Vegan Barley Bean Skillet

24 Feb

This was a meal I threw together one day on a whim and it turned out great! The chewiness of the barley adds such a nice texture to the dish. It’s super easy to make, as all you really have to do is throw everything in a pot. That is my kind of meal!

006

002

Ingredients:

2 cans beans (I used pinto and kidney)

1 small onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 carrots, sliced

1 zucchini, sliced

1 tomato, sliced

1 jalapeno pepper, sliced

1 can vegetable broth (14.5 oz)

1 cup water

1 can tomato sauce ( 8 oz)

1 cup pearl barley

1 tbsp italian seasonings

fresh cracked black pepper

Directions:

cook onion and garlic in a small amount of oil in a large skillet. Add beans, broth, tomato sauce, and water. Bring to a boil, then add remaining ingredients and reduce heat. Put the skillet lid on and let simmer for about 50 minutes, until the barley is tender.

9 Responses to “Vegan Barley Bean Skillet”

  1. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 24, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I really wish Barley was GF!

    You really sparked a craving for beans in me! and veggies too!! πŸ™‚

  2. oatsandspice February 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    YUM – perfect for a cold Michigan day like today – I really want to try out this recipe!

  3. Jenny February 24, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    Looks like chili! Yummy πŸ™‚

  4. movesnmunchies February 24, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    i LOVE BEANS!! and have never tried barley!! LOVE this!

  5. katshealthcorner February 26, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    I absolutely LOVE beans!!! They are my favorite! Barley is so good! I LOVE THIS!

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  6. april February 27, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    OH yum! I love how easy this looks too!

  7. paoang February 28, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    I LOVE THIS!
    It looks so easy to make, and delicious too!

    Glad to hear from ya!!!

  8. lindsay February 28, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    I love those one pot wonders! and so good for leftovers too.

  9. Ellie February 28, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    I really really like anything that has beans, and therefore I’ll be making this soon!! It looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

