Oatmeal how-to

30 Jan

Morning!

I recently got a request to explain how I make my oats for breakfast so I thought I would show you all today. My method is super simple and a big time saver in the morning.

023

This morning’s bowl was eaten alongside some coffee with almond milk, all on a paper napkin for ultimate classiness. 😉

So here is a detailed version of this morning’s oatmeal:

  1. The night before, combine 50 grams of oatbran (about 1/2 cup), 1 cup water, 1/2 cup liquid egg whites, 1 tsp chia seeds.
  2. Microwave for 2 minutes, stir. microwave again for about 30 secs-1 min, watching careful so it doesn’t flow over
  3. add in about 1/4 cup pumpkin (I just add 2 huge spoonfuls)
  4. stir real good and stick it in the fridge for the night
  5. In the morning, reheat it in the microwave
  6. add in a scoop of Muscle Gauge ice cream sandwich protein powder (or protein of choice)
  7. add a dash of sugar free pudding powder mix (helps to thicken)
  8. add ridiculous amount of cinnamon (if you’re crazy like me) 
  9. Dive in, face first.
  10. Come back and thank me for the best breakfast you’ve ever had.

Okay, so I guess you don’t HAVE to do #10, but it sounded like a good idea to me. 🙂 So that is a basic example of my oatmeal. There are two main reasons why I highly recommend prepping it the night before: 1. It makes for a huge, THICK bowl of oats. 2. Huge time-saver for school/work mornings.

You can obviously change things up for different flavor combos and add toppings. Here are some of my recent ones:

003

Berry Frosting Oats

001 (8)

Pumpkin Oats with chocolate sauce and a fudgie.

010

Peanut Butter Cup Oats.

011

Blueberry Muffin Oats.

002

Or if I’m feeling extra fancy, I may opt for this heart-shaped Oat Smash, a la Katie.

I’m going to go grocery shopping with my mom and do some food-prep for the new week.

What is your favorite oatmeal flavor combo?

Anything involving chocolate has my name written all over it. 😀

kristi

26 Responses to “Oatmeal how-to”

  1. Erika January 30, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    I love the idea of adding sugar-free pudding mix to oats. I bet it makes them taste amazing! Thanks for the ideas. 🙂

  2. Kat January 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Um ok so do you want to start coming over every morning and making me breakfast? I think it would be beneficial, for both of us ya know? 😉

  3. movesnmunchies January 30, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    LOVE oats! i have never prepped the night before, but i should totally try that! i usually do stovetop though- its my favorite! i switch around my combos like its my job.. so tmorrow im actually trying a NEW way of oats, which i am excited BOUTtt!

  4. Jenny January 30, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Wow you’ve made me so hungry! And I most definitely will try out your new technique. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Jess January 30, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Thanks so much for the how-to 😀

  6. julie January 31, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    oh i LOVE making my oats the night before because they get all thick n deliiish 🙂 i just made a huge batch tonight so i don’t have to worry about it the rest of the week! high five to me hahaha

    katie’s oat smash is always a fab treat too

  7. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 31, 2011 at 5:45 am #

    I know where to come when I want oats! 🙂

  8. Kayla January 31, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Ahh, thanks for the HOW TO! I’ll be making oats like this tomorrow-I mean tonight, then eating it tomorrow!

  9. oatsandspice January 31, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    YUMMMM these seriously all look amazinggg – especially the peanut butter cup oats!

    Your blog is so cute! I love it and can’t wait to read more… I just started my blog about two months ago – it is so addicting 🙂 Check it out if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  10. Christina February 1, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    i’m pretty sure I could eat oatmeal at ALL TIMES OF THE DAY.

  11. Olivia February 1, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    so glad I found your blog! I’m lovin’ the oats:) Peanut butter cup oats?!? YES PLEASE!

  12. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 1, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I love your oatmeal method! I will definitely have try it – then maybe I won’t have to get up so early!
    My favorite oatmeal combo is oatmeal topped with peanut butter or topped with coconut butter and carob chips – YUM! 🙂

  13. Ellie February 2, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    These look delish! I usually love eating oats a la KERF style. But it varies from time to time. I really like VOO too

  14. katshealthcorner February 3, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I am so going to make this!!!! OHMYGOSH I can’t wait! 🙂

  15. bigcitybabycarrots February 3, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    I keep trying to get myself to make Overnight Oats. These bowls look so good, that maybe next week will be the week.

  16. Ayla February 3, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    My favorite oatmeal combo would probably be any of the ones you just pictured so I think you should come be my personal oat-maker. 😉 However, since I don’t have you to make my breakfast, I enjoy chocolate chip and peanut butter oats! The best. Yes. So good.

  17. Katie February 4, 2011 at 1:26 am #

    Hi beautiful !!! Awwwwwwwww I like the shoutout and the fancy part ; ) you are too sweet! Thats why your sweet cheeks! : )

    I LOVE how you add sugar free mix in your oats, great idea ; ) my fave oat combos are ones with apples ( dried apple yums ) and I love pumpkin combos because it pumps up the oats like crazy!

    Hope your week was great ! Its almost the weekend! xoxo love u!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Turn Up The Volume (Oats) « Little Miss Healthify - February 1, 2011

    […] I prepped our oatmeal last night, using Kristi’s How-To. […]

  2. A Glimpse Of Sunshine:) | Snack Girl Goes Healthy - February 3, 2011

    […] is the amazing Voluminous Oats from Kristi’s blog!! They were awesome! I sweetned them with a few splenda packets and a dollop of almond butter […]

  3. In-bed blogger | Sweet Cheeks - February 11, 2011

    […] was oatbran made using my overnight technique with 50 grams oatbran, 1 1/2 cups water, chia seeds, pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, and 1 tbsp […]

  4. Want some oatmeal with that mug? | Sweet Cheeks - February 22, 2011

    […] all know how much I love my “night before” oatmeal method, but I decided to switch things up since I had time on my hands this morning. So I called in the […]

  5. Seafood Kick | Sweet Cheeks - March 2, 2011

    […] DID IT. I was bound and determined to fill up Mr. Giant Mug. I knew my overnight oats method would do the trick! 1/2 cup oatbran, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, 1/4 cup […]

  6. To read or not to read | Sweet Cheeks - March 13, 2011

    […] did my usual night before method for some volumous oats action. Then topped with a giant frozen fudgie and frozen peanut flour paste […]

  7. Awesome August | A Dash Of Meg - August 2, 2012

    […] Volumous Oatmeal by Kristi (I made this twice) […]

Leave a Reply

