Hand over the fats

22 Dec

I’m finally on Winter Break!!!!!!!! Feels so good to say that. 😀

It pretty much goes without saying that I am in need of a break. I still have work, but at least I’ll have my mornings free. I see some awesome workouts and delicious baking in my near future.

Want to know what I’ve been loving lately?

Healthy fats!

Now, I’ve always enjoyed my good share of fats, but lately they have been getting extra attention. During the cold winter months, it is a good idea to take in ample doses of healthy fats because it will help keep your skin moisturized and plump. No fat = dry flakey skin. Thanks, but I think I’ll pass.

Last weekend involved a trip to Sam’s Club in which I was able to stock up on one of my favorite fat sources…

002

Wild Salmon. Get in my belly.

And it did, in fact, get in my belly for dinner tonight:

014

Asparagus is the perfect accompaniment to salmon. It just works…agreed? FYI: this is from the can. I tried cooking fresh asparagus in the microwave but it came out dry and tough. Anybody have any cooking tips on this one??? Anyways, this was delicious nonetheless.

How about a fat pyramid?

005

Check out that jumbo container of Naturally More that I got at Sam’s. And yet it will still only last me a week…hmmph. I personally think nut butter jars should come by the gallon.

here are my other favorite fat sources:

  • coconut butter
  • tahini (hummus!)
  • chia seeds
  • avocado
  • walnuts
  • dark chocolate

And here are my favorite benefits of fats:

  • Memory retention. 60% of the brain is made up of fats, so they are crucial for good brain health!
  • Improved mood. Many healthy fats proved Omega3’s. Research has shown that this helps ease mood swings, anxiety, and depression.
  • Better nutrient absorption. Fats slow down the digestion of food so our bodies have time to absorb all the good stuff. Some vitamins are fat-soluble so they can ONLY be absorbed if you have them with fat. (true for vitamins A, D, E, and K).
  • Strengthen your immune system. Fats ease inflammation and help your metabolism work properly. This is especially useful with all the cold viruses going around this time of year.

Three cheers for healthy fats! Now lets all enjoy a long dip in the peanut butter jar, eh?

P.S. here is my new bowl that I wanted to show:

003

004

It is so pretty and homey. I love it!

Off to catch some Zzzzz’s. I get to sleep in!! Hope you all have wonderful days!

kristi

9 Responses to “Hand over the fats”

  1. Katie December 22, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    I love healthy fats too! Salmon is the bomb!!

    I added chia seeds to my oat smash today and so happy you tried an oat smash!! Yay! Glad u loved it too!! Love u! Sleep in for sure! The best to do that! Xoxoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks December 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      I made another one this morning and used chia seeds. Love how it gets it so THICK!

  2. Jess December 22, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    Love that bowl!! And love those FATS!!

    ❤ jess

  3. Katie December 22, 2010 at 4:23 am #

    I hope you enjoy your break! I know I am enjoying mine. 🙂 I am excited to buy some Naturally More. I made myself wait until most of nut butters were out. Well, I am having oats in a jar tomorrow for breakfast, and I have another 2 jars that will soon be serving up oats. 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks December 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      OIAJ is the best way to get those nut butter jars used up! 😉

  4. Katherine: Unemployed December 22, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    Asparagus and fish is a great plan! my favorite fat is hummus!

  5. paoang December 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Hey, just found your blog!

    Congrats on winter break; I think what I like the most is having free mornings ♥ I love those fats btw; salmon and nut butters are definitely on my top 5! As for the asparagus, I always cook them in the microwave dressed in EVOO for 2 minutes. I guess it depends on the amount your cooking and in the microwave oven you’re using though!

    I’ll be back!!
    Paola

    • Sweet Cheeks December 23, 2010 at 3:52 am #

      so glad you found my blog! thanks for commenting! 😀 I will try the EVOO next time i cook asparagus. good idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pizza + Elf party | Sweet Cheeks - December 23, 2010

    […] Sweet Cheeks Just another WordPress.com weblog Skip to content HomeAboutBlog RollContactRecipes ← Hand over the fats […]

Leave a Reply

