Get in the spirit

28 Nov

Good morning! Is it really Sunday already?! This holiday break went by in the blink of an eye if you ask me. But now I have Christmas Break to look forward to! I love the holidays. 🙂

How did I spend Thanksgiving day? Well, I’d like to say that I spend it surrounded by all my loved ones. Unfortunately, a sneaky case of strep throat decided to knock on my door the day before…therefore, Thanksgiving day was spent in bed, with cough drops and ice pops. Thankfully, Momma Sweet Cheeks brightened my spirits by bringing me home a plate filled with Thanksgiving goodness. Yes, I ate turkey and pie…in bed. Normal, right? No, it wasn’t the Thanksgiving day I imagined and was looking forward to, but regardless of the situation, I reminded how much I DO have to be grateful for. Things could be far worse.

The plus side of spending all day in bed? Plenty of time to do some online Christmas shopping! I snagged a few good deals, but those items will have to be kept on the down-low. 😉 Cyber Monday is tomorrow! I’m hoping for great steals!!

Yesterday, we started putting up Christmas decorations! This, along with my Pandora Radio set to a Christmas music station, definitely put me in the holiday spirit. All that is left is the tree! That will be today’s task. Every year, we go as a family and cut one down. I love the smell of a fresh Christmas tree!

Do you have a real tree or a fake tree?

One thing I was looking forward to about Thanksgiving Break was actually having time to exercise more! Well, out the door that went when strep throat came a’knocking. But you’ve got to take care of your body and mine needed rest! I can’t say it enough; listen to your body!

I have, of course, still been eating lots of good food. That is a given though. 🙂

Oats to start every day off on the right food:

003

Egg white oatbran topped with protein cream (sun warrior protein powder mixed with almond milk) and Polaner jam.

SIAB! (smoothie in a bowl)

004

1 cup almond milk, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1 scoop Scivation whey chocolate protein powder, 1 scoop chocolate Amazing Grass, ice. Topped with Kashi Go Lean.

A giant peanut butter cookie dough ball:

010

All it is: 1/4 cup peanut flour mixed with almond millk and a dash of stevia, plus chocolate chips. Mmmm!

I made mini ones, too:

011

And put it on top of some Pumpkin Pie Mousse:

012

The pumpkin pie mousse was a total hit!! Go make some!

Here was yesterday’s lunch:

014

I was feeling a tad bit better and wanted to COOK! I boiled some whole wheat penne pasta and combined it with marinara sauce with spinach leaves and meatless meatballs. So good!!!

Part of last night’s dinner was stuffed bell peppers:

015

I love these so much! and they are so easy. I think I’ll post the recipe in a separate post soon.

I tried some savory oats:

005

It didn’t rock my world. I need to work on my recipe. Have you perfected savory oats?

Snack of choice:

026

So light. So airy. SO delicious. 😀

It’s time to get THE TREE!!! I can’t wait to decorate it!

Before I go, here is a quote that I have been loving:

“If it scares you, you should probably do it.”

I feel like I have gotten in such a rut of “playing it safe.” I’ve got my own little schedule of school, work, blah blah blah. I don’t feel like I’m living life to the fullest. This quote is something I’m trying to live by. I want to take risks, try new things, meet new people. It’s not easy to break out of habit, but I’m going for it.

Hope you all have a fabulous Sunday!

kristi

8 Responses to “Get in the spirit”

  1. kbwood November 28, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    Hey love! I am SO sorry you were sick at thanksgiving! BOO that is such a bummer. i always get soo excited when you post because i love your blog! I love what you said about your last part- i feel like we all get like that from time to time, but the important thing is that we realize it and break OUT of it! youre awesome ❤

  2. Lisa @ I'm an Okie November 29, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    I am so sorry you were sick over Thanksgiving! And strep–even worse because I’m sure swallowing wasn’t the funnest thing in the world.

    Glad you are feeling better—did you find any good Cyber deals?

    I never had a real tree growing up–Apparently I was allergic, but I’d love to try a real one now!

  3. Jess November 29, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    I am SO in the Christmas spirit–have a GREAT week and happy holidays 🙂

  4. Rebecca November 29, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    That pasta looks delicious girl! I’m sooo lookin forward to xmas tooo *__* can’t wait!

  5. Meg December 2, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    I hope you’re feeling 110% better!! I’m so sorry you got sick! I’m looking so forward to the holidays 😀 yay! Those dough balls are TOO CUTE, I’m making them ASAP 😉

  6. Deb (SmoothieGirlEatsToo) December 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    First time commenting here! 🙂

    Made those balls- what a genius idea! I stuck them in the micro for 30 sec and the chips got all melty! 🙂 Thanks for that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When life gives you lemons… | Sweet Cheeks - December 24, 2010

    […] is it with me being sick on holidays?! If you remember, I was sick as a dog on Thanksgiving and ate my turkey and stuffing in bed, haha. I’m not really sure what is going on with me but […]

  2. Oatmeal how-to | Sweet Cheeks - January 30, 2011

    […] Berry Frosting Oats […]

Leave a Reply

