Love At First Tabata

12 Jan

Hi all!

I don’t know if it’s just me, but lately I have been plain bored with cardio. I really love my weight training but like to throw in some cardio for good overall health, but the thought of getting on the treadmill has been dreadful. So today I experimented with a new-to-me workout that I have wanted to try for a while now. I first learned of Tabata from April. Before her, I had never heard of it before! Here are two links that explain in detail what Tabata is:

http://www.tabataprotocol.com/

http://www.intervaltraining.net/tabata.html

Basically, it is a super short high intensity workout that revs your metabolism and sends your body into fat-burning mode. Your workout can be as short as 4 minutes, but after seeing April’s post on Tabata, I decided to follow her instructions for a 16 minute workout. Here is the workout I ended up with:

Round 1: High Knees. Speed Skater.

Round 2: Under-leg clap jumps. Punches.

Round 3: Power Jumping Jacks. Kettlebell Swings.

Round 4: Jumping Squats. Imaginary Jump Rope.

Make sure to include a proper warm up and cool down! Perform the first move in round 1 for 20 seconds, going as hard as you can, and follow with 10 seconds of rest. Alternate back and forth between the two moves in the round until you have reached 3 minutes. Rest for 1 minute then move onto the next round. Here is an awesome tool that that definitely makes it much easier to keep track of time: Tabata Clock

It is quite adjustable though because you can choose any moves that you want. I had up the tabata clock along with Itunes, and blared some upbeat music while performing my 16 minutes. It was hot and ferocious and I. LOVED. IT. and I felt amazing afterwards. Talk about an exercise high…just 16 minutes have me that.  What is even better is you can do it anytime, anywhere. Don’t want to go to the gym? You don’t have to! Don’t have an hour to workout? You don’t need it! I will be doing much more of this in the future. 😀

And for fun, here are some recent food loves:

004 (5)

Sun Warrior is back!!!

001 (8)

Lot of oats, per usual. I usually make this combo of 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds. Then add whatever toppings I feel like! This combo = MAJOR volume.

003 (8)

Banana Nut Vitatop with pb!

001

Katie’s buffalo chicken casserole. Thanks for the fab recipe!

002 (3)

egg puff with tomato paste and nooch, sweet potato rounds

004 (6)

homemade bean burger, steamed broc with nooch, and giant sweet potato with peanut butter and nooch. Obviously, I’m on a nutritional yeast kick! Love me that cheezy goodness.

004 (7)

SIAB! (shake in a bowl) 1 scoop chocolate Scivation whey protein powder, 1 cup almond milk, 1 tsp spirulina, a dash of xanthan gum, ice cubes. topped with Nature’s Path granola.

I have a five day weekend, starting now! Ah, thank you Parent-Teacher Conferences. I’m going to miss those in college… 😉

Time for dinner! Baked chicken, sauteed zucchini rounds, and parsnip fries are on the agenda. It will be my first time with a parsnip. I have butterflies! 😀

What is your favorite exercise as of late?

kristi

26 Responses to “Love At First Tabata”

  1. paoang January 13, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Oooohh Tabata sounds like so much fun! I’mma have to give it a try! 😀

    Your eats look AMAZING as always…especially that dinner with the brocc and nooch! I’ve never had nutritional yeast before, but I’m guessing it’s well worth it!!!

    Hope you enjoy your 5 day weekend girly! (jealousssss…!!!)

    • Meg January 13, 2011 at 1:43 am #

      I’m sure Kristi will agree, but you haven’t lived unless you’ve tried nooch 😉

    • Ellie February 2, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

      ohhh Tabata and interval training is soooooooo fun and awesome!! I do that kind of workout everyday~it makes you so agile too. 🙂

  2. Meg January 13, 2011 at 1:42 am #

    Enjoy your first time with parsnips…it could get messy 😉 haha JUST kidding!

    Gah so many goodies! Sweet p’s have been all over my kitchen lately too 😀

    I really would love to try tabata but I feel like I need to watch a video/watch someone do it before I really understand it haha I’m a visual learner!

  3. Kayla January 13, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    I LOOVE sweet potatoes with peanut butter!!

    Also, I sooo want to try that SunWarrior protein powder! How do you like it? Isn’t it more expensive than other brands?

    • Sweet Cheeks January 13, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      Yes it is a bit more expensive but you can’t beat the quality. It’s good stuff!

  4. paijery January 13, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    Lovin the nooch on everything!
    I want to try Sun Warrior sooo bad. I wish I could get it here!!
    Enjoy your days off!!

  5. snackgirlgoeshealthy January 13, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    I love cardio!!! But my back pretty much prohibits me from doing much :/

    Your meals look amazing, seriously girl. Lets have a lunch date! And you can make my bowl of oats too!

    I think I am going to try that buffalo chicken recipe!

  6. movesnmunchies January 13, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Tabata sounds awesome!! looks like a great way to get in a good workout while keeping it fun and interesting!

    • Ellie February 2, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      oh yes it is, just wait to see your heart explode and pop out of your chest!

  7. Katie January 13, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Tabata seems really cool, I have heard about it before, I like short and effective workouts! I have doing my cardio by dance, I am now a dance trance intructor/owner here where I live and have been practicing the routines for my first class I will teach soon! I have been loving my 8lb medicine ball for strength workouts!

    Yay sunwarrior! I got the promo too, is that where you got it, from ginas opensky promo?! Love that stuff!

    Have a great 5 days off!!!!!!!!!!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      Yep, got it from opensky..I couldn’t pass up that deal!!

  8. Katie January 13, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    i bought that same sun warrior when it was on sale at gina’s opensky! 🙂

    I like mixing the chocolate with almond milk to make chocolate milk. yum! your food looks good. i’ve done a bit of tabata, but i like doing spin for cardio. it gets all of my stress out. i get major endorphins too! like you, i love weight lifting. i just got back into heavy lifting and left body pump in the dust. i got too bored with it.

    • Sweet Cheeks January 13, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      I have never tried spinning. It is another thing I’ve always wanted to try though…hopefully soon! I’m kind of intimidated by it.

  9. christina @ ilovefetacheese January 13, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Your food looks great! What do you think of sun warrior so far? I’ve been meaning to try it!

  10. fashionfitnessfoodie January 14, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    Never tried sweet potatoes with peanut butter… But i have been eating peanut butter like its about to go bad.

    I love Tabata!! My bootcamp teacher has us do it but i’ve never thought to do it at home. Thanks for the links 🙂

  11. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 14, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    love your workout info..tabata kicks the ole boo-tay for me!

    fave workouts lately…long walks. smelling the flowers and feeling the breeze. sounds cheesy but just walking has been great lately!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 14, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      I adore outdoor walks, too. That is what I’m most excited about for Spring!

  12. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) January 14, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    That Sun Warrior protein powder looks great! I’ve been trying to find a tasty, healthy protein powder, but I’ve had no luck 😦 . Do stores sell Sun Warrior, or did you have to buy it online?

    • Sweet Cheeks January 14, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

      I bought mine on line. You can also get it off ebay…that is where I have found the best price for it.

  13. Jenny January 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    this sounds so fun! I hate monotonous workout routines – so koodos to you for finding something EXCITING!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beauty Cosmetics | Hair Removal | Weight Loss | Liposuction | Plastic Surgery - January 13, 2011

    Lookbook Review: Flirt! Cosmetics Flowerific Cheek Color, “Peach Blossom”…

    Thanks for good article. I added a Trackback to it on my blog…

  2. Oatmeal how-to | Sweet Cheeks - January 30, 2011

    […] Pumpkin Oats with chocolate sauce and a fudgie. […]

  3. Exercise Update | Sweet Cheeks - February 5, 2011

    […] Sunday: 20 minutes of light cardio, OR between 4-16 minutes of Tabata […]

Leave a Reply

