Resolution Time

7 Jan

First of all…

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!!

I’ve been waiting to say that all week long and now I feel much better. 😀 I have a confession: I’m supposed to be at school right now…but I’m not.(obviously) My motivation has not been very high for anything school or work related lately. At least it’s Friday though, and nothing important ever happens on Fridays…plus, anything you teach me will definitely not be remembered over the weekend. I’m just stating the facts. The thought of sleeping in and having a morning all to myself was just too good to pass up. I’m enjoying it! I do however have to go to work this afternoon. bahhhh.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, it’s time to talk resolutions. Let’s get right to it:

1.) Stop planning. There is nothing for me to do. God already has everything planned out for me. When I try to get in the way of HIS plans with my own plans, nothing ever gets accomplished. Time and time again I will plan things out to a T and then I get upset when things don’t go accordingly. It is simple really. I don’t know what is best, but HE does…and I am going to do my best to follow His plan for me.

2.) Take it one day at a time. Over the past few months, I have felt progressively overwhelmed and anxious. To be completely honest, I am burnt out. I want school to be over with. I want to quit my job at the bank. (which I will be when school ends) I already have a countdown to when this all will happen. I look at that number of days I have left, and it just seems so far away. So out of reach right now. I want to stop focusing on that long stretch and instead just focus on one single day.

3.) Make time for friends. With my busy schedule, it has been very hard for me to see my friends. I have progressively drifted farther and farther away from all the people I care about mainly because I’m so exhausted. I can’t get back the days I decided not to spend with them, but I CAN make time for them today.

4.) Exercise for fun. I never want working out to be a chore, or something that I think I *have* to do. I want to do it because I like it and it makes me feel good. If I feel like going for a run, I’ll go for a run. If I feel like walking, I’ll walk, and so on.

5.) Don’t succumb to a “college life” diet. Cooking and baking is always a lot of fun to me. I feel happy when I’m doing it. I don’t want to live off of packaged donuts and ramen noodles. I want to make 2011 a delicious and healthy year, even when I move into my college dorm room in August.

And there you have it. Let’s make this year a huge success!!!! I love you all and I’m so thankful for each and every one of you who read and support my blog. You are the most supportive bunch of friends I could ask for and I’m excited to dive into another year and share all the good (and bad) stuff with you guys. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

How are your New Years Resolutions going?

kristi

 

21 Responses to “Resolution Time”

  1. kat January 7, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    Love the resolutions! I especially like the first one 🙂 you are so right that God already has everything planned!

  2. VeggieGirl January 7, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    So far so good with my resolutions 🙂 Good luck with yours!

  3. Katie January 7, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Nice resolutions. 🙂 I didn’t succumb to the college life diet – it’s possible to stay healthy in college! I know that you will be great at it.

    And, just relax. The school year will be over before you know it. Trust me, after January my senior year FLEW by. Spend the little time you have doing the things you enjoy and spending time with people who you love. I was just like you a year ago, counting down until I was done working at the library and going to high school. And, like you, I took a few days off every now and then. Sometimes I had to tell a little white lie and say I wasn’t feeling well, but it was worth it. I graduated. 3rd in my class. All A’s. Good, strong-willed girl. Nothing changed despite a few missed days of school. 😉

  4. paoang January 7, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Omg, I absolutely ADORE your resolutions! I can relate to you in sooo many ways it’s not even funny! Ditto to you on the “college diet” one too!

    And I don’t wanna be a bad influence or anything, but I can’t resist. Good job on missing out on school today if you were feeling so low! XD I was an expert when it came to pushing myself to the extremes- balance is KEY ♥

    xoxo

  5. CourtandWhit January 7, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    HAHA, I swear we are triplets lately. lol Court and I also took a ditch day from school today. Our 8 hour shift at work turned into an 11 hour, because there was no one to close but us. We came home yesterday beyond exhausted, worked on a little homework, and then went to bed super early. And we are working crazy hours this weekend, so last night we asked our parents if we could take the day off today. Lately school has just felt like a prison everytime I go. I think I just feel so grown up and grown out of high school, where you are just treated like a little kid.
    After hanging out with all the people in their early 20’s at work, and seeing how much freedom that they have everyday, just makes me that much more excited to begin that next chapter of my life. You Know… Anywho, your resolutions sound awesome, very abtainable. Relax, and enjoy your weekend. Just think, like 4 more months of HS, THATS IT! 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks January 8, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      that is too funny! We are def. triplets. Those are some crazy hours…i’m sure you guys are exhausted. I’ve already got a countdown going for May 19!!

  6. snackgirlgoeshealthy January 7, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    I love number 1! I’m with you on all of them though! Besides the college one! But only 1.5 years! “WHAT what!”

  7. julie January 8, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    great resolutions girl 🙂 you can totally stick to them! have an awesome weekend!

  8. kbwood January 8, 2011 at 3:38 am #

    HEY MY BEAUTIFUL GIRL!
    gosh, i love you. you have such a great head on your shoulders! you are so awesome! GREAT RESOLUTIONS!!! amen to God already knowing ALL your next steps! love you sugar! 2011 IS GOING TO ROCK

  9. Jess January 8, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    LOVE your resolutions. I’m trying to take it “one day at a time” more too!!

  10. Jenny January 8, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    oh my gosh – can I steal your resolutions?! Seriosuly, I need to work on all of these things!

    please promise me you’ll try your best to enjoy the rest of the school year! I know the end is *so close* and this is the time you’re most anxious to get out of there, but I promise you — a few years from now you’ll be DYING TO GO BACK! (I speak from experience)

    hope 2011 is filled with happiness 🙂

  11. april January 8, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    You have some great resolutions! I never make them, but I love the idea!!

  12. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 9, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Great resolutions…I call mine intentions b/c you can’t “break your intentions” the way it is with resolutions. A slight nuance but for me, in my mind it helps.

    I hope your weekend is going great! 🙂

  13. fashionfitnessfoodie January 9, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    I am trying to take things one day at a time too! I’m always on the go or rushing things…which usually ends up in me forgetting my gym shoes, bumping into walls or spilling my cereal all over the floor!

  14. Shannon [Tropical Eats] January 9, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    love these goals!!!

    One day at a time is the way to go 🙂

  15. Kat January 9, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Lady, I so agree with all of those resolutions. As a compulsive planner, I completely understand #1 and how important it is to let go. We see the world through a magnifying glass. The big picture is something that comes over time.

  16. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) January 9, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    I didn’t make any new year resolutions, but if I did, they would be very similar to yours (except for the last one as I’m not in college yet – but when I am, I’m going to put your fifth resolution into action 😉 ). I love your blog, and thanks so much for commenting on mine! 🙂

  17. lindsay January 9, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    TIME is such a big factor in my life too. Managing it, spending more time with others, with myself, time to rest, time with GOd, etc. What a great resolution. You’ve definitely encouraged me.
    LC

  18. Katie January 10, 2011 at 2:54 am #

    Hi love!

    Im not a resolution style girl BUT I love reading others! I love yours and I love the gym one, dont ever force yourself to workout, it should be fun!

    Hope you have a great week ahead! xoxo

Leave a Reply

