscious. I give the credit to pumpkin. Pumpkin makes baked goods (or anything for that matter) absolutely delicious. I only have one more piece left so I’m sure I will be making another batch asap! This recipe is a keeper!

The plan for today:

  • workout
  • blog
  • complete senior picture outfits
  • apply to scholarships
  • make more pumpkin bread
  • Desperate Housewives
  • Brothers and Sisters
  • BED!

Have a wonderful, blessed Sunday!

xoxo kristi

9 Responses to “Say Cheese”

  1. Kat October 24, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    That bootcamp looks awesome! I HATE running, so anything that DOESNT involve running is ok in my book 😉 I am going to try your taco soup once the weather cools down. Taco/tortilla soups are my favorite!!

  2. Jenny October 24, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    protein envy!!! I’ve been considering buying some of the vega after hearing rave reviews on other bloggies pages — but it’s too much money for broke Jenny 😦 glad to hear you liked it!

    enjoy the rest of your sunday, beautiful 🙂

  3. kbwood October 25, 2010 at 2:34 am #

    whooo for senior pics! haha it feels like so long ago for me!
    let me know how the vega is lovely!!!
    LOVE these eats- amen to the oats and coffee thing. i was in my pjs forever today drinking coffee!!

  4. Ayla October 25, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    I’ve seen peoples senior pics and I’m kind of jealous since my school was small and we never got to do them! We obviously had some pictures taken but they were in our school library and totally lame.

    That pumpkin bread looks amazing!

  5. Jess October 25, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I cannot wait to see your senior pics–if you share them!! I’m sure they’ll turn out gorge.

  6. itisallaboutbalance October 28, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Hey Kristi! I adore this post! Everything looks so good (I boil my chicken too) and I am positive your photos will come out just beautiful! I agree with Jess above, do share! 🙂

    Ok, well have a wonderful night and don’t stress too much! xoxo

  7. Meg October 29, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    Hey chica! Lovin’ the bowls – and that bread looks to-dieeee-for 😉 April is a genius! Then again, so are you, I love your kitchen concoctions!!

    Enjoy your day and I can’t wait to see your beautiful pics 🙂
    Love always,
    Meg

  8. Rebecca October 30, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Hi,

    I can understand you are excited about your photo’s 🙂 Have you found some nice outfits for them? How was the result of the pics? I’m curious!
    Nice post by the way, the pumpkin bread looks awe-some. I’ll let you know how it turned out. Enjoy your weekend girl, any special plans?
    xoxo
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

