Want some oatmeal with that mug?

22 Feb

Morning!

It it currently 10:40 a.m. and I have just now finished breakfast and am still in my p.j.’s I know, I know…you’re probably thinking, “Kristi did you skip school again today?” Nope! This week is finals week and my finals will be taken tomorrow which means I got to sleep in as long as I wanted today. It felt ahhhhmazing.

Breakfast was pretty amazing, too.

004

006

Do you love my GINORMOUS new mug?!? It’s pretty much the size of my head. Trust me, that is a large amount of oatmeal in there and it only took up half of the room. I’m taking this as a challenge though. Don’t worry, that thing WILL get filled up completely next time.

You all know how much I love my “night before” oatmeal method, but I decided to switch things up since I had time on my hands this morning. So I called in the help of Kath, and followed her expert method.

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 water
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • vanilla extract
  • creamy salted peanut butter
  • Polaner strawberry jam
  • toasted walnuts

Faboooosh. The oats itself were wonderful, but the fact that I was eating out of that awesome mug made my breakfast 100 times better. 🙂

I’m glad you guys liked liked my Cinnamon Raisin Dessert Hummus recipe! I made up another batch on Sunday and it is again almost all gone. I am going to have to buy out the grocery stores for chickpeas in order to keep up! Here’s how I enjoyed it yesterday:

002

Protein pancakes, carrots and dessert hummus. Incredible. I think my favorite vegetable to dip into the hummus is bell pepper. I was all out so carrots did a pretty good job, too.

The protein pancakes were Christina’s recipe:

1/3 cup egg white
1/3 cup lowfat cottage cheese
1/6 cup coconut flour
1/6 cup oat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
dash of cinnamon.

This is my current favorite way to make pancakes. They are so fluffy and natural tasting. Love them!

I’m about to get a little exercise in before I head off to work. Even though I am in love with my new heavier weights, I am pretty sore, LOL. So I decided to go for a little bit of cardio. I am thinking some Tabata and incline treadmill walking. I like to crank up the incline to 10 or 12 percent. This will give you a booty! 😀

What is your favorite form of cardio?

 

kristi

14 Responses to “Want some oatmeal with that mug?”

  1. katshealthcorner February 22, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I love your mug!!! IT IS SO CUTE!!!! Where’d you get it?

    My favorite form of cardio is running! 😀

  2. Kayla February 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I have the same problem with my HUGE mug! The oatmeal doesn’t fit all the way to the top, haha!

  3. Katie February 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    the mug is awesome! Huge for sure!!!

    I love doing HIIT on the elliptical! Have a great day love!!! xoxo ❤

  4. kat February 22, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I want that mug!! The colors and design are way fab!! Jealous 😉
    I did a new kettlebell workout yesterday and am super sore! Best feeling in the world 🙂 good luck on finals!!

  5. oatsandspice February 22, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Yummm PB and J oatmeal 🙂

  6. movesnmunchies February 22, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    DANG that would be a crazy incline.. good luck!!

  7. Jenny February 22, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Love those oats. I’m a firm follower in Kath style oats 😀

  8. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 22, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    You should put the mug next to something so we can see how big it really is! Bc like you said it looks like a TBS of oatmeal! hehe

    I love how you made dessert hummus with your pancakes! haha.

  9. Ellie February 22, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    That’s a cute mugggg ❤ My fave cardio is the type I can get while doing interval training. Mostly bodyweight and rapid nonstop moving.

  10. paoang February 23, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    Mmmm getting to sleep in! Sooo jealous!
    AND THAT MUG IS SO ADORABLE! I think I’m in love ♥
    My fave cardio is deff DANCINGGG !

  11. fashionfitnessfoodie February 23, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I love Tabata!
    You need to fill that coffee mug up! It’s super cute 🙂

  12. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 23, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    LOVE that mug!!!!!! And those pancakes look delicious as well!

    My favorite forms of cardio are walking, riding my horse, martial arts, and running! 🙂

  13. Christina February 27, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    i’m glad you liked them!! That is my favorite protein powder recipe too…The combination of those flours make them really rich tasting. I totally agree that bell peppers are the best for hummus! My favorite form of cardio is stairmaster 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seafood Kick | Sweet Cheeks - March 2, 2011

    […] DID IT. I was bound and determined to fill up Mr. Giant Mug. I knew my overnight oats method would do the trick! 1/2 cup oatbran, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup […]

Leave a Reply

