favorite-fun-get better soon-drink

11 Mar

Good morning!

I’ve got school knocked out of the way with for the day (and week!) and I already called into work because I’ve been feeling no bueno since yesterday. Lately it seems like everyone and their dog has been sick. I know I probably pick up a ton of germs from school and work at the bank. (hello, stripper dollars.) I may end up giving my doctor a call, but for now, I’m enjoying my favorite-fun-get better soon-drink:

002

Kombuuuucha.

Hopefully those probiotics will help.

When some people are under the weather, they don’t feel like eating. Well, I’m the type of person who wants to eat her food no matter what the circumstances! Don’t you dare take away my food. Bad things will happen.

At any rate, I am so glad it’s weekend time. I’m ready to enjoy a lot of relaxation and do nothing relating to school or work…well, minus my morning 8-12 shift tomorrow. but THEN I will do nothing related to school or work. And it shall be oh so amazing. 🙂

Since my brain is a bit foggy today, I don’t have a very witty post but I still wanted to pop in and wish you all a fabulous weekend! And unload some of the good stuff

egg-white omelet with spinach and cottage cheese inside. Spelt toasties, one with jam and one with hummus:

001

P.S. have you tried Oasis hummus? It is my new favorite store-bought hummus. So smooth, creamy, and flavorful…yet on 35 cals per serving. Say whhhhat?! Which of course makes it perfectly reasonable to eat the whole container for one serving. 🙂

I made Julie’s turkey muffins:

004

006

how CUTE are these?!

007

Thanks Julie, I love them. Such an easy recipe, too:

  • 1.25lb extra lean ground turkey
  • 1/3c quick cooking oats
  • 1/3c egg beaters
  • 1-1.5c frozen spinach (defrosted)
  • 3/4c pace picante sauce (or salsa of your choice)
  • 1T balsamic vinegar (kirkland brand)
  • 1T spicy ground dijon mustard
  • a giant dose of trader joe’s 21 salute seasoning
  • & a sprinkle of love

preheat your oven to 425

combine all of the above ingredients, making sure everything is evenly distributed among the ground turkey breast

spray a 12 cup muffin tin really good with nonstick cooking spray and evenly distribute turkey mixture into tins. I baked them for about 30-ish minutes.

Also made some pumpkin muffins I found from April’s blog.

014

80 grams oat flour (just blend oatmeal in the blender)

40 grams vanilla protein powder

Pinch of pure stevia and cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

350 grams pure, canned pumpkin

1 cup liquid egg whites

2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

Directions:

§ Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a muffin tin with nonstick baking spray.

§ Pour batter into muffin tins, bake for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

You were right April, those turned out amazing! I can’t stop popping them in my mouth!

Healthified cashew chicken:

011

012

I’ll have to post the recipe for this one another day. I don’t have it saved on my computer but it was pretty tasty.

delicious trio alert:

001

extra lean ground turkey + sweet potato + avocado = perfectly balanced deliciousness. I like to mashed it all together post-picture.

snack plate:

003

spelt toast with almond butter, carrots and bell pepper with dessert hummus, diced baked chicken with a cheese wedge.

Cottage cheese + diced apple + cinnamon + almond butter + almond milk:

013

fabulous!

001 (4)

I’m loving my snack plates lately, obvi.

Parfait action:

003 (2)

greek yogurt mixed with vanilla protein powder and topped with a Vita-top.

BALLZ:

003 (8)

Larabar-style. I finally put my food processor to good use and it did a pretty great job grinding up the almonds for these. Since it was my first attempt at making them, I went with a basic combo of almonds, prunes, and a small grind of sea salt. Simple and perfect! I went with prunes because I don’t have any dates and they were still plenty sweet for me. Less sugar this way, too. 😉

Workout-wise, I tried the week 1 workout HERE a few days ago. It was my first time doing high volume strength training. My triceps currently hate me. In a good, i love you, way though. 🙂

I’m going to lay down for a nap and try to beat this sickness. Have a good one!

What is your favorite feel-better-soon remedy?

~kristi

27 Responses to “favorite-fun-get better soon-drink”

  1. kat March 11, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Sorry you aren’t feeling well darling!! I’m still getting over my illness. It is no fun!! Get lots of rest 🙂
    All the food looks incredible though, as always!!

  2. Matt March 11, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    I drink a Kombucha everyday and haven’t been sick in three years. Go figure 😉

    • Sweet Cheeks March 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      I totally WISH i could drink one every day but alas, my bank account would not be a happy camper. :/

    • lindsay March 12, 2011 at 1:05 am #

      ditto! And I make my own. Its the best immunity builder ever! YEA KOMBUCHA!

      • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

        I have been scared to try and make my own. can I just pay you instead, Lindsay? LOL.

  3. Jenny March 11, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Hope you feel better Kristi! Love the savory and sweet muffins, they look so delicious. I love mixing greek yogurt with a vitatop! 🙂

  4. kbwood March 11, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    UMM wow can i please like eat this screen?? I LOVEEE that kombucha flava tooo!! soooo delish!!! those turkey muffins look so good, i must try! I hope you have a great weekend suga pie! love you!

  5. Coffee&Claptrap March 11, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    That cashew chicken looks gorge!

    Have a brill weekend and hope you feel better soon flower 🙂 xx

  6. Katie March 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Wow that cashew chicken dish looks amazing!!!!!

    U are cooking up yummy protein recipes and I love it! I hope you feel better love!! xoxo ❤ happy weekend!

  7. Kayla March 11, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I’ve never had Kombucha. I hope you start feeling better! Everything looks delicious!

  8. Sable@SquatLikeALady March 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Hiii I just found you and am trying your protein bar recipe (from like 3 days ago) tomorrow! SO excited!

    I hope you feel better soon! I am under the weather right now as well. I usually take 1000mg of Vit C 3x/day and typically get better about 2x as quickly as my husband 😉 Just sayin!

  9. movesnmunchies March 11, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    LOVE YOUR FOOD! i ve never had kombucha- mainly becuz ive never seen it sold over here!! my perfect cold remedy is echinacea! its a herbal supplement that does WONDERs!

  10. julie March 12, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    girl you were the muffin queen lately! i love that you put them in muffin/cupcake wrappers! that’s a great idea especially because last timef or me atleast a lot of the turky got stuck to the tin! not good haha but i’m glad you love them! i’m definitely checking out this oasis hummus 🙂 thanks for the tipskies!

  11. Jess March 12, 2011 at 3:39 am #

    PLEASE COME COOK FOR ME. or send me some of your eats 😀

  12. katshealthcorner March 12, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Just wondering, did you eat your two peices of bread (one with jam and the other with hummus) together like a sandwich, or separate?

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

      I ate them separately, open faced. But now that I think of it, smashing them together might actually be GOOD. thanks for the idea!!

  13. Ellie March 12, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    oh dang. these look delicious 🙂 Not sure about the remedy~I guess just, lots of love ❤

  14. The Teenage Taste March 12, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Lovin’ the eats girlie! Everything looks delicious. I want to make those turkey muffins so badly! 😀

    • Sweet Cheeks March 12, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      you will not regret it! they are so darn cute!

  15. runyogarepeat March 13, 2011 at 5:09 am #

    I’ve never tried Kombucha! My favorite feel-better trick is lots & lots of tea. Your omelet looks fabulous – I always fail at making my own omelets.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To read or not to read | Sweet Cheeks - March 13, 2011

    […] Sweet Cheeks Just another WordPress.com weblog Skip to content HomeAboutBlog RollContactRecipes ← favorite-fun-get better soon-drink […]

  2. Stay-cation + best peanut flour deal | Sweet Cheeks - March 21, 2011

    […] the days to this glorious week. Also good news: I’m finally feeling back to my normal self after being sick. Perfect timing! This week the plan is to have NO plan. It is going to be a nice little […]

  3. Ice Cream for Breakfast | Sweet Cheeks - May 12, 2011

    […] made this muffin recipe, adding unsweetened cocoa powder and a pumpkin/applesauce mix instead of all pumpkin. Then I […]

Leave a Reply

