Gettin’ big with the meatheads

6 Mar

Hey!!

How is everyone’s weekend going? Mine has been GREAT! This school and work week pretty much kicked my butt so I am enjoying every single second of this sweet weekend. Yesterday, I got a massage!! It was one I bought off of Groupon for 1/2 off. How could I pass up a deal on HALF off?!? It was oh so lovely and I felt completely refreshed walking out. Getting a massage has got to be my favorite form of stress relief, hands down. Besides exercise, of course!! Next up, mom and I did a little shopping and then came home to chilllll out. It was a lovely day. 🙂

This morning I grabbed some hummus spelt toast before heading to the gym for my workout sesh:

009 (6)

Still loving this spelt bread. It is too good, especially when smothered in hummus. 🙂

At the gym, I had planned on going for a bit of cardio since I did weights at home yesterday. I do the majority of my strength training at home because, I’ll admit it: I’m intimidated by all the meatheads in the weights room at my gym. Mainly I will just go to the cardio room once, maybe twice a week and do the rest of my workouts at home. But as I walked past the weights area today, there was barely anyone in there. Still, I kept walking towards the cardio room where I hopped onto the stair mill and warmed up for about 10 minutes. I contemplated and finally decided, screw it, I’m getting my weight lifting on!

WOW!!! So much variety, so many new things that I’ve never done before…way more than I could ever do at my house. I loved it!! I just kept hopping from one thing to another and yet still, once I decided to call it quits, there was so much I hadn’t even gotten to. I think I’m finally over my fear of the weights room and seriously can’t wait to go back again! one thing I need to remember though is that everyone was there for THEMSELVES. Each person was doing there own thing and not worrying about anyone else. So why the heck was I worrying?!? I really had no reason to. Great lesson learned today. 🙂

012 (7)

I came home and refueled with a SIAB topped with uncooked oats.

  • 1 cup Silk unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana

Simple and delicious, just the way I like it!

Today’s to do list:

  1. workout at gym
  2. work on scholarship apps
  3. make homemade protein bars (new recipe comin’ at ya next week!)
  4. make Julie’s turkey muffins
  5. catch up on Jersey Shore
  6. reeeeelax!!!

Were you ever afraid of the gym? How did you overcome it?

 

"Let My Presence within inspire you. Embrace the joy and wonder this day holds."

Kristi

19 Responses to “Gettin’ big with the meatheads”

  1. Lisa @ I'm an Okie March 6, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    So glad you decided to get over those fears and work it out in the weight room. It’s my favorite part of working out!

  2. movesnmunchies March 6, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    YES i get intimated by all the rugby players at my gym! esp cuz i know them alll.. so its awk!! BUT YAY on getting over it- you know what your doing so you look all profesh!

  3. Katie March 6, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    I SO know how you feel, I used to be the same way, lol! Everyone does their own thing though, and there is no reason to be intimidated! Glad you did the weights girl! Meat Heads are not scary, lol! Love u!

  4. Katie March 6, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    I am glad that you aren’t so intimidated anymore. There is SO much possibility in the weight room. Sometimes I am not too comfortable when there are lots of guys in there, but I just ignore them and go on with my workout. As long as they don’t say anything to me that’s perverted and such, I am fine. Luckily, I haven’t had to deal with any comments.

  5. quirkyrunner March 6, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh yes….I remember the days when I was intimidated in the gym. The weight room was the main cause of my anxiety – all the bulky, veins-popping-out men made me feel kinda scared!

  6. Jenny March 6, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    I love the weights! At first it can be intimidating since you don’t know what your doing but luckily for me my bf designed a workout routine and went with me to the gym for the first week until I got everything down. Now I love training hard and everyone staring 😀

  7. Jess March 6, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    LOVE THIS. Weights are awesome 😀

    Get big girlllll!!

  8. Jenny March 7, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    get it girl!!! I used to be SO intimidated by the gym but I’ve learned that no one cares! Everyone is just doing their own thing. Plus, the meatheads are way too in to checking themselves out than paying attention to anyone else 😉

  9. kbwood March 7, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    LOVE YOU times a million!!!!

  10. bigcitybabycarrots March 7, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I always get a little intimated in the weight room myself with my 10lb weights. Whatevs, us girls need our workouts, too! 🙂

  11. katshealthcorner March 7, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    YEAH for overcoming your fears. Courage isn’t the absence of fear. It is conquering it and moving forward. 🙂 Yah, the weight room can look pretty intimidating with all of those guys in there, but whatever. 🙂

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    • Sweet Cheeks March 8, 2011 at 3:43 am #

      “courage isn’t the absence of fear, it is conquering it”

      LOVE IT. 😀

  12. paoang March 8, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    Great job on kickin’ ass at the weight lifting room!!! GIRL POWER!!!

    That smoothie looks delicious btw…YUM.

  13. Christina March 8, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    I’m a meathead now!!! Come join me!!! 😀

  14. A Casual Obsession March 8, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, but this is my first comment =) I’ve never really been intimidated, but when I was out of shape I was majorly self conscious. I was huffing and puffing on the treadmill like crazy. That’s the point of being there though, to challenge yourself. The meatheads at my gym grunt like no other when lifting weights. It is HILARIOUS!

  15. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 8, 2011 at 4:04 am #

    Your smoothie looks just like the one I had after my workout today! Love strawberry and banana smoothies!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stay-cation + best peanut flour deal | Sweet Cheeks - March 21, 2011

    […] and weights. First up was 20 minutes on the arc trainer, level 5. <legs were burned. Then we got big with meatheads. I am so glad I got over my fear of the weight room. Every since, I had been having so much FUN […]

Leave a Reply

