Protein-filled Banana Nut Cake

3 Mar

This is a decadent, but healthy cake that is full of good flavor and has a thick doughy texture.

028

Ingredients:

  • 250 grams cottage cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 4 scoops protein powder (I like Muscle Gauge brand, it works really well in baking)
  • 60 grams oats
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup walnut pieces
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of vanilla extract
  • additional sweetener, if desired

Using an immersion (stick) blender, I blended together everything except the walnuts. Stir in your walnuts at the end before placing a greased baking dish and baking at 250 degrees for around 20-25 minutes.

I got 5 good-sized pieces out of this, each delicious one very roughly around 200 cals each and wonderfully protein packed.

19 Responses to “Protein-filled Banana Nut Cake”

  1. Kat March 3, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    YUM!! Looks and sounds amazing!

  2. Jenny March 3, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I usually make protein brownies with my powder but I love this idea 😀

  3. movesnmunchies March 3, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Heck to the yeah!! major NOM

  4. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 3, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    love this! I need to use the big container of cottage cheese I have for something!

  5. janetha March 3, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    right up my alley! thanks!

  6. Kayla March 3, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Ooh, this looks so tasty!!

  7. Jess March 4, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    Defff makin’ this sometime!!

  8. katshealthcorner March 4, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    YAY for low sugar! 😀

    I can’t believe how delicious this looks! Do you think I could use Tofu in place of the Cottage Cheese?

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  9. paoang March 5, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    Ohhh my this looks so great. AWESOME idea to use cottage cheese btw, I can’t wait to try this out for myself!!! XD

  10. sophia March 5, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Don’t you love immersion blenders? I bought mine last year and wonder why I waited till now. My friend always stocks up on protein powders and cottage cheese…I’m gonna have to send this recipe to her!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 5, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      Yes i love it!! It makes things so easy, especially when I don’t want to whip out my huge regular blender AND clean it! 😉

  11. fashionfitnessfoodie March 5, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Yum Yum! I love doughy breads…It makes me feel like I’m eating cake!

  12. julie March 5, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    i bet the walnuts take the flavor of this bread out of the WORLD! definitely bookmarking this baby! thanks girlfraaaand

  13. Katie March 10, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Made this…but it turned out really glossy looking and not as cake-like as yours looks. I used a different protein though. My muscle gauge should be here tomorrow though! 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks March 10, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      Ah man! it could very possibly be because of your protein powder. Hopefully you’ll like it with the muscle gauge. That’s my favorite one to use for baking!

  14. Liza July 10, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Looks awesome! Do you think I could omit the protein powder completely? Or maybe add like, a tablespoon or two of cocoa powder? 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks July 10, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Hmmm, you could definitely try it. The texture would probably come out pretty doughy, but that could be a good thing! However I might recommend replacing at least some of the protein powder with some other sort of dry ingredient…cocoa powder, or a whole grain flour for example. let me know if you try it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweetly Fit - August 8, 2012

    […] 2% greek yogurt mixed with cinnamon and a banana nut cake bar […]

Leave a Reply

