My favorite protein bar recipe

8 Mar

These delicious bars require no baking and taste way better than anything you could buy in the store. I always take some when traveling because they are room temperature stable for at least a few days. I even eat them when I just relaxing at home, too. They make a great snack or dessert in any situation.

010

009

 

Ingredients:

5 tbsp natural peanut butter

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup oatbran

6 scoops of protein powder

1 cup nonfat dry milk

splash of vanilla extract

1/2 cup water (or more)

cocoa powder, if you want a chocolate version!

Directions:

Melt peanut butter in the microwave. Combine all dry ingredients and then mix in the peanut butter. The mixture will be crumbly. Next you can add the vanilla and water, working to get everything incorporated. Add more water as you go, if needed. You don’t want to get it too wet though, just add a teeny bit until the dry ingredients are mixed in completely. Press down into a greased baking dish and stick in the freezer for a few minutes to allow the mixture to harden. (this helps to form and cut the bars more easily). Cut into 9 servings, wrap them up, and take with you wherever, whenever.

9 Responses to “My favorite protein bar recipe”

  1. movesnmunchies March 8, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    wow yum!!! love all the pb in those πŸ˜€

  2. Jenny March 8, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Those bars look delicious! Did you calculate the calories per serving? I’ve been looking for a quick and simple bar recipe and I really like this one

  3. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 8, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    I love how easy this is! πŸ™‚ awesome post

  4. katshealthcorner March 9, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    I absolutely love this recipe!!! Is there anything I could use in place of the milk powder?

    I totally want to make these! πŸ˜€

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    • Sweet Cheeks March 10, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      I suppose you could use a variety of things…wheat bran, flaxmeal, oat flour, coconut flour, any other flour really!

  5. Christina March 9, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I love homemade protein bars!!

  6. janetha @ meals and moves March 10, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    WOW i used to make this recipe back before the blogging days. I always had dry milk on hand just for this recipe. Thanks for bringing it back to my attention!

  7. Alexandra March 27, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    I’ve made some similar to these in the past and just love them. Isn’t it great to not wonder what the heck is going into some of the protein bars out there? YUMMY! Lovin the blog btw πŸ™‚

    • Sweet Cheeks March 28, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

      YES! That is exactly why I make my own. Thanks for the compliment, too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

