The New and the Old

19 Feb

Hello!

Hope you all are enjoying the weekend! My weekend actually kind of started on Thursday because of a trip I took with my business class from school. Every year they go and compete in a BPA conference (business professionals of america) and make a big event out of it. Although I did this program last year as well, this was my first time going. I did the banking events since I work as bank teller…and well, I bombed it. LOL. Even though I work with that type of stuff every day, there is apparently still a lot I don’t know! It was all good though because the trip was a blast. All the different schools stayed at the same hotel and in between the competitions, there was plenty of time for shopping, dining, fun hotel gym workouts, and hot tubbing and pooling. They even put on a dance for us! It was tons of fun and I’m so glad I decided to go. The break from work and school was much appreciated. We got back home around one o’clock today and it feels so good to be back in my own bed. I love that feeling when you just get home from a trip!

In other news, I just had a successful grocery shopping trip and picked up some new finds. I was also re-united with some old flames!

The New:

007

Jalapeno cheese wedges!

They are basically like laughing cow wedges but this flavor caught my eye and I knew I had to try it. Delish! I haven’t been able to spot any of the new LC flavors that came out a while back…my town is apparently the last to get any of the new stuff.

008

Silk almond milk.

I have been a faithful Almond Breeze buyer for some time now, but I have been wanting to try the Silk brand. I was surprised to see it at Walmart and I quickly snatched it up. NEW FAVORITE MILK. This stuff rocks!!! It is so smooth and creamy. The stats are also awesome, with 35 cals per cup and 45% DV of calcium. Go get some!!!

014

Cascade Ice Products.

I was recently sent these flavored sparkling water drinks to review. They come in a variety of flavors but the 3 I tried were: Pink Grapefruit, Strawberry Lemonade, and Orange Mango. They are a nice alternative to pop as they are fizzy and packed full of flavor! All three of them were delicious but my favorite was the Orange Mango. I felt very tropical while drinking it and had no problem pretending I was ounging on a beach, sipping away my island drink. 😉 These are sodium and caffeine free, sweetened with Splenda, and only have 2 cals per serving. Not too shabby! Thank you to Chevis for letting me try them!

The Old:

011

Back to the grocery store, I also picked up some plain sparkling water. These are so fun to drink! When you aren’t feeling like drinking plain ol’ water, but don’t want to drink a ton of sweetened, artificial drinks then plain sparkling water is perfect. I can down one of those in no time flat!

009

Dark Chocolate Dreams. It’s back yo. I usually stick with my plain nut butters but decided to spice things up with this little gem. It definitely didn’t disappoint.

010

Dark chocolate barrrr. I love my chocolate extra dark. It’s so intense and flavorful. This one is actually almost gone. Time to put it back on the grocery list!

Tonight I’m making spaghetti squash boats with meatless meatballs, avocado, marinara, and fresh basil. One of my favorite meals! Please tell me I’m not the only one who can eat the entire squash in one sitting. Go big or go home, right? And I know I said that I was going to talk more about the FITNESS part of my life. I haven’t forgotten! I’ve just been super busy. I do have a great strength training workout planned for tomorrow and will be sure to share that will guys! Here’s a glimpse at what’s to come for blog posts:

1. Upper body weights workout

2. Cinnamon Raisin Dessert Hummus Recipe

3. Vegan Barley Bean Skillet Recipe

4. The sweetener dilemma

Catch ya later!

 

~Kristi

12 Responses to “The New and the Old”

  1. Kat February 20, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    ooo cant wait for the upper body workout!! I love hitting the weights, cant wait to see what new moves you have for me to try!!

  2. Katie February 20, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    Hi love!!!! Sorry about you not passing that test, but hey it happens ; p

    I LOVE that milk too! I have been faithful to almond breeze but I picked that up last month and loved it!

    Yay for the cinnamon yum hummus recipe coming!!!!!!! Sounds amazing!!

    Love you! Happy Saturday night! xoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks February 20, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

      your blog was where I first saw that almond milk!

  3. Jenny February 20, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    I have the silk chocolate milk and it’s really tasty. That dark chocolate pb is divine, you must try the cinnamon raisin. It’s my favorite 😀

  4. Ayla February 20, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    The sweetener dilemma sounds interesting! So does the upcoming hummus recipe. I still haven’t gotten around to trying a “dessert” type hummus yet.

    No shame about finishing a whole squash in one sitting, I’ve done it too. Squash is just too delicious!

  5. paoang February 20, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    Okay, I am sooo looking forward to that dessert hummus!!! And I’m so glad you had a great time at that trip- sounds like a lot of fun!

    Have a great weekend girly!
    xx

  6. katshealthcorner February 20, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    I can’t wait for your Upper Body Workout and your Sweetener Dilemma posts! 🙂 I love Almond Milk and Dark Chocolate! 😀

  7. fashionfitnessfoodie February 20, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    I’m going to need you to post your dinner from tonight please 🙂

  8. movesnmunchies February 20, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    oh wow cant wait for whats to come!! DCD ROCKSS!!

  9. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 21, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    I love that lindt chocolate, One of my favorites for sure! 🙂

  10. carlee February 21, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    Okay, so your telling me this milk is better than almond breeze?? Idk how that is even possible! Lol I always get the 60 calorie kind. I think it might be a little sweetened.

Leave a Reply

