Seafood Kick

2 Mar

Hi guys!

I hope everyone is enjoying the week! It has been one of transition for me, as I started my final trimester of school…my last trimester of high school EVER. So. Pumped. Between my new classes, applying for scholarships, and work, my spare time has been sparse and cut into my blogging time. Not cool, homework, not cool. In fact, my to-do list is still a mile and a half long, but I couldn’t neglect the good ole blogaroo any longer. So today I’ve got some photo unloadage of what I’ve been loving…which apparently has been a lot of seafood. I didn’t really realize it until I looked through my pictures!

021

I DID IT. I was bound and determined to fill up Mr. Giant Mug. I knew my overnight oats method would do the trick! 1/2 cup oatbran, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 scoop protein powder. Cacao nibs for topping, obvi.

030

peanut flour & j oats

022

been gettin’ my socca on, along with everyone else in the blogosphere! FYI: try goat cheese with socca…it will make you extremely happy. I made the above socca with garam masala for an idian flavor and it was redic!

024

Next, I decided to try a version made with: garlic powder, oregano, basil, parsley, and nutritional yeast. Winner! It reminded me of cheezy cornbread.

018 

019

Tilapia mozzarella lasagna, based of a recipe I found in the new Clean Eating mag.

001

sweet tater with nut butter and nooch, bell pepper with the humus that I’m addicted to

027

Last night’s dinner of roasted asparagus, balsamic salmon, and socca.

006 

broccoli slaw pasta with shrimp and homemade gauc (1/2 avocado, salt, pepper, lemon juice, fresh garlic, olive oil)

007

NUTTTTTZO! These definitely won’t be lasting long! If you like texture in your nut butters, you’ve got to try this one. The chia seeds add a lovely texture and crunch in every bite.

008 

028

Banana nut cake…completely healthified, protein filled, and foodgasmic. Recipe to come tomorrow!

And that’s that! I’m going to try and work on a scholarship essay for a bit and then head to work. Hope you have a great day!

What’s the best thing you have eaten so far this week?

Kristi

17 Responses to “Seafood Kick”

  1. kat March 2, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I need to try socca!! It looks so good!!

  2. Kayla March 2, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    I love socca! It’s soo good, right? I bet goat cheese is amazing with it!

    The best thing I’ve eaten this week is either socca or chickpea cookie dough dip…YUM!

    The Nuttzo sounds delicious, I love texture in nut butters, my favorite peanut butter is crunchy!

  3. oatsandspice March 2, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    I am waiting for some Nuttzo in the mail – I am so excited to finally try the stuff 🙂

  4. movesnmunchies March 2, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    ahh socca rocks!! i need to make more version of it.. im thinking tomorrow! so lucky you got nuttzo!

  5. Jess March 2, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    ahhh, it all looks so gooooddd!!! 😀 The best thing I’ve eaten this week..probs Monday’s dinner–chicken w/ mushrooms, peas, and whole grain noodles!!

  6. katshealthcorner March 3, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    I absolutely ADORE your mug!!!! It is the cutest thing EVER! 😀

    Gosh your NutZo sounds good! I love how many different nuts/seeds are in it! 🙂

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  7. Erika March 3, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    Whoa all of your eats look so good, I’m not sure I can beat that! 😉
    The best thing I’ve ate this week would either be this lemon caper chicken my Mom made for dinner a few days ago or these Funfetti cookies my friend made. YUM! 😀

  8. Jenny March 3, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    O0o0 the best so far this week has been my froyo! I’m addicted to the stuff. And I love your oats, yummy 😀

  9. kbwood March 3, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    AHHH what is this socca thing i keep hearing about? I NEED TO CATCH UP!
    cant wait for the recipe girl!
    how do you make your broccoli slaw pasta ? YUM! 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks March 3, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      I just cooked up some broccoli slaw in a pan with cooking spray, bragg’s liquid aminos (or soy sauce) and some seasonings. It’s a good base to load up with toppings!

  10. Katie March 3, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    What socca recipe did you use? I have a bag of garbanzo bean flour that I need to use! And, I can’t wait for that banana bread recipe – I love protein breads!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 3, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      I made my socca with 1/2 cup flour, a little more than 1/2 cup water and then whatever seasonings-sweet or savory- I want to use. I bake it at 350 and it usually takes about 20 minutes or so.

  11. fashionfitnessfoodie March 3, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    socca socca socca! i’ve seen it everywhere – need to try asap!
    Where do you get nuttzo!? sounds amazing.

    • Sweet Cheeks March 3, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      I got it online at Open Sky but if you google it, there are a few different places you can get it. I have never seen it in stores though.

  12. Katie March 5, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    the socca with goat cheese is a great idea!!!!! I love goat cheese!!!!!!

    I also am loving that Peanutbutter, with chia seeds? love!!!

    I missed you love! I just moved to word press and have no idea how to add my fave blogs on a list , do you?! Love ya and happy weekend! xoxo

Leave a Reply

