Supplements I take

23 Jan

Gooood Morning! I hope everyone is enjoying a relaxing Sunday. I know I am!

Today I wanted to talk a little bit about supplements. While I strive to get the majority of my nutrients through plenty of nutritious, real foods, I know how easy it is to still come up short in some areas. One can only eat so much in a day!

Here is what’s hanging out in my cabinet:

016 (4)

 

Probiotics:

017

I buy the Jarrow brand with 5 billion organisms per capsule. What’s cool about this probiotic in particular is that it is enteric-coated and doesn’t have to be refrigerated like most all other probiotic products do. I have seen this one in various health foods stores as well as online. The best price I have found online is at The Vitamin Shoppe. I typically take 1-2 capsules per day. (1 in the morning, 1 at night.)

Health Benefits of Probiotics:

  • promotes healthy bacteria in the colon
  • strengthens immune system
  • helps make your body strong enough to fight off sickness and even prevent it all together
  • promotes regularity
  • improves nutrient bioavailability for B vitamins, calcium, iron, zinc, copper, magnesium, phosphorus, and others

I also just recently picked up this chewable probiotic by Nature’s Sunshine:

013 (4)

It’s a fun way to get your probiotics in if you sometimes have a tough time swallowing pills, like me. Or you can just take them because they taste like cotton candy. 😉 However, it doesn’t have as high of a probiotic content as the Jarrow capsules, so you may need to take more.

 

Multi-vitamin:

016

Yes, I still take the same Flintstones multivitamin that I have taken since I was a kid. This one still has everything I need, so I roll with it. Plus, like I mentioned, I prefer chewable if I can get them that way because swallowing pills isn’t my greatest talent. I take 1 pill per day.

A multi-vitamin is a great place to start for supplements. It helps to cover all bases and keep you in tip-top condition. This was my first supplement. I slowly added in these other ones over time.

Vitamin D:

011

I take the Nature’s Plus adult chewable brand, which I get from The Vitamin Shoppe. I love the Maui flavors of this one! For this, I take 1-2 per day. Vitamin D is a fat-soluble nutrient, so it is best absorbed when paired with a little healthy fat. Perfect excuse to take a dip in the peanut butter jar, no? 😀

Health Benefits of Vitamin D:

  • boosts immunity and ability to prevent/fight off sickness
  • helps absorb calcium
  • builds and maintains strong bones
  • blood pressure regulation
  • can help treat mild depression and anxiety
  • improve mood, especially in the winter time when exposure to the Sun is lower
  • reduce stress
  • aids in weight loss/management

Fish Oil:

015

 

I buy my fish oil capsules as Sam’s Club in bulk. You can buy them pretty much anywhere though. When choosing a fish oil supplement, Dr Oz recommends reading the label and finding the TOTAL Omega-3 amount. He says you want to have 500 mg of total omega-3 per serving.

Health Benefits of Fish Oil:

  • improved blood circulation
  • helps treat mild depression and anxiety
  • good over-all brain health
  • may help prevent Alzheimer’s disease
  • anti-inflammatory properties
  • good for your promoting healthy, supple skin

 

 

Biotin:

012

This biotin supplement I got at Walmart. I take 2-3 biotin tablets per day, with dinner, or your biggest meal to help with absorption.

Health Benefits of Biotin:

  • good product for hair health: faster growing, thicker, shinier
  • good product for skin health: makes my skin bright, glowy, and clear
  • It is a B-vitamin, which is good for managing moods, depression, and anxiety

 

Airborne:

014

Airborne is something I keep in stock at my house, just as a preventative measure. They can be bought at mostly any grocery store, Walmart, etc. They are all-natural and made up of vitamins, herbs, and minerals. I do not take one every day. I only take one if I know I’m going to be exposed to a lot of germs (babysitting, for example) or right when I feel a cold or other sickness coming on. I have found that it really does work, IF I use it correctly, meaning I have to take it RIGHT at the first sign of sickness, or before being exposed to germs.

Health Benefits of Airborne:

  • contains a special blend of immunity boosting vitamins
  • helps to stop an on-coming sickness in it’s tracks before it has a chance to grow
  • loaded with antioxidants

And there you have it. Hopefully you found this informative and helpful!

What is your favorite supplement?

kristi

22 Responses to “Supplements I take”

  1. movesnmunchies January 23, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    cool post!ive never seen anyone do a supplement post before!! i just took my multivitamin actually! i also take calcium!

  2. Bec January 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    I still take flinstones too 🙂 I use to take probiotics but when I ran out a few months ago I never picked up another bottle, I take zinc as well since it boosts immunity and fights infection and is suppose to be good for skin.

    • Sweet Cheeks January 24, 2011 at 1:02 am #

      glad to know I’m not the only one still rockin’ the Flintstones. 😉

  3. Katie January 23, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    I take a multi, fish oil, and a probiotic. I want to look into CLA, but I don’t have the room in my monthly budget right now.

  4. lindsay January 23, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    great choices! I am a huge advocate for fish oil and vitamin D as well. The rest I try to get from foods or supergreens. Feelin’ good!

  5. Jess January 23, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Um, I take no supplements. I’m HORRIBLE about vitamins. You have inspired me ❤

  6. LauraJayne January 23, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    I really try to get everything I can from my diet – so I don’t take any supplements, but I know that as a vegetarian, I probably should take Omega-3 and B12. However, I swear by probiotics – I use Culterelle – and I can almost immediately tell when I’ve missed a dose! Great post!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 29, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      I can always tell when I miss a dose, too. They really help me feel my best.

  7. paoang January 24, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Cool post!!!
    Bahaha and I love Flinstones vitamins- THEY ROCK! I think they taste good, is that too weird?!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 24, 2011 at 1:01 am #

      Not weird at all…I love the taste, too!

      • Meg January 26, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

        I agree, it’s kind of like eating fruit flavored chalk…except it’s magical chalk cause it’s delicious 😉

  8. kbwood January 24, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    Hey beautiful!!
    I really need to start taking fish oil GAHHH!!! I know its sooo good for you.. thanks for the reminder, hope u had an awesome weekend!

  9. Christina January 24, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    Great post. I’m taking Biotin too but not really seeing a difference…do you notice one?

    • Sweet Cheeks January 29, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      I am now noticing that it makes my skin brighter, my hair stronger, and my eyelashes fuller! You need to give it time though…about 1-2 months to see results. 🙂

  10. fashionfitnessfoodie January 25, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    I was just wondering what people took fish oil for today! Nice post 🙂

    I take a multi vitamin gummie – they are sooo good haha

  11. Meg January 26, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    I SWEAR by biotin, it’s my go-to vite! I love it 😀

  12. January 28, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    They have really awesome fish oil thats actually an oil and its sooo good! My mom bought it for me from a health food store…its called Barlean’s Omega Swirl Fish Oil:)

    • Sweet Cheeks January 29, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      I will have to keep an eye out for that. I would love to take a liquid rather than my big honkin’ pill!!

  13. Katie January 28, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    I take the same probiotics! love the Jarrow!!

    I also take a vitamin d, omega 369, multivitamin, and CLA !

    Hope all is well love! xoxo

  14. april January 29, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    Wow you take a lot of supplements! Well lets see, I take fish oil, magnesium (for some muscle spasm problems), collagen, BCAA’s, and now I just started taking calcium because I don’t get nearly enough 😦

  15. cheese low carb diet April 9, 2012 at 3:12 am #

    Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favourite reason seemed to be at the web the easiest thing to take into account of. I say to you, I certainly get irked at the same time as other people think about concerns that they just don’t realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as outlined out the entire thing without having side effect , folks could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My new favorite supplement | Sweet Cheeks - March 22, 2011

    […] you guys my newest supplement addition. I did a post a while back on the vitamins/supps that I take HERE. I have been doing some reading and decided to try out something to increase my energy […]

Leave a Reply

