I went for the Big Mac

12 Nov

Hi guys! HAPPY FRIIIIIDAY!

I finished my finals on Tuesday, worked Wednesday, and have been chillin’ ever since yesterday. Life’s good. 😀

I’ve got a little breakie from work since Veteran’s Day was yesterday and I decided to take off work today. Add in my non-working Saturday (I usually work every other one) and I’ve got a nice 4 day weekend!

I really needed some down time. I know I say this in probably every post but things have been crazy! I know I should be enjoying my senior year, but I just can’t help really wanting to get it over with and move on to the next chapter in my life. School and work day in and day out is really getting to me. Thoughts??

Anyways, breakfast was enjoyed by candle-light this morning while watching Good Morning America.

028 

Last night I combined: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water, dash of salt. Microwave for 3 minutes.

This morning I microwaved again for 2 minutes and added cinnamon and some almond milk. Toppings included protein glaze, Polaner grape jelly, and 1/2 pumpkin protein cake bar (which I made in this post.)

Afterwards, I headed to Burger King for a Big Mac.

Just kidding. It was Free Coffee Friday!

Every Friday in November, BK will be serving free coffee to promote their new breakfast line. Woohoo! Just make sure none of that food touches my coffee and no one gets hurt. 😉

As I mentioned in my last post, I will be doing a review of a few CSN products. I had some fun yesterday online shopping and searing through all of their cool products. I ended up deciding on these two items:

EatSmart Precision Pro Digital Kitchen Scale in Black / Chrome - ESKS-06

EatSmart Pro Digital Food Scale

Hamilton Beach Turbo-Twister 2 Speed Hand Blender - 59770

Hamilton Beach Turbo Hand Blender. Mainly so I can easily make Katie’s blended grains oatmeal!

I should receive them next week so stay tuned!

After my coffee shenanigans, I was fired up and ready for a workout. I turned to my current favorite strength workout, Fitnessista’s Bridal Bootcamp, workout #1

Warm up 5 min cardio of choice

Superset 1: Bicep curl and tricep dip (15 of each, repeat 3 times)

Superset 2: Step-ups on the right (10), on the left (10), sumo squat and crunch (10), left (10)– repeat 2 times

Cardio blast: 5 min. Start at an easy jog or walking pace with 5-6% incline. Add 1% incline every minute until you have reached 5 min (if you need to take it down before then, do it)

Superset 3: Pushups (12- start in full plank and drop to your knees to finish if you need to), bent-over wide row (15)- repeat 3 times

Superset 4: Stability ball back extension (12-15) and Stability ball crunch (hold a weight at the ends with both hands,keeping your arms close to your ears to make it more challenging- 15)- repeat 3 times

Cardio blast: 5 min sprints. Go for 1 min at an easy pace, 30 seconds at a very challenging pace, alternating for 5 minutes total.

Bent over fly and dumbbell front raise (15 of each)- repeat 3 times

-Cool down (5 minutes), stretch.

It’s a winner!

Tonight I am babysitting for four crazy (but cute) kids and I know I will need some good fuel to take them on. So I decided to pre-make some dinner to take with me. What better and more portable than a good wrap combo?

030

flat-out muligrain wrap, 1/2 cup egg-beaters, 1 babybel cheese, 1 morningstar farm’s veggie burger, spinach.

Layers:

031

Wrap ‘er up:

032

Pair with some veg and a ginormous peanut butter cookie and call it good:

033

FYI: The peanut butter cookie is Meg’s peanut butter protein bar recipe. But it secretly is just a giant decadent cookie. Try it if you don’t believe me.

Now onto a very important question…

What are your favorite healthified Thanksgiving recipes? I’ve got to come up with two dishes to bring for my family’s get-together and I’m in need of some ideas. I know you guys won’t let me down!

That’s all for today…my tummy says it’s time for lunch, so until next time…love you all!

xoxo kristi

14 Responses to “I went for the Big Mac”

  1. kat November 12, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I totally did ginas bootcamp yesterday as well. I altered it a bit, but I loved it! I love doing bootcamp workouts like that

  2. kbwood November 13, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Hey girl!!!
    Ohh NICE breakfast! Whats protein glaze? sounds good! And love the combo you took to babysitting!!! So prepared!! And great workout too! Those bootcamps seem KILLER! have a great weekend sugar!!

    • Sweet Cheeks November 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

      protein glaze was just protein powder mixed with almond milk and drizzled on top! So good yet so simple!

  3. movesnmunchies November 13, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    i JUST got some flatout wraps from the states yesterday since I can’t get them over here 😦 I’m so excited to try them! I got the Multi-Grain flavor.. hope its good!

    • Sweet Cheeks November 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

      the multi-grain ones are my favorite!

  4. Ayla November 14, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    If I could just FIND some of that freaking peanut flour I would be able to make those bars. Unfortunately I’m in Canada and have no idea where to find it.

    • Sweet Cheeks November 14, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

      I get mine online! netrition.com. I have not found it anywhere around here either. I live in a small town that never gets the good stuff, hehe. So online shopping is my friend. 😉

  5. Lisa November 14, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    That wrap looks delciious! I love food scales. That was by far the best investment I ever made. Using measuring cups still doesn’t give you accurate sizing, because you can easily go over. Food scales give you the exact grams, so you can match an exact serving!

  6. rebeccie is berry November 14, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Oh how gooood looks that peanut butter protein bar, does it help to keeps you full? I love protein because of that! Two weeks ago I bough a digital food scale, I’m so happy with it, everything measured perfect 😉 Have a good week. X

    • Sweet Cheeks November 14, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

      Yes, the bars keep me happy and satisfied for a long time. I am in love with them and think I need at least 1 EVERY day, hehe!

  7. devyn November 14, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Yum you’re eats look delish! Could you write a post about your most important tips for toning up like you did for your vacation? It’s just an idea! Love your blog!

    • Sweet Cheeks November 14, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

      I could definitely do a post on that! thanks for the idea, Devyn!

  8. Meg November 16, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Hi love! I’m SO happy you liked the bars 😀 I love taking them to class for me, they actually keep me FULL haha what a concept 😉

    Anywho – all of your foodie stuff looks amazing as usual, and I need to use up a CSN gift code too -hmm what to get, what to get? Ideas? Do you like that blender? I can’t wait for the updates on the goodies 😀

    Love you!

  9. Jess November 17, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    Free coffee? Now that’s something work waking up for. Actually, I don’t drink coffee, just latte’s. That counts, right? 😀

Leave a Reply

