Mtv’s “I Used to be Fat”

29 Jan

Happy Weekend!

It has been a relaxing day for me so far. Did a little strength training, started a load of laundry, and caught up on the latest episode of Mtv’s I Used to be Fat.

Caitlin recently did a great review of the show that is definitely worth checking out. There was lots of great discussion in the comments.

I have been watching this series from the beginning and have got to say that I really enjoy it. Not surprising though because I love anything and everything fitness/health related, not to mention you can always find me watching The Biggest Loser every Tuesday night. 😉 Just like BL, there are of course some aspects of the show that I don’t fully agree with, ie; working out for 6-8 hours a day, super strict eating, all or nothing mentality. I look past those things though because there are a lot of a things that I DO like about the show. I am happy that fitness and nutrition is coming to be more mainstream and that big networks like MTV are jumping in on the action.

The most recent episode is by far my favorite episode yet. First off, Joey Gloor, the fitness trainer, makes it most definitely worth your while to watch. **swoon**

Here is Jordan, the main character is this episode:

Watch The Full Episode

Jordan grew up in a dysfunctional family whose parents were involved with drugs and alcohol. They basically left him to fend for himself at a very young age. He turned to food for comfort and eventually wound up overweight and even more unhappy.

I loved how Joey really took Jordan in and was not only his personal trainer but also his friend, or as he called it, “his brother.” These two formed a close bond that was so awesome to watch. Not to mention they had me bursting out laughing multiple times through out the show. I definitely recommend watching this one. It is an all around great story and has a very happy ending. 🙂

*****

Time to upload some food pictures. Here we go…

007

Oats topped with peanut flour + sf maple syrup sauce. Looks like a regular ol’ bowl of oats doesn’t it? Wrong!

010

hiding underneath was a protein cake made with 1 scoop of chocolate Scivation whey protein powder and 1/4 cup water, microwaved for 90 seconds. It was a fun change to my normal oats!

Good utilization of leftovers from my Chicken Sweet Potato Strifry:

006005  

I took a serving and served it on top of a bed of arugula leaves and topped it with cottage cheese, cheezy nutritional yeast, and cherry tomatoes. It’s fun to make new meals out of old ones!

Snackage:

001

Rye crackers with cottage cheese and veg with homemade hummus. I’ve been on a cottage cheese kick lately and have found a new brand that I love. The brand is Nancy’s and it a cultured cottage cheese so it has lots of friendly probiotic love just like yogurt. Sweet! This stuff has awesome stats and is the best tasting cottage cheese I’ve ever had. Too bad it’s so pricey, but definitely worth it!

003

Purebar, apple cinnamon flavor. Katie was right; this flavor is amazeeee.

 

Questions for today:

*Do you watch I used to be Fat and/or Biggest Loser? What are YOUR thoughts?

*Do you have a fitness inspiration?  Mine is Jamie Eason. Seems like she is in every fitness magazine I’ve read lately! She is proof that hard works pays off and if her abs aren’t motivation, I don’t know what is. Just sayin’!

Have a lovely weekend!

kristi

15 Responses to “Mtv’s “I Used to be Fat””

  1. emily January 29, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I used to love the biggest loser but I feel the same as you. Working out 6-8 hours and restricting foods….not good! Some of the old contestants have developed eating disorders because of the extremeties of the show. But they do teach healthier options, tips, and meals that are great. However, I can’t watch the show because I used to have an Exercise Eating Disorder(I have recovered) and I feel this show is a trigger for me to relapse.

    But I really don’t have a fitness inspiration. I just follow the guidelines of 60-90 minutes and how I feel in my body and mind. I personally let God be my trainer!!!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 29, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Yes God is my number one inspiration always. 🙂

  2. Ash January 29, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Jamie Eason is an inspiration of mine too!

    Interesting idea to have a “crust” for the oats!
    What’s the step by step process for your oats? And do you use old-fashioned/rolled oats?
    They always look like they have a great texture!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 29, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      Hi Ash! I used Quaker old fashioned oats. I use 1/2 cup with 1 1/2 cups of water and a dash of chia seeds. Just combine them all together and cook them on the stove top, stirring occasionally. Or I make them in the microwave (2 min.) the night before, then just warm them up in the morning. Leaving it overnight makes them really expand and get thick. The great texture comes from the chias. Give it a try!

  3. Jenny January 29, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Yum! I make protein brownies all the time. Did yours rise? I usually have to add some sort of fat or else they really won’t do much in the microwave.

    • Sweet Cheeks January 29, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Scivation whey rises pretty well but any other one turns out completely flat unless I add some baking powder.

      • Jenny January 29, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

        Ohhh thanks. I actually have that one 🙂

  4. Katie January 29, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Hi beautiful!!!

    Happy Saturday!!

    Love the protein cake under the oats idea!!! Yum!!

    I love Jamie Eason, she is a inspiration for sure! I also like Jennifer Nicole Lee!

    Hope you have a great night!

    Katie xoxo

  5. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 29, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    LOVED this post! I really mean it your always so genuine with your posting. I need to try a protein cake. It’s just powder and water? then in the microwave right? I think it would be a good thing for me to eat with my yogurt on top!… I love the biggest loser but I don’t get a chance to watch it religiously even though I would if I had time. My motivation in life is my boyfriend. I see how hard he phsyically pushes his body because he plays basketball profesionally for a team in Indiana. I want to be more like him and push myself to be stronger and look better… I also get motivated from the results I see! What are your thoughts on Fiber one bars? the apple bar looks good!

    • Sweet Cheeks January 30, 2011 at 12:51 am #

      If you make a protein cake, you will probably want to add some baking powder otherwise it will turn out flat, fyi!

      Fiber one bars I have eaten in the past and they are super yummy! I’m not a big fan of their long ingredient list though and would rather just make my own bars nowadays.

      So cool that your bf is your motivation! I hope that my (future) boyfriend is into fitness as much as I am. It would nice to have a workout buddy!

  6. paoang January 30, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    Oooh la la…Joey is HAWT!

    And I’ve heard a lot of people talking about that show, but have never watched it myself before. I definitely should though- it looks a LOT like something I’d like 😉

    Omg girl- that bowl of oats looks AMAZING btw!!! And cottage cheese is the best ♥

  7. movesnmunchies January 30, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    love your sweet tater stew!! i LOVE I used t be fat.. i think it is a really positive and healthy approach to weight loss.. im watching it right now!

  8. Katie January 30, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Hey Kristi! I love that idea for the protein brownie oats. 🙂 I am going to have to try it! My favorite fitness inspiration is also Jamie Eason, as well as all of those other fitness comp girls on Oxygen mag. They are amazing, and so healthy! No more stick skinniness for me. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Latest Standing Workstation News | Ergonomic Computer Desk - January 30, 2011

    […] Mtv's “I Used t&#959 b&#1077 F&#1072t” | Sweet Cheeks […]

  2. Oatmeal how-to | Sweet Cheeks - January 30, 2011

    […] Sweet Cheeks Just another WordPress.com weblog Skip to content HomeAboutBlog RollContactRecipes ← Mtv’s “I Used to be Fat” […]

Leave a Reply

