Winter Goals

19 Dec

Hi all!

Well, I think that one sentence can sum up things pretty darn well: Life has been BUSY! Gosh I miss posting more often. I love you all so, so, SO much and am so thankful that you choose to read my blog. I think of each one of you as a great friend. I have been reading posts, don’t worry, I could never stay away for more than a day even when I don’t post. Thank goodness for Google Reader on my phone and my sneaky phone skills while at school and work! Clearly, you can see where my priorities are at.

I thought I would use this post as a place to write and think about some goals. This time of year, it is so easy to get unmotivated and just want to hide under the covers and hibernate all winter long. Now, don’t get me wrong, a bit of hibernating may do you some good…we all need our rest and rejuvenation! But I feel like my laziness has gotten a bit excessive lately. I can tell because I just don’t feel like my “best.” So it’s time to swing things in the right direction!

 

~Goals for Winter 2010~

  • Try a new form of exercise. Breaking out of my usual routine will spice things up and prevent boredom, spiking my motivation level.
  • Make a new meal every Sunday. Just like exercise, food needs to be changed up every now and then, too! I chose Sunday because I can make the meal big enough to have leftovers throughout the following week, which means less work preparing meals later on.
  • Devote more time to my blog. This blog is such a positive place for me. I love talking about food, fitness, and everyday shenanigans with you all. I feel so good when I get out all that I’m feeling and put it into words on here.  And lets face it, most people in “real life” just don’t understand our obsessions with food. 😉 I need you guys!!
  • Meditate. I go off and on with meditation, but one thing I know for sure is that I feel so much more relaxed, calm, and at peace when I do make the time for it. It’s as simple as sitting quietly for 5 minutes and just focusing on my breathing.
  • Slooooow Down. Out of all the goals, this one will likely be the hardest for me. Sometimes I get so caught up in doing a million things and trying to go a million miles a minute. This leads to one stressed out mama. I want to take my time with things and just be able to enjoy the moment that I’m in instead of rushing to check it off my never-ending list and moving right on to the next one.

And what would this post be without some FOOD?! Shame on me for not taking more pics but here is what I’ve got to show:

007

I got a new bowl! I will have you show you all a picture of it without food next time. I ❤ it! Oat combo: the night before, microwave 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water. In the A.M. microwave it again to warm it up, then add 1/2 cup pumpkin, cinnamon, mesquite, and vanilla stevia drops. Toppings were: Kroger creamy pb (the best pb ever, fyi!), Oikos greek yogurt, aka whipped cream, Polaner jam, and a FUDGIE! This genius idea came from this awesome girl, but I tried Katie’s variation of it this time: 2 tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder, 1 tbsp peanut flour, a dash of stevia, a dash of maple syrup, and almond milk to thin it out. Wrap it up in plastic wrap and stick in fridge!

010 

Oatbran made with 1/2 cup egg whites the night before, then topped with chocolate Scivation Whey protein glaze. (just mixed some with almond milk and poured on top!) Don’t forget your pb!014 (3)

Protein cakes with nut butter. I eat at least 1 of these every day!

I got the best package EVER in the mail:

008

Thank you, thank you, thank you, Vitalicious for making my life complete. The brownies are my favorite!

Snack plate:

009

spinach, laughing cow swiss, hummus sammie, apple, triscuits dipped in cottage cheese (an awesome combo!!!).

Peanut Noodles!!

003

The noodles are a mixtures of mung bean pasta and black bean pasta, but you could use any other kind, too. I made a sauce using soy sauce, peanut butter, rice vinegar, sesame oil, and a dab of honey. Yummo!

Janetha’s Bomb Sh!t Dish:

008

It was delicious, of course. Most definitely the bomb sh!t.

starter salad:

005

spinach, hummus, nooch, grape tomaters, and a chicken sausage.

And per my Winter Goals challenge, I have a great NEW meal already picked out to make…

009

Chicken Cacciatore. Thanks, Prevention magazine! But how in the heck do you pronounce that?!?!?

 

What are your goals for the winter?

 

xoxo kristi

15 Responses to “Winter Goals”

  1. Meri December 19, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    Of all of those goals, slowing down is for sure the hardest one for me. I always tell myself, “as soon as_____ is over (summer, the holiday season, winter, fill in anything…) I’ll have time to relax” but I prioritize errands, crafts, exercise, outings, and everything else before relax time and sleep.
    Good luck with your list!

  2. Katie December 19, 2010 at 3:01 am #

    Hi Kristi,

    I’ve missed your posts! It’s nice to see that you are back. I think your winter goals sound very reasonable and attainable. Good luck! I have some goals of my own that are along the same lines. I think I shall do a goal post soon. It sounds productive. 😉

    Your meals look great! I wish I could find some of those mung bean noodles. I am now gluten-free, so those would be a perfect pasta substitute. Yummy looking oats, too. 🙂

  3. kbwood December 19, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    YAY FOR POSTING!
    I have so missed your posts- obviously!!!! Glad you are back and LOVE YOUR GOALS! those are all very smart goals and I KNOW you will def be able to achieve them!
    LOVE those eats girlfrand!!! You know I love that fudgie to put on the oats! IS that protein powder reallyyy good? I may try it ! I have MGN right now and LOVE it! Its my new fav! glad you are doing well tho love! love you!

    • Sweet Cheeks December 19, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      I love MGN and Scivation! The scivation chocolate tastes like hot chocolate, no kidding! It is really good in baked goods and mixed into oats. I decided to try it after I ran out of MG but now I really miss it. I may have to switch back and worth between the two of them!

  4. lindsay December 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    I love these goals. Especially the sunday dinner idea. Its a great way to expand our horizons, right? And so far, all your meals look amazing. I love the new bowls too! Stay calm, enjoy the last little bit of the holidays friend!
    LC

    • Sweet Cheeks December 19, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      Ohhh, thanks for the heads up!! That would actually work really well for me because i’m not a very good pill swallower. I know, I’m 5 years old. 😉 I will be checking it out for sure!

  5. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) December 19, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Love your goals! Meditating is great…and so is devoting more time to your blog, if you love it. Do what brings you JOY!

    Love that dark choc protein cake…mmm, good stuff!

    Chicken “Catch ‘a Tori” would be how you’d pronounce it 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks December 19, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

      blogging definitely makes me happy! 🙂 Thanks for the help on the pronunciation!

  6. Katie December 19, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    yay!! I LOVE your goals love! I am so glad you posted! I check your blog everyday to see if there is a new post, I was so happy to see there was, I thought so after I saw your comment on mine! I hope you make the oat overnight smash! Its the bomb!!! Mix some Protein Powder with the walden farms chocolate dip too, its sooooo good for frosting! I mixed it with Peanutbutter protien powder and it was so good!

    Vitatops rock! U are so lucky!! Did you know they have a new pumpkin spice flavor?! Im dying to find it!

    Love ya and yay for the holidays! xoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks December 19, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

      thanks love, you are too sweet. ❤ I am pumped about the new vita flavor…how could it NOT be a winner?!? 😀

  7. Kelly Olexa December 19, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Great post…and you’ll love Chicken Cacciatorie….(did I spell that correctly?) it is YUMMY. I’m going to check out some of these other recipes of yours now! Also- I can SO relate to your “slow down” goal- one of mine too. For sure. 😉

  8. Jess December 20, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Love the post–I’ve been so busy, too. Blogging, sadly, got put on the back burner. Until now!!

    AWESOME goals. You’ll SO accomplish them.

  9. CourtandWhit December 20, 2010 at 4:11 am #

    I feel like were going through all the same stuff right now. School and work is so hectic, with little time to post, the winter laziness, haha. But at least it is Winter Break now right!? 🙂 Some goals are to get back onto a steady workout schedule, also blog more, hangout with some friends who I haven’t really seen that much lately, be an awesome shift leader(got promoted at work), and work on becoming a beachbody coach now that I am 18.
    -Whit

    • Sweet Cheeks December 22, 2010 at 2:26 am #

      yes thank goodness for Break!! I am sooooo glad! Keep me updated on your beachbody coach progress…I have thought about doing that too. I’m sure you’ll do great!

  10. janetha @ meals and moves December 20, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    you aren’t kidding, that vitatop package is the best ever! and yes for goal setting, i am all about it.

Leave a Reply

