A classic Sunday morning breakfast

21 Nov

Morning!

029

Now that’s a Sunday breakfast if I ever saw one. 🙂

030

I had good motivation to wake up this morning as I have been dying to have a classic french toast and eggs breakfast all week long. I got my french toast inspiration from my lovely friend, April…who has a great, simple recipe for pumpkin french toast!

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • stevia
  • cinnamon
  • baking powder

Dunk bread into mixture and fry ‘em up! They were delish, as were my scrambled egg beaters (about 1 cup). I topped everything with real maple syrup. If you haven’t tried “sweet eggs” then you really should! I wasn’t really planning on it, but I got a little heavy handed with the syrup and it ended up being amazing.

Green tea was had on the side in, yes, my new Christmas mug. I ❤ it. And I may or may not have been listening to Christmas music while eating. Ok, I definitely was. I’m not ashamed…I LOVE CHRISTMAS MUSIC! Glee has a Christmas CD now available and you better believe I plan on buying it asap. 😉

I have been taking photos here and there of some eats, so I thought I would show you all a few creations.

Breakfasts have almost always been oats…I like to pre-make them the night before so I just have to warm them up in the microwave in the morning!

023

This one had 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water. Cooked that, then added cinnamon, Nutribiotic rice protein powder (new-to-me product!), and topped with blended silken tofu and cacao nibs (another new product).

I give the Nutribiotic rice protein two thumbs up. It is awesome mixed into oats!! It makes them thick and creamy. For my “fluff” topping, I just put a serving of silken tofu in the Magic Bullet along with a dash of almond milk, a few drops of stevia, and a dash of cinnamon. Delish!

I DEFINITELY recommend raw cacao nibs!

021

I bought them from Netrition.com along with a few other things:

020

  • Smart and Delicious large whole wheat tortillas (favorite!)
  • peanut flour
  • oat fiber
  • Scivation Whey chocolate protein powder
  • cocoa nibs

I will not buy any more protein powders for a while now! I think I have a slight obsession. I’ve heard good things about this one though and I was all out of whey, so I went for it. I’ll let ya know how it is.

Here is my favorite new snack:

027

Larabar chocolate chip cookie dough. This was SO GOOD! It tasted remarkably like cookie dough. You have to take very small bites, though, and savor them because these babies are tiny! Totally worth it though.

I have really been into bars lately. Although that Larabar rocked, I’ve also been having fun making my own.

I made more of Meg’s peanut butter protein bars, except I used half cashew butter half peanut butter this time. I also made them into giant cookies, instead of bar shapes. Success!

031

I somehow thought I also needed to make Anne P’s no-bake peanut butter granola bars. Ingredients:

004

Mix, mix, mix:

005

Wrap up and go!

008

Eggplant Marinara:

002

003

Dang this was good! I was ohhh-ing and ahhh-ing throughout this whole meal! It was super easy, too. Here is my recipe. which I also put on my recipe page.

I made enchiladas for the first time!!!

012

013

Ummm, yeah. They were sorta amazing. They were veggie friendly, too. 😀 My inspiration came from Janetha’s Pumpkin Enchiladas. Definitely a winner!

Quick after-work meal:

026

A huge sweet potato, popped in the microwave for 7 minutes and topped with nutritional yeast, pepper, cinnamon, and peanut butter. I love this combo! Kale chips rounded out the meal.

here is another quick and easy one:

022

boiled chicken, sautéed cabbage, avocado, mustard. So simple. So good.

I tried a new dessert:

028

This one was based off Smoothie Girl’s latest concoction: Microwave protein fudge muffin! Except I made this one without cocoa powder, so it was like pumpkin pie in a bowl. I topped it with more blended silken tofu and cocoa nibs. Post-picture, I decided it needed some nut butter (what doesn’t?) so out came the peanut butter jar. Perfection.

Okay guys, I’m off to enjoy my Sunday before it’s back to the grind on Monday. Thank goodness for Thanksgiving Break! I am so pumped!

What are you doing for Thanksgiving?

xoxo kristi

19 Responses to “A classic Sunday morning breakfast”

  1. Anne P November 21, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Yum! Hope you enjoy the granola bars 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks November 21, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      thanks for the recipe, Anne. They are delicious!

  2. Katie November 21, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    YUM Yum Yum to all the stuff you have been eating!

    Are you sure you are not my twin?! I had that pumpkin pie thing today too, I made it without the cocoa also! It was sooooooooooo good!!

    I am obsessed with protein powders too, lol! I always say Im not going to buy anymore but then they have a new flavor!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you this week! Love u girl!!!

    • Sweet Cheeks November 21, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      haha I think we must be twins! Happy Thanksgiving to you too girl!

  3. Katie November 21, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    Oh my goodness! All of these meals look sooo good. I really want to make those enchiladas. Oh my. Over Christmas break, for sure! 🙂

  4. Krystina (Basil & Wine) November 21, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    I love your Christmas mug! I can’t wait for the holidays.

  5. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) November 22, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    It’s too funny…I just went to Anne’s site and looked at her bars…I also have a 5 min PB granola bar recipe and i am relinking it in a prewritten post for tomorrow LOL
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/01/vegan-peanut-butter-choc-chip-protein.html

    And Meg’s bars/cookies..your little cookies look awesome! I have a recipe for that too..I just use pb, maple or agave, protein powder…and choco chips!!! 🙂 Can’t forget the choc!

    All your eats look awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! I want to come over and help you w/ the leftovers 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks November 23, 2010 at 3:26 am #

      I have made your granola bars too and they are amazing!!!

  6. april November 22, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    Man that steaming french toast looks good! Not gonna lie, I’ve been eating it for lunch for the past 4 days!

    • Sweet Cheeks November 23, 2010 at 3:26 am #

      Hey, nothing wrong with that at all! 😉

  7. jenna November 23, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    wow pumpkin pancakes! yummayyy

  8. Meg November 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Holy delicious post! I may or may not be drooling. Specifically at those enchiladas…mmm I may or may not have to make those ASAP 😉

    Glad you like the protein bars 😀 and they’re cute as cookies! You’re a culinary genius, prettymuch!

    Love you!

  9. CourtandWhit November 24, 2010 at 4:59 am #

    Another Protien Powder? lol I swear you must have a whole shelf! I really need to get some Peanut Flour ASAP, so that I can make those bars. They sound amazing! 🙂 -Whit

  10. Ayla November 25, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    I wish we could reach through computer screens because I would love to steal your food. Looks so good!!

    Those Larabar flavors need to get more widespread asap! I’m getting impatient waiting to see them in stores near me.

    Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

  11. SF November 27, 2010 at 4:06 am #

    Yummm! That looks like a delicious breakfast.

    How are your workouts going? Seeing some hard earned muscle? lol.

  12. Salah November 28, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    all of that food looks so amazing!!!! I love anything with eggplant 🙂

Leave a Reply

