Squash boat success and upper body workout

20 Feb

Good afternoon!

Last night’s squash boats were a smashing success, as usual! I always pick the biggest one possible at the store and last night’s was bigger than my head:

021 (2)

That turned into this:

002

Squash Boats:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Pierce your spaghetti squash several times with a knife to avoid the dreaded “squash explosion” in your oven. Place squash in a baking dish and bake for about 1 hour.

Once done cooking, cut in half and spoon out the seeds. Now you’re ready to stuff it with whatever you like! Tonight I used:

  • Veggie Patch brand of meatless meatballs, cooked in microwave
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce
  • avocado
  • nutritional yeast and cracker pepper

These are also great with chicken, lean ground turkey, or tofu. The possibilities are endless! I’m thinking about trying a homemade white cream sauce next time.

For a little dessert action after dinner, I tried this new-to-me Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip Vitatop:

003

Definitely can’t wrong with anything “peanut butter” in it’s title! This one gets two thumbs up.

This morning has been pretty leisurely, starting with a nice bowl of oats. After being away from home the last couple of days, I was really hankering for my bowls of love.

035

1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water,  1/2 cup egg whites, 1/4 cup pumpkin…Microwaved and stuck in the fridge overnight. In the morning I topped it with tofu cream: 1/4 block silken tofu blended with almond milk and vanilla stevia.

Coffee was also enjoyed:

024 (3)

And then I got ready for my strength workout a la Oxygen Mag…

Upper Body Workout:

I did about 8 reps per set and 3 sets for each exercise. This was all done using my new 15 pound dumbbells! I am really trying my best to lift heavy (for me) so I decided to use my CSN promotion on a heavier pair of weights.

Troy Barbell - VD-015 - VTX 15 lbs Vinyl Dumbbell in Forest Green

These were really nice! My old 10 pound weights didn’t have the vinyl wrapping on them like these do so it was a big upgrade for me. They felt much nicer in my hands and helped me grip them better. I already have small hands so I need all the help I can get. These worked perfectly! The only thing that would have made them better is if they came in a bigger variety of colors, like say…pink. 🙂 But I guess I’ll let it slide because I do really like them!

I can already tell that I’m doing to be sore in the morning. Moving up in weights REALLY took my workout to a new level. I refueled with a delicious shake:

004

Giant Strawberry Banana Green Monster:

  • 1 cup Silk almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 frozen bananer
  • 1 scoop MRM vanilla whey protein powder
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • maple extract
  • 5 ice cubes

I love my shakes BIIIIIG and this one was ginormous. It was love at first sip.

Now I’m going to enjoy this lazy Sunday and get caught up on Jersey Shore and I used to be Fat. Maybe do some baking if I’m feeling extra crazy. I’m just glad to be back in the comfort of my own home, relaxing. Ahhhh.

Question: just because I’m curious…what size of dumbbells do you usually reach for? I’ve been using my 10 pounders for a long time. Now I feel like a beast with my 15 lbs!

“Everyday choose to let go of worry and let Me into your life."

~kristi

18 Responses to “Squash boat success and upper body workout”

  1. movesnmunchies February 20, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I usually go for 10-12 pounds! i love your monster GM!! YUM yum yum!

  2. Kat February 20, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I only have ones that go up to 12lbs so thats where I am at for now, but my kettlebell is 15lb. I could go heavier, I just need to buy them!

  3. Katie February 20, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Currently I can do 12 reps of shoulder presses with two 20 lbs. dumbbells. 😀 I feel like a beast! I can’t wait to go up to 25s. Though, I wish my gym had 22.5lb weights.

    • Sweet Cheeks February 20, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      you rock! I can’t wait until i’m ready for 20 lbs!

  4. Katie February 20, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Mmmmmm the squash boat looks so good!

    I love that you add silken tofu to your oats, thats a awesome idea!

    I need to get heavier dumbbells! I want some for home that are heavier ; )

    U go girl!!! Im proud of you for lifting more!

    Happy Sunday ! ❤ xoxo

  5. annie February 21, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    that boat looks delicious!! i have never had a big squash like that, what would you say it tastes similar t0? when it’s cooked is the texture soft and squishy like?
    i have never seen those vitatops! once i’m back to eating much healthier i’ll have to search for them! they sound so good!!
    nice job on moving up on the weights!! i used a CSN credit i won for a kettlebell! 😉

    • Sweet Cheeks February 21, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      Spaghetti squash is a bit different from regular pasta. It’s kind of hard to describe but it’s really good in it’s own way. I’d definitely give it a try to see for yourself!

  6. Jenny February 21, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    Love your upper body workout. And I’ve never made a squash boat but that one looks amazing so do those oats 😉

  7. katshealthcorner February 21, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    The highest dumbells I have at home are 8-pounders, but I think I need to get some heavier ones! 🙂

  8. Jess February 21, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    I reach for the 10 pounders typically. i use em’ for p90xxxx!!

  9. fashionfitnessfoodie February 21, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    i usually go for the 10-12 pounders…you are a beast with your 15 lbers!! 🙂 Your squash boat looks awesome!!! Huge!

  10. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 21, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    I think its time for me to amp up my dumbells to tens! I just still with 5s LOL

  11. april February 21, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Congrats on the weight increases! Depending what exercise I’m doing I reach for 25-55 pound dumbbells! But of course that’s at a gym 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks February 21, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      April, you are my idol. That is all. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Want some oatmeal with that mug? | Sweet Cheeks - February 22, 2011

    […] about to get a little exercise in before I head off to work. Even though I am in love with my new heavier weights, I am pretty sore, LOL. So I decided to go for a little bit of cardio. I am thinking some Tabata […]

  2. To read or not to read | Sweet Cheeks - March 13, 2011

    […] my go-to way of making spaghetti squash boats, but I was craving the jumbo shrimpies that we bought in bulk at Sam’s Club last […]

  3. Dress mission: accomplished | Sweet Cheeks - April 5, 2011

    […] all know how I love my spaghetti squash boats…well I made up a new combo that is to die […]

  4. Encouragement « Sweet Cheeks - July 15, 2011

    […] am the spaghetti squash monster. Stuffed with meatless meatballs, avocado, tomato paste, italian seasonings, and nooch. Hummus on […]

Leave a Reply

